We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little hotel for a stopover”
Review of Hotel le Prieure

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel le Prieure
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rancourt
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great little hotel for a stopover”
Reviewed August 30, 2010

We were looking for an overnight hotel on our way back to Calais from the Bescancon area and chose this little gem. The hotel is in the middle of nowhere but is easily accessible from the A26 travelling north and you don't have to go back on yourself to rejoin the A26.

On arrival we were upgraded from a single room to two adjoining rooms for our party of 3 - FOC. The other family we were travelling with had a room for 4.

Our rooms were on the second floor and to be honest, could do with updating. They were typically "french" but were clean and comfortable.

We ate in the Hotel restaurant and were very pleasantly suprised. The food was excellent and of a very high quality. There seemed to be quite a few locals eating at the restaurant which is always a good sign. Our only criticism of the restaurant (and it might be a French thing) was that the waitress wanted to know our desert choice before we had even eaten our starter or main. The waitress made us laugh as she spoke very little english and the only words she really knew were "I speak French. I not speak English." which she repeated quite a few times for our pleasure :)

Breakfast was buffet style and reasonable value.

Would definitely stay at this hotel again and recommend it for anyone looking for an overnight around the St-Quentin area/route back to Calais.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank P0tt3r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    25
    20
    9
    3
See reviews for
13
27
3
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
wakefield england
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2010

Came across this hotel on the road side and thank god we did. We wanted to stay in the town of Albert to see the museum but found the town a little ruff. Found this hotel and the cost was 68 euro for the room for two of us. The resteraunt was classy, the staff were so friendly and the food was great. Would stay here again when next in the area. The hotels in the towns near were ruff and not sharp or classy.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mrbarrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west sussex
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2009

I have stayed at this Hotel on many occassions and would just like to say that i am always impressed by the overall quality,cleanliness,and standards of this Hotel.i always stay here when visiting the Somme battle area,as the Hotels in Albert are simply nowhere near the standard of Le Prieure.The rooms are always clean and tidy,the Food and service is very good..what more can you ask for.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Troopah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mellieha, Malta
Level Contributor
158 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2009

My wife and I have visited this charming hotel on many occasions over the last fifteen years and have never been disappointed. We are going again this autumn as part of special birthday treat for a member of the family and know that he is in for a real treat. Our stays have ranged from short breaks on our own to a longer one with a large group of discerning oenophiles. The food is consistently very good and of all the logis that we have visited in France, this one provides the best food as part of the demi-pension package.
This hotel is particularly convenient for those who are visiting the cemeteries and battlefields of the First World War with an excellent museum in Peronne, just six kilometres down the road. It is in a quiet, restful area, almost in the middle of nowhere and can also make a suitable stopover for those journeying further south. Yet, it is very close to the A1/E15 and only 15 mins from the nearest TGV.
Bedrooms are typically French - if you know what I mean - but that just adds to the atmosphere.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Geoff_and_Juls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2008

This hotel, in the middle of nowhere, is more or less on the way to Reims from Calais and so is a useful stop for later travellers from Dover. We had a room at the back which overlooked some air conditioning or other engineering installation to the hotel. It was not very intrusive – but weather for August was cool. The room was perfectly spacious enough for one night and clean and not very bright. A traveller at the front directly facing the main but fairly quiet road said his room was very poky and he was woken very early by a crowing cock. The only waiter was worked off his feet, but we did not wait for ages before the meal was served. The meal of lamb steaks was quite delicious, which was the saving grace for this hotel which is trying slightly to being pretentious without succeeding at all.

  • Liked — Convenience and a goodish meal
  • Disliked — Just a stop to lay a tired head
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Granville_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rancourt
7.2 mi away
Hotel de la Paix
Hotel de la Paix
#1 of 1 in Bapaume
97 reviews
11.5 mi away
Hotel de la Paix
Hotel de la Paix
#4 of 4 in Albert
150 reviews
5.3 mi away
Comfort Hotel Le Saint Claude Peronne Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
ibis Styles Peronne Assevillers
10.6 mi away
Ibis Albert
Ibis Albert
#1 of 4 in Albert
476 reviews
5.2 mi away
Auberge des Remparts
Auberge des Remparts
#2 of 2 in Peronne
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel le Prieure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel le Prieure

Property: Hotel le Prieure
Address: 24 Route Nationale 17, 80360 Rancourt, France
Location: France > Hauts-de-France > Somme > Rancourt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rancourt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel le Prieure 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Hotel le Prieure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing