We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sea Cliff Resort & Spa
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
ZanziResort(Zanzibar Island)
$283
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$62
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Golden Tulip Zanzibar Resort(Zanzibar City)
$88
$70
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$169
$164
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Princess Salme Inn(Stone Town)(Great Value!)
$15
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Warere Town House(Stone Town)(Great Value!)
$29
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$69
$66
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$72
$65
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Chapwani Private Island(Zanzibar Island)
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Kholle House(Stone Town)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,113)
Filter reviews
1,113 results
Traveler rating
707
276
67
35
28
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
707
276
67
35
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshorse ridingstone towntennis courtstable tennisfree shuttlef b managersuperior roomall inclusive packagebreakfast and dinnerfood and beverage managerjetty barevery eveningwater sportslive entertainmentour honeymoonprivate beachspecial thanks
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
686 - 691 of 1,113 reviews
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We just got back from out Honeymoon stay at Sea Cliff Resort. After a week on safari, the beaches of Zanzibar were calling to us. Pulling up to the resort was exciting, because it really was beautiful. And quiet! There is plenty of room for guests to relax, so I never felt crowded when sitting poolside. The waitstaff was wonderful. We had the same waiter every night, Hamad, who was so smiley and friendly. He set up the most amazing honeymoon dinner for us, that made our stay there so special. Our table was setup outside away from the other guests dining, and covered with flowers he picked himself. The seafood dinners they serve to honeymoon couples was phenomenal, and one of the best lobsters I have ever eaten. I would recommend Sea Cliff not just for honeymoon travelers, but for anyone looking for a relaxing vacation. There is plenty to do at the resort. The pool tables are free, there are tennis courts, kayaks, etc. And you can do day tours that pick you up right from the hotel. Sea Cliff also provides a free shuttle into Stone Town if you stay more than 3 days, which was really helpful. I'm not sure if we would have taken that short trip if they didn't, and we really would have missed out on a nice experience.
The only slightly negative thing is we were looking forward to escaping to the BEACHES of Zanzibar. We hadn't realized there isn't really a large beach area, and the resort is more pool focused. I'm sure it states this on the website, but we were placed in this hotel by a tour group and didn't really research the hotel ourselves. It didn't really change our vacation at all. We took a snorkling tour, so we did get to spend one day out swimming in the ocean anyway.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaCliffManagement, General Manager at Sea Cliff Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your honeymoon with us at Sea Cliff Resort & Spa.

CONGRATULATIONS once again on your marriage. The TEAM strives towards great service and we are so pleased to hear that another "dream" honeymoon was enjoyed. It is always wonderful to hear that our TEAM members have added so much value to our guests experience - your compliments will be passed on to Hamad.

Unfortunately due to our location on the WEST Coast of the island, we are affected by fairly dramatic changes in the tide. We are pleased to hear though that this did not deter your stay in any way.

Thank you again for taking the time to post your review. We wish you both all the best and we do hope that we will be able to welcome you back.

Kind regards,

Abre Esterhuizen
GENERAL MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed at Sea Cliff for the duration of our honeymoon in Zanzibar. It was a lovely relaxing holiday, the setting is breathtaking and it is really special to be able to have a spectacular dinner by candlelight at the poolside overlooking the ocean! My favourite part about Sea Cliff was the beautiful immaculate stables run by Rosa the fearless equestrian! She really spoiled us - we had two fantastic outrides!
The food was good, the rooms were beautiful and clean and comfortable, I loved the spa bath! As a honeymooning couple we were spoiled with a free couples massage at the spa as well as a seafood dinner for two.
Though we did short trips out it really was not necessary as the hotel has plenty to do. We had a lovely stay and would recommend Sea Cliff to anyone wishing for a relaxing holiday in paradise!

Room Tip: We had an ocean facing suite and it was really lovely
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chanti_brits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaCliffManagement, General Manager at Sea Cliff Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us.

We are so privelaged to have been a part of this special time in your lives and happy that you chose Sea Cliff to begin your new lives together.

We will certainly pass on your compliments to Rosa.

All the best for your future and we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Best regards,

Abre Esterhuizen
GENERAL MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Following a safari we decided on a few days rest at this hotel. The location and facilities were superb and there were plenty of leisure activities to keep you busy, even the bikes were fun if a little difficult to steer and/or change gear! The food was mainly buffet based and was good but not outstanding, with limited options for vegetarians. Our only real issue was when it came to checking out, check out time was 10am but we did not need to leave until 5pm for our flight. We had requested a late checkout the day before and were told we could use another room for the day as ours was due to be used by new guests, unfortunately when we checked out at 10am the next day we were then told we could only have a room until 1pm and then would be charged per hour. We felt a little disappointed at this treatment as we then had the additional issue that we could not get drinks or food as we had no room number to charge it to for most of the day - 5 hours with no drinks in the heat is a long time! To somewhat compound matters we then heard staff at reception saying other guests with a late flight had simply remained in their room so we were penalised for checking out on time.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Tracy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaCliffManagement, General Manager at Sea Cliff Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post about your recent experience.

Although it seems like you had an overall good stay, we apologise with regards to the problem you had during your departure. Of course the resort is aware that flight times are varied and at odd hours because of the destination and we endeavor to assist our guests when and where possible. Unfortunately we are not always able to assist if there are other guests due to check into the room (thus the reason we were able to accommodate you in an alternate room).

Our apologies that the procedures for a day account was not communicated with you properly and it will be taken up with our food and beverage and front office team to ensure that this does not happen again.

Best regards,

Abre Esterhuizen
GENERAL MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We were relying on the internet representations of Sea Cliff and were a bit anxious, knowing no one who'd ever been there. After two days in Stone Town, we took a taxi out to the resort and were immediately pleasantly relieved. Sea Cliff is breathtakingly situated. We were warmly greeted with frozen fruit drinks and information about our stay. Our "superior" room had an expansive view of the ocean with a patio and chairs, a really comfy bed, and the 2nd best hot shower of our 3-week trip. (Lion Hill in the game park outside Nakuru in Kenya wins for best shower!) The meals were relaxing, in spite of the screeching, sometimes fighting cats that stalked the tables. They were actually more a source of amusement than annoyance. The service was good enough but not great (except for our dinner server -- he was great!). Speaking Swahili would've been a serious advantage; not all of our requests translated on the 1st or 2nd try. The "themed" dinner buffets seemed an unnecessary pandering to a "cruise" crowd that wasn't actually there. But there were always lots and lots of choices. We were pleased that "all-inclusive" really meant "all-inclusive." But it's hard to get Coke Light there! To quote our waiter, who tried so hard to hunt it down for us, "It's finished." I wouldn't go to Zanzibar to go to Sea Cliff, but if I were already in Tanzania, I'd go to Sea Cliff. Definitely. (The travel home kind of kills the relaxation if you live in the US or another place very, very, very far away.)

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mariann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaCliffManagement, General Manager at Sea Cliff Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review on your recent stay with us.

We have noted your comments with regards to the language barrier and apologise for the inconvenience this may have caused. Kiswahili remains the most spoken language in Zanzibar.

We are glad to hear that overall your stay was a good one and that you enjoyed the beauty of the island.

Kind regards,

Abre Esterhuizen
GENERAL MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We arrived a day late after Precision Air off loaded 23 people and had the pleasure of Naura Springs. I sent email to advise of delay and they collected us the next morning at Airport.
Rooms good., Food Good and plenty of staff to help. In fact maybe too many staff as the hotel was quiet. We stayed for two days and whilst the food was very good I think a long stay and you could be quite fed up of the buffet altough a very good selection. And the puddings what a great selection.
Pools and view 5*. Used the pool tables and also free transport into Stone Town. South African management who were helpful.
Only downpoint was very slow internet but rememeber where we are.
Good Standards and worth the comments that have been made

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2PFK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaCliffManagement, General Manager at Sea Cliff Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We truly value the opinions of our customers opinion.

Our Executive Chef is appreciative of your comments regarding the food and has taken your comments into consideration.

Once again, thank you for your time and we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Best Regards

Abre Esterhuizen
GENERAL MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews