We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lamb”
Review of Konoba Bukaleta

Konoba Bukaleta
Ranked #1 of 32 Restaurants in Cres
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Barbecue, Croatian, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lamb”
Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

I visit every year Cres by boat coming from Venice. Bukaleta is perfect for the lamb cooked under the peka, second to none. Good deserts. It is a short taxi ride from the marina.

Helpful?
Thank Doge26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    309
    160
    45
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zagreb, Grad Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lambastic !”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We discovered the restaurant just by chance, being annoyed by poor restaurants in the town of Cres. This one is situated a bit outside town, in the hills above Cres. The restaurants serves best lamb on the Croatian coast - we ordered all varieties of the lamb servings - as ragu with gnocchi, lamb from "peka", grilled and finally a la Viennaese. Everything was perfect ! Must say also the entree was delicious - lamb cheese wit ha bit of olive oil and homemade bread. We also had lamb's soup and lamb's dessert...incredible.. I would like to praise also the service, they were great hosts finding us the table on the packed terrace.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
71 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Excellent lamb”
Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

We ate lamb from oven (in Croatian ispod peke) potatoes and a cake. One portion of lamb is 350 g and it was enough for two of us (we usually do not eat a lot). It was probably the best lamb I ever ate. The cake was also quite OK. I would only prefer a better wine. It is very likely that I return to the restaurant next year.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Molibden42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best lamb”
Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

The food was delicious - not only the lamb, but also the desert. The service was good. My only negative remark refers to the annoying Croatian folk pop music playing all the time. Otherwise, a superb place for a lunch or dinner.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Antuntun_zg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Opatija
1 review
“Absolutely the best lamb ever!”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Last year we were on a sailing trip and we have tried konoba bukaleta for the first time. Lamb which is they are serving there is absolutely the best lamb you can find in all Croatia and it is not my subjective opinion because there were 9 of us there and we all shared it. This year we have planned our trip in the way that we touch Cres again so we have repeated it again with same success. They have a very good open red wine there too. If you like lamb, this place is a must visit.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dariokinkela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Konoba Bukaleta also viewed

Cres, Cres Island
Cres, Cres Island
 
Cres, Cres Island
 
Cres, Cres Island
 

Been to Konoba Bukaleta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing