We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly Lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chateau La Closerie De Fronsac
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Truly Lovely”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Loved this quaint little place from the minute we drove up. Four of us had the small cottage to ourselves and we thoroughly enjoyed our quiet stay at Château La Closerie de Fronsac. Although we didn't get the chance to meet her in person, Marie was very helpful with our réservations as well as with recommendations for dining etc.before our stay. Likewise, she has obviously trained-well her son Clement, who was a perfect host along with a friend. He provided our wine-tasting, breakfast, and generously helped with our transportation needs. The beauty of the setting and the perfectly furnished little B&B made our stay a true delight. Will definitely recommend and would love to return!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1gracenote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    14
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
42
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyable stay in a beautiful old house where Alain and Christine were great hosts. They provided advice and directions on where to go and what to do in this area. Great breakfasts were provided and their wine was beautiful. Rooms were very nice with great views over the vineyards. All together a fabulous setting for a holiday. Would gladly go back again and willingly recommend this place to our friends.

Tony and Lesley
Perth Western Australia

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 3, 2012

My husband was taken ill in Bordeaux and we came to this B&B for him to recuperate. It was wonderful in every way. Alain, Marie Christine and their son Clement were so helpful and did everything they could to ensure that we were comfortable and happy. We stayed both in the main house and in the little cottage and both were perfect - cosy, warm, spacious, clean, quiet and beautiful views. The breakfasts were filling and delicious and we couldn't have wished to be anywhere else. It was such a relief to find this B&B and we hope to return in the near future.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CESREES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

First of all, it's not really worth the name 'chateau'. Probably it got it's name due to that it is the main house of a property where wine is made. Nevertheless, it is a very charming and very old, but decently renovated house. It is very good located in the middle of the Fronsac wine region, a very good basis to explore the excellent vineyards of Bordeaux.

Rooms are very good, have good beds, excellent bathrooms with very good shower and it's cool even the sun is burning outside.

We had a very nice stay, the hosts were very friendly and the prices are correct. The reason I would rate this B&B as average, is because the bread in the morning is not fresh, and not good. Certainly in France, where they have excellent bread and baguettes, this is something I would expect, instead of pre-baked buns from the supermarket that are put in the oven again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pieeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mason, MI
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We stayed for two wonderful nights and with the help of Alain and Marie Christine we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this quaint chateau. Fine dining one night on the Dordogne and an even better dinner in a local establishment the next. Both recommendations from our hosts. Great breakfast to get us on our way each day, and it comes with a tour of their own wine making operation and wine tasting! Views from the guest rooms were beautiful. Rooms were very nice, clean, area was countryside quiet in the midst of vineyards. Website could use a good map with directions to the inn, and speaking little French, we were fortunate to get directions from an English speaking guest. Marie who speaks some English, and Alain none. GPS was somewhat helpful, but for us did not bring us to THE spot. All in all, a great stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plano texas usa
1 review
Reviewed June 26, 2012

A perfect first stop after landing in Bordeaux for a trip in wine country! Alain is a gracious and generous host - suggesting and securing dinner reservations, giving directions on the windy and twisty roads of the St. Emilion area, offering wine-tasting and lessons on the history of the Bordeaux region. Accommodations were superbly French in decor and thankfully modern and updated in efficiency. Vineyard views are out most windows - just what the traveler wants to see!
Another pleasant part of our stay at Closerie de Fronsac was meeting other interesting guests - the chateau seems to be drawing a geographically diverse clientele. Would definitely return to this "home away from home" experience and recommend others discover it for themselves!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linda i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2012

We pick everywhere we stay with some care and that's why so many of my reviews are 5 star. Chateau la Closerie de Fronsac is really memorable and fully deserves 5 stars. We found the hotel without GPS by following a couple of B & B signs showing only a bed from the main road. I feel we were a bit lucky because you seem to drive out of the village before you get there and you keep thinking you have gone wrong. It's not really a castle but a lovely restored large house in the midst of vineyards. The welcome was good and Alain was very helpful. We had the art deco room and yes it was really comfortable with a wonderful view of vineyards. Alain invited us to a wine tasting in French and booked a restaurant for us too. When we needed to go to the local restaurant Alain offered to take us there and he also picked us up afterwards. (A family restaurant with great food nearby on the banks of the wide Dordogne and I have no idea what it was called). We met up with other guests at the chateau and had nice conversations with them all - it's that kind of place, I think, where everyone is relaxed and friendly. We think it was fantastic and we came away with some lovely wine too!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnmorganpowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Michel-de-Fronsac
2.7 mi away
Hotel Mercure Libourne Saint-Emilion
2.7 mi away
La Tour du Vieux Port
La Tour du Vieux Port
#3 of 8 in Libourne
49 reviews
2.7 mi away
Kyriad Libourne - Saint Emilion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Le Bon Duc
3.0 mi away
Hotel De France
Hotel De France
#7 of 8 in Libourne
106 reviews
5.3 mi away
Chateau Grand Barrail
Chateau Grand Barrail
#2 of 7 in Saint-Emilion
798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau La Closerie De Fronsac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau La Closerie De Fronsac

Property: Chateau La Closerie De Fronsac
Address: 1 Lieu Dit Lariveau, 33126 Saint-Michel-de-Fronsac, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Gironde > Saint-Michel-de-Fronsac
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Saint-Michel-de-Fronsac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in close proximity to Saint-Emilion and Pomerol, the Château “CLOSERIE DE FRONSAC” guesthouse has roots in the famous Bordeaux wine region. It produces its own red wine Fronsac going back three centuries. The House will seduce you by its authenticity preserved and centuries attached. All the appellations and famous châteaux of Bordeaux are quickly accessible from the “CLOSERIE DE FRONSAC”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Chateau La Closerie De Fronsac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing