We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular!”
Review of Le Macassar

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Corbie
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Le Macassar
Ranked #1 of 2 Corbie B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Many folks have already written glowing reports about Le Macassar. All I can do is echo what has previously been said. Ian and Miguel have created an extraordinary venue, beautiful and friendly. They are warm and gracious hosts and excellent resources for those wishing to see the Somme battlefield sites. Having traveled widely throughout the world, I believe Le Macassar is among a handlful of the premier places in which I have stayed.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anfrankel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (205)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 205 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2012

With the vast array of positive comments in all the previous reviews it is difficult to add anything new but this establishment and its two fantastic owners deserve every word of praise. Miguel and Ian's attention to detail make Le Macassar a wonderful place to stay, whatever your reasons for visiting the area. The decor and furnishings of the hotel are exquisite, the love of Art Deco runs throughout and our Art Deco suite was like stepping back in time (with 21st century facilities.) The bed was the most comfortable I have ever slept in and there was no yearning for my own bed that so often happens when we stay away. However just as important to the attention to detail in the accommodation, Ian and Miguel's attention to their guests is also second to none! Nothing appeared too much trouble and their recommendations be it for a place to eat or a tourist attraction always proved excellent. We were delighted to have witnessed the arrival of Razz (you will have to stay to work out the meaning.) Breakfast was a veritable feast, to such an extent we frequently decided lunch was not required! We took part in the Sunday Evening table d'hôte. The food was delicious and the wine flowed as freely as the River Somme itself. We loved our stay so much that we are already planning our return.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank jandpuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We were greeted with warm hospitality by our hosts. A drink on arrival and aperitif in the evening. The room was stylish and comfortable and one of the best we have stayed in over the years. We will recommend it without hesitation to anyone travelling in the area for both the quality of the accommodation and the welcome we received. It is very central to the museums and memorials of the first world war battlefields.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ashdown01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

A great place with great hosts. Ian and Miguel know how to look after you.

The accommodation is very comfortable and stylish. Ian and Miguel know the area very well and made some first class recommendations for restaurants and things not to miss out on.

We thoroughly enjoyed our experience and would recommend it to all.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Ian and Miguel are the magic ingredients at Le Macassar. Never in all our years of traveling have we been greeted with such warmth from our hosts. We had traveled from Paris and arrived about 4pm. Le Macassar in Corbie is very easy to find (free parking directly outside). We rang the bell by the side of the very large double doors and Ian came almost immediately with a lovely warm smile, welcoming us in to his beautiful home and showing us through to the lounge area where we took a seat. You can feel the magnificence of this wonderful building as soon as you enter. My eyes were feasting on the decor as I walked through it. It is indeed a small and very beautifully formed luxury hotel, but we felt that it was also incredibly homely. Ian and Miguel encourage you to use the hotel as you would your own home in fact. We were encouraged to have a drink after our journey and offered a choice of many including bubbly, which we decided to accept, as we were after all, there for my special birthday and it seemed very apt. It was perfect and beautifully chilled. We chatted happily with Ian and Miguel, sipped champagne and ate nibbles for some time, during which other guests came back from their days out and joined the chatter. Everyone blended well and we felt very relaxed. We could have happily sat there all night chatting, however, our plans were to eat at one of the restaurants in Corbie (5 minutes walk). Ian showed us up to our room, at about 7:30, and it was simply stunning(double deluxe). Very comfy bed indeed. Beautiful bathroom. We had a lovely evening in the local restaurant, Ian and Miguel would happily have joined us in a night cap on our return but we were tired and retired straight away after our lovely day. Breakfast was perfect and just as previous reviewers have stated. Ian and Miguel make a fantastic team and are so much in tune with each other and their guests. They happily showed us around their beautiful home before we left. Nothing is too much trouble for them and I would highly recommend you book this hotel early if you are considering it as they book up fast.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Debandez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

A wonderful place to base yourself in the north of France. Ian & Miguel do everything they can to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. Lovely rooms of great charm and comfortable beds dressed with quality linen. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Hepast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2012

I booked Le Macassar as part of a surprise for my partner and i cant say enough good things. Everything was perfect, such attention to detail. Miguel and Ian made us feel so welcome. Miguel is a terrific cook and the wine Ian served was delicious. I wish we could have stayed longer. It's pure Heaven. Thank you both so much.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shaney P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Le Macassar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Macassar

Address: 8 Place de la Republique, 80800 Corbie, France
Location: France > Hauts-de-France > Somme > Corbie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Corbie
Price Range: $188 - $283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Restored in 1926, Le Macassar boasts unique art deco and art nouveau interiors alongside traditional 18th-century rooms providing a perfect backdrop for the owners' collection of period art and antiques. Only 15 minutes away from Amiens we are ideally located for visiting the memorials to the First World War and most major sites (Thiepval, Beaumont Hamel)are within 30 minutes drive. The main Australian WW1 Memorial near Villers Bretonneux is less than 5 minutes away, Vimy Ridge about 50 minutes drive. Guests return again and again to enjoy the service of a luxury hotel together with the relaxation and informality of a private home. For breakfast, an indulgent selection of homemade and local produce is served at a time to suit you and not ourselves! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Le Macassar Hotel Corbie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing