We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Athena Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Vantaris Palace(Georgioupolis)(Great Value!)
$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Georgioupolis Beach Hotel(Georgioupolis)(Great Value!)
$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Orpheas Resort(Georgioupolis)(Great Value!)
$196
$168
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$144
$130
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$131
$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anna's House(Georgioupolis)(Great Value!)
$165
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pilot Beach Resort(Georgioupolis)
$268
$198
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Romantica(Georgioupolis)(Great Value!)
$57
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Leonidas Studios & Appartments(Georgioupolis)(Great Value!)
$79
$65
Bookgreece.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Papadakis Apartments(Georgioupolis)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (36)
Filter reviews
36 results
Traveler rating
23
9
3
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
23
9
3
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslovely bakerybaby poollarge balconygreat poolcoffee machinespacious roomenjoyed our staythe main squarethe air conditioningtoastersupermarketaccommodationtavernastaxieuroholidaybeach
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 36 reviews
Reviewed June 18, 2014

We have stayed in Georgioupolis before and spotted this accommodation. We were not disappointed. The is a cut above the usual Greek accommodation - the furniture is all matching and there is an electric kettle. The family run property is spotless, nothing is too much trouble. It is located close to restaurants and bars and the nearby ice cream shop with 25 flavours all at 1 Euro per scoop is to be recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KEM29_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Booked through hotel bookings exc service could amend booking up to 10 days prior to travel and pay on arrival. V large one bed apartment large double bed with new mattress two wardrobes safe and air conditioning tv kettle coffee maker full size fridge with freezer compartment. Lounge with two settees and table chairs. V large balcony . Pool and baby pool in garden with sun beds
Breakfast and bar for drinks available. V friendly and helpful owners maid service 6 days a week linen changed frequently Easy walk to village and a bar and restaurant over road beach five minute walk. Village has large range of bars and restaurants with good value meals. Beach was v clean and could walk for miles. V friendly place to stay and would def recommend and return

Room Tip: Back rooms face pool and garden
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank angharadsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

We spent a couple of days at the Athena Hotel at the end of October. Even at this time, at the end of the season and immediately before the winter in the rest of Europe, you not only get a good rest on the island of Crete but have the perfect opportunity to continue you summer experience with some more sunbathing and swimming in the sea. Yes, even swimming in the sea is possible, the water was not cold. The Athena hotel is some 300 meters from the beach but it offers its own facilities for sunbathing - a pool, etc. The place is pleasant, clean and in good order, breakfast is good, the proprietors have a very friendly attitude, ready to help and give instructions for traveling around. Georgioupoli is a small but interesting town, Rethymno and Chania with their historical sights and narrow Cretan-style streets are nearby, at a half-an-hour ride, and more than worth visiting. Kissamos, an hour away, is also a historical place and a starting point for a cruise to the magical Balos lagoon and the Gramvoussa island. Balos lagoon can also be reached by car on a dirt road - 7km long but takes an hour: prepare for a very bumpy ride! The famous Elafonissi beach is another hour and a half from Kissamos on a very narrow and relentlessly winding road. But the great mountainous scenery and the Elafonissi beach with its pinkish sand make the trip worth the effort and totally rewarding. The place reviewed here can also serve as a very good starting point for traveling to the south of Crete - something we could not do. You can also hike in the mountains and enjoy the numerous natural sights in the vicinity. So both hotel and its location highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Krasimir K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We arrived at midnight and as we got out of the taxi we received the warmest of greetings and shown to our accommodation and asked if we were happy (there were 3 families in our group). Between us we had various sized accommodation all of which were spacious, clean and well presented.
The hotel, which is run by a extremely friendly family, is only a few minutes walk away from the main square and about 5 minutes to the beach. It has a smaller pool for the children.
The resort, when we went last week in September, had a wonderful lazy atmosphere but also plenty of tavernas to select from.
Bus stop on the main road, about 5 minutes walk, which takes you into Chania (8 euros return) which is worth a visit.
We flew into Chania and got a private transfer which took approximately 40 minutes.
I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask Vasilis, the owner, if you have a specific requirement.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diamond2904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

The Athena is a small family owned and run hotel about 300metres from the long sandy beach in this small resort. The owners are very friendly and informative and the rooms are clean and very pleasant, and of course, air conditioned, if required. There is a small bar in the reception area which leads to a swimming pool and a separate paddling pool for children. The hotel itself is within a short and flat walking distance from a variety of Bars, Tavernas and Shops. We very much enjoyed our stay and intend to return in 2014. This hotel is now a favourite of ours!

Room Tip: Our favourite is room 103, because it is very large and is on the ground floor with it's own patio.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ramblingman007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews