We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really enjoyed our stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Zorbas Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Zorbas Apartments
Edenbridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Really enjoyed our stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2011

We were very pleased with the standard of the Zorbas Apartments, we also previously booked other apartments but decided to change after reading the reviews. The rooms were very clean and the staff were really friendly and although the pool was small the kids enjoyed it as they had it to themselves most the time. Really liked the resort would definatley go back again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Nicola L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    17
    4
    1
    3
See reviews for
16
36
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

We stayed at Zorba's for 10-17 July 2011and were pleasantly surprised by the quiet location (even though it is in the town) and the comfort provided by the room.

We had booked a one bed apartment - as a opposed to a studio - but on the first night, we ended up in a studio at the front of the building overlooking the children's play arena. The room (No 11) was a good size, clean and the bathroom fairly well finished. The next day we explained that we had booked a one bed apartment and the owner (Yanis) apologised for the error (by the agent not him) and immediately moved us to a room (No38) in the newly refurbished area.

This room had a very much better quality finish and even had a PC for internet access at 1Euro for 30 minutes. We had a look at some of the other rooms when they had been vacated and they were all finished to a good standard and were not all the same layout.

The rooms were cleaned every day, the beds made and the towels changed 3 times during our one week stay. The owner and his staff couldn't have been more helpful and were very friendly and welcoming.

We hired a car from Chania airport ( I can recommend Sunny Car Hire booked on line through Economy car rentals.com ) and had no problem finding the apartments after what was a 45 minute drive on good roads. There is plenty of on-street parking adjacent to Zorba's.

Would we go back? Well, the town itself is not hugely exciting and if you are looking for gourmet food, you will not find it. However, the place is friendly and close to some beautiful beaches; so, if you want to chill, this is a good place to be and we would not hesitate to return to Zorba's.

Room Tip: Ask for a room/studio which is not at the front of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WinchesterTornado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2011

We have just returned from a two week holiday at Zorba's apartments in Georgioupolois, Crete and would thoroughly recommend both the accomodation and the resort.  This is a little corner of Greece that has stayed comparately unchanged.  There have obviously been new hotels, shops etc., built in the village but it still manages to maintain a typical Greek feel about it. We loved to sit in the village square in the evenings and watch the village life go by, then we would wander down a little road and have a drink at Yanni's (highly recommended for a wonderful atmosphere and hospitality). Our apartment in Zorba's was a very good size and even though we were half board we had a large fridge/freezer, two plate electric cooker and kettle to make a cup of tea. It was extremely comfortable and clean and the bathroom also was a good size. Elaini and Yanni the owners are very kind and will do anything possible to make your stay enjoyable. The breakfast was lovely, lots of Greek yoghurt and honey, warm bread and home made jams. It is only a two minute walk to the golden beach and the same time to the village square and all that was going on. Plenty of taverners from which to chose and if you have a sweet tooth the "Sweet House" in the square had the best selection of cakes, pastries, coffees etc., that I have ever seen and the size of the cakes was just jaw dropping. While you are there you must take the little train up to the lakes, only 5 euros and well worth the visit. Stunning views of the lake and mountains and the journey in the train is excellent, like being on Thomas the Tank!! Roll on next year to return to Zorbas and Georgipoulis.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank SonyaWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2011

We stayed here for a week at the beginning of June, this is a lovely accommodation, it's not too big but it is pretty quiet; we had maid service every day except Sundays, the owners were always on hand (not that we had any problems), there is a restaurant on site serving great Cretan food (as well as other stuff - something for everyone) and it has it's own pool - not a huge one but whilst we were there it was hardly used; not surprising as the beach was only a couple of minutes walk and hat was really clean and the sea very clear. The resort itself is quite modern but there are no noisy nightclubs and consequently no rowdy teenagers. Everyone we met was really friendly and English is widely spoken so no problems with language! We hired bikes one day - only €3 each - a bargain! and cycled to nearby Lake Kournas, which is very pretty. All in all a good holiday and we wouldn't hesitate to go back, or to stay in Zorbas again. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: They're all good rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BabeNo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2011

We stayed at the zorbas after booking last minute and were pleasantly surprised by the large apartment and balcony. As a family of four there was ample room and although basic it more than made up for it with it's central location close to the beach, town square and tavernas.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank emmac38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2010

We made a last minute decision to go to Crete for a week when we found out that two of us could get flights and accommodation for around £200 each. I'd been before and decided that Georgioupoli would be the ideal location: close to the beach; well situated for visiting Chania and Rethymno; and not overrun with tourists. Originally we had chosen some different apartments but I had doubts after reading some of the reviews; instead, we opted for Zorbas Apartments and we're really pleased that we made the switch, even though it cost a little more.

Our studio apartment was on the 2nd floor and overlooked the small road at the front of the building where we were also able to park our hire car. The apartment had very comfortable twin beds, a small kitchen area with a fridge and cooking facilities, and a bathroom with a bath/shower. It was very clean and just what we needed for the week. The room was equipped with a small television and air conditioning (which was free, even though the leaflet in the room stated 6€ per night), and a small safe for which we were charged 2€ per night. There was a small balcony overlooking the road but we could also see the sea, which was about 200m away. There was a patio table and two chairs on the balcony, along with a clothes dryer, which was very useful for drying swimwear and towels. The room had a hairdryer, which we didn't use because we'd taken our own; there was also a communal pool for the apartments but we didn't use that either because we preferred to spend time on the beach.

We opted for self-catering because we didn't want to be tied as to when or what to eat: there are many restaurants and tavernas in Georgioupoli, which were all very reasonably priced, and we chose somewhere different every night. Zorbas has its own taverna and we had a very enjoyable meal there one evening.

We were very impressed with the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. We found that there was a small leak in the shower hose, which we reported, and it was replaced the following day. Our room was cleaned every day except Sunday, with clean towels several times during the week. The cleaner even put away the plates and cutlery that we'd left to dry.

Georgioupoli is a lovely little village with plenty of restaurants and bars as well as some small supermarkets and gift shops. The beach was only 5 minutes walk from the apartment although we opted to walk a little further east, away from the sunbeds and parasols. The beach is clean and sandy, and the water is clear, very blue, warm and perfect for swimming. It felt very safe too because it's deep enough to swim in but shallow enough to touch the floor some distance from the beach.

We would definitely return to Georgioupoli and Zorbas Apartments, especially at £189 for two of us for the week, although we've been attracted by the more secluded coves, warm waters and rustic landscape of the southern coast.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank TheTravellingThinker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2010

Zorbas has to be one of the best. We stayed in June 10 for one week. We booked a one bed apartment which was very spacious and clean. There was a full bathroom with bath and powerful shower. We were on the front ground floor and had a good size balcony / terrace over looking the street, good for watching the world go by. The owners are all one family, Mum Dad and Sons. They are lovely people and nothing was to much trouble. Every morning Mum would lean over the end wall of your terrace and give us a nice cup of coffee on the house. Zorbas is also a Tavern with a small bar. The food is very tasty mainly traditional Cretan dishes. On our first night, as we waited for your meal to come, the local priest sat at a table behind us with the owners and some guests who have been returning year after year. They all seamed to be fiddling with something in a bucket and a knife and spoon. Being very curious my husband and I asked what they were doing. Sea urchin was the reply and then promptly given one cut in half to try. (It must be eaten alive or it is poisonous). You pour a little olive oil and a squeeze of lemon juice on to the orange roe in side and then scoop out with a piece of bread. It was very good and with a distinct taste of the sea and meant to be an aphrodisiac. As we obviously approved we were then presented with another one. We felt very honoured as the sea urchin is considered by the Greeks to be a great delicacy, better then caviar and very expensive.
Zorbas doesn’t have sea and mountain views but being only 3 minutes walk to the beach and a 100 meters to the main square, is in an excellent position. Georgiouplois is a lovely little village with a nice main square. It also had the Almiros River running through to the sea and a little harbour area. Therefore sea food is always good and very fresh. The beach goes on for miles and it is easy to find a less populated spot to spend the day. Beware though of strong under currents on a windy day. There are life guard stands scattered along the beach which is reassuring.
We hired a Jeep as there is a lot to see and do in the area. We have been visiting Greece for many years and been to many of the islands. We love Crete but our stay at Zorbas made our holiday. Would we stay there again? You bet, in fact we could happily move in. We will be back

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LeicestershireDebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Georgioupolis hotels
0.1 mi away
Georgioupolis Beach Hotel
Georgioupolis Beach Hotel
#6 of 47 in Georgioupolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
0.2 mi away
Leonidas Studios & Appartments
Leonidas Studios & Appartments
#26 of 47 in Georgioupolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Romantica
Hotel Romantica
#24 of 47 in Georgioupolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Anna's House
Anna's House
#20 of 47 in Georgioupolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kastellos Village
Kastellos Village
#3 of 18 in Georgioupolis
5.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pilot Beach Resort
Pilot Beach Resort
#1 of 47 in Georgioupolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zorbas Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zorbas Apartments

Property: Zorbas Apartments
Address: Georgioupolis, Apokoronas, Crete 73007, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Apokoronas > Georgioupolis
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Georgioupolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Zorbas Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Zorbas Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zorbas Apartments Hotel Georgioupolis
Zorbas Apartments Crete/Georgioupolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing