We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a refreshing tonic”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Uniondale
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bo Kouga Mountain Retreat
Reviewed January 10, 2014

We stayed at Bo Kouga on a recent trip to South Africa and thoroughly recommend it . the well surfaced dirt road with the gates kept us wondering where on earth we were going but arriving and being met by Beverly on her quad bike is something we will remember for a long time . Our cottage was immaculate and spotlessly clean and the views and peacefulness on our patio have to be experienced. The hospitality we received in South Africa was the best of any country we have visited and the Bo Kouga Mountain Resort was no exception
Thanks Beverly and Burt

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JGC2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (40)
There are newer reviews for Bo Kouga Mountain Retreat
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 40 reviews

Reviewed December 10, 2013

Nestled in the Kouga Mountain area you could find a jewel: BO KOUGA MOUNTAIN RETREAT!!
5 cottages, each of them beautifully decorated with attention to details by Beverley!
We had the Buffalo-Cottage, nothing was missing, nice terrace with beautiful view over the fields.
We did a nice walk with Beverley and her 4 Jack Russels to their waterfall: awesome!
Not to forget: Her homemade bread is delicious!
Thank you for beeing such a attentive host!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 19Christine54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We had 3 wonderful nights at Bo Kouga Mountain Retreat. Despite really bad winds and chilly air, the Kasper's went out of their way to ensure our stay was first class. We spent some time in the woods with the game, did the walk to the waterfall (highly recommended!! - especially when all 4 Jack Russel's join you), a trip to Uniondale to experience another side of life, and just had loads of time to chill and reboot ones soul!! The perfect hideaway with no cell phone reception!! Loved every minute of it. The accommodation is superb!! The environment is clean with fresh air and water - even your hair feels better there!!! Thanks to the Kasper's for a wonderful time and we look forward to our next stay at Bo Kouga!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank TheMartCourt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

once again we were treated to a beautiful cosy weekend away in the mountains with plenty of fresh air and no cell phone or tv reception . cottage 5 had all the mod cons that your wife would wish for from hair dryer diswasher and a washing machine !!! Beautiful indoor fireplace that kept out the cold and outdoor braai on the stoep !!!

pet friendly accomodation too which is a big plus for us too

many thanks once again Bev and Bernd for your hospitality much appreciated !!!!

Room Tip: ask for the one with the dishwasher
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trevortjg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Very nice, clean and cozy accommodation. Really enjoyed our overnight stay. Ideal Farm atmosphere for relaxing. Never had time to walk through the Nature Reserve but it looks very good. Fully equipped 1 bedroom cottage with everything needed to ensure an enjoyable stayover. No TV and No Cellphone reception, what a pleasure!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Anthony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Just take my word for it!!! Absolutely stunning!! The chalet, the situation and the cleanliness. The peace and quiet.....We got everything we wanted and it was a pity to leave. There is a beautiful walk to the waterfall. Lots of Proteas and bird life and keep your eyes open for springbok and zebras.

Room Tip: ANYWHERE!! Its on a farm, what more can you want!!
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Outdoors_One2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed in a very spacious cottage with a fully equipped kitchen and 2 bedrooms. From our stoep where we had breakfast we had a fantastic view over the farm and the valley. The fire place was cozy and very comfortable for the colder winter nights.

The farm has a unique atmosphere and it is a wonderful place to spend some days with the family to be away from it all. We enjoyed the zebras and the antelopes that roam around on a special section of the farm. The walk to the waterfall is beautiful and perfect to increase you appetite; especially when you order lamb chops and home-made boerewors with Brendt and Beverly. I can't remember ever eating such good lamb. The cottage comes with a braai and the star lit skies are spectacular at night.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank PetervanHeerden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bo Kouga Mountain Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bo Kouga Mountain Retreat

Address: Elands Valley Farm, Uniondale 6490, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Uniondale
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Uniondale
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the Kouga Mountain range, in the Western Cape Province of South Africa, Bo Kouga Mountain Retreat provides the ultimate getaway from the chaos of modern city living. We have 4 well-equipped and comfortable self-catering cottages and the main farm house available. On this 300 hectare mountain retreat you can explore nature at its best. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing