We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First visit”
Review of Eleana Studios

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Eleana Studios
Ranked #12 of 48 Hotels in Georgioupolis
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“First visit”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Our sixth trip to Crete but first to Georgioupolis. We cannot but agree with all the other reviewers who have commented on the marvellous welcome you get from the whole family. We were met at the airport well after midnight by Costas (he'll be wearing a green T shirt by the way!!) along with Mama in the front seat of the car. In spite of our late arrival Antreas and Dad were there to show us our studio (in fact the café was still buzzing). The studios are large, light and airy and spotlessly clean. OK, so there is no kettle, but it takes only a few minutes to boil water in the little saucepan for a cuppa. Since the family work hard in their café down below, they obviously would prefer you to eat and drink there - they do an excellent breakfast for their "guests" at a reduced rate. However, we found the equipment adequate to get ourselves breakfast in the apartment if we chose to do so. There are masses of eateries to choose from in the village - we ate somewhere different every day and paid between 16-44 euros for two of us with wine in the evening and never had a bad meal. The studios are very well placed for both beach and village centre. If you are troubled by the fact that everything in Greece stays open until the early hours (who ever suggested that Greeks are lazy must have been to a different Greece from the one we have been to many many times!) and want a quiet night, you may find the location and layout a little noisy. Probably the two studios at the back are a bit quieter, not fronting the main road; however, given that you are quite likely to be asked to join the family and any other guests who happen to be there for a "night cap" - which may well go on until 1.30 am - then you probably won't be bothered that the deli café is open late. We were driven back to the airport by Antreas - reluctantly returning home after 7 nights at Eleana. Although we normally stay somewhere different each holiday we would definitely like to re-visit Eleana and the family and would have no hesitation in recommending them for a reasonably priced, comfortable, clean stay where you are truly made to feel like one of the family. If you want to spend a lot of your holiday inside cooking then you may want to choose somewhere which has a better equipped kitchen, if on the other hand you want to relax and eat out most of the time and be in the centre of everything, then this is for you.

Room Tip: Roms at the back may be quieter, but looked a little smaller than the front ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KernowMazey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kostas P, Manager at Eleana Studios, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for your review and your nice words.
We really do appreciate constructive feedback and thats what we've been doing all this years
we run our family busyness. Kettle sounds a great idea and we will manage to equip all of our studios with one because it does sounds necessary.We provide our guests with a coffee pot but it takes more time for the water to get hot than a kettle.Our kitchen has the basic staff but you can always come downstairs in our bar and ask for anything that you are missing.
As about the sound,we are aware that sometimes it can be noisy and that the reason we planning into changing all the main and balcony doors into soundproof (we couldn't afford it this year).Thank you for staying with us and me and my family are looking forward seeing you next year as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    7
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
51
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wetzlar, Germany
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

well where shall i begin,just came home after 11 nights in the welcoming arms of The Papadakis Family and me and my mate felt like a part of it.I just felt like being at home and enjoyed every Minute of my time there.They are so helpful and warm hearted People and you know ist real and not put on.I cannot recommend this place highly enough,when you want a carefree Holiday in a beautiful small fishing village and stay at the best place with amazing crepes and i mean amazing then this is the place for you.Ask Antreas to invent a crepe for you,your wish is his command,oh yeah and to drink ask for my double R very tasty i must say,Antreas is backed up by his brother Costas and and his sister Eleni a brilliant Team and mum and dad are always on Hand to help,i will always return to stay and visit here,thx for everything.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dickee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kostas P, Manager at Eleana Studios, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
We (Me and my brothers) spent so much time trying to figure out how formal this first respond in tripadvisor should be and we came up with the result that we are not a big hotel or a major company.So we will try to keep it as plan as we can.Thank you so much for your review and your nice words about our Studios and our Family especially.It's been a pleasure to have you and your friend staying with us and we will do whatever is possible to keep you happy the following times you will be visiting us.Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
106 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed for 9 enjoyable nights at these studios, having been at another cheaper apartment in a different seaside village. The other room we gave four stars to, and as this was not as good I have comparatively marked Eleana studios. So why was it not so good? Small things spring to mind.

No kettle or washing up liquid. Great to have a double bed, but no double bed sheets. Light from the communal hall came through the little glass lights in the door, and the coridoor transfered a fair bit of noise from downstairs seating / other people walking / talking as they came upstairs to the room.

I also felt the curtain could have been darker to avoid the street lighting / advertising, and whilst I appreciate that the rooms are in a main street with the cafe below, the security shutters winding up at 0800 meant a regular wake up..

The room was kept clean, and the revamped room was very smart.

These niggles aside, the balcony and location to both the beach and town are ideal. The family seem to be very nice, and I can see why they attract repeat business. They are happy to let you be if that's what you want - so don't worry if you are antisocial.

Overall a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: the two back rooms have a very poor view / balcony area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skr80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We first visited the Eleana Studios in June 2012. We never normally go back to a place within a few years of a visit but we enjoyed our stay here so much that we had booked within a week of our return. The Eleana Studios are refurbished to a good standard. Their position within Georgioupoli is very central. The square is 50m away as is the beach.

Eleni picked us up from the airport and her Dad took us back. This was for the cost of the fuel. A taxi would have been considerably more.

Whilst there Antreas is attentive without being intrusive. The Deli-Bar below the studios has a wide choice on the menu and a variety of beers and cocktails. The crepes are excellent!

Georgioupoli is a great place to stay. It is a relaxing place with a traditional feel. I know it won't be too long before we return to Georgioupoli and to the Eleana Studios.

Room Tip: The 3 rooms at the front of the studios have larger balconies than the 2 at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DayKP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wetzlar, Germany
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

we have not stayed here yet but have sat in the delibar alot of times over the last 2 years in Crete.We stayed at a hotel 4 kilometers away from here but it was more than worth the 45min walk to be welcomed by a family that are soooo cool and friendly and the great thing about it is you know its honest and not just a show for the tourists,Antreas thinks i'm a nutter,lol and he's right,,a person i wont forget and will see again,Costas and eleni make the perfect team,I'm sending my daughter and her girlfriend to stay here so that means i know they are in good hands,if you dont believe all the rave reviews on here go and see for yourself its a one off believe me.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dickee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Found this place on Tripadvisor and wasn't sure what to expect... but it blew me out of the water! Antreas and his family are amazingly friendly and welcoming. The rooms were big, clean, and newly renovated. The cafe that the family runs was a perfect place to unwind after the beach (which is just a couple blocks away).

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

My husband and I stayed here and it was wonderful. The owner is friendly and we shared a few drinks with him as well as great conversation. The room was large and the cafe downstairs had great food and drinks, any place with crepes and ice cream is good in my book. Just a few steps from the beach, you will have a great time here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Georgioupolis hotels
0.0 mi away
Georgioupolis Beach Hotel
Georgioupolis Beach Hotel
#6 of 48 in Georgioupolis
258 reviews
0.0 mi away
Anna's House
Anna's House
#21 of 48 in Georgioupolis
102 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Romantica
Hotel Romantica
#23 of 48 in Georgioupolis
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Orpheas Resort
Orpheas Resort
#10 of 48 in Georgioupolis
210 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sandy Beach Hotel
Sandy Beach Hotel
#38 of 48 in Georgioupolis
157 reviews
0.0 mi away
Leonidas Studios & Appartments
Leonidas Studios & Appartments
#27 of 48 in Georgioupolis
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eleana Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eleana Studios

Property: Eleana Studios
Address: Georgioupolis, Apokoronas, Crete 73007, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Apokoronas > Georgioupolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Georgioupolis
#1 Green Hotel in Georgioupolis
#2 Romantic Hotel in Georgioupolis
#11 Family Hotel in Georgioupolis
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Georgioupolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Eleana Studios 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you expect a formal big hotel you will be disappointed. We don't keep a dress-code or strict schedule. We are a small family place. We are located just 50m away from the beach and 30m away from the central square of the village. All studios are recently renovated and they are fully equipped to provide a comfortable and pleasant stay. Relax, wear your most comfy summer clothes and come to meet us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Eleana Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eleana Studios Crete/Georgioupolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing