We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Keeping it real!”
Review of Lethabo Estate

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lethabo Estate
Ranked #1 of 4 Lanseria B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Midrand, South Africa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Keeping it real!”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

What an amazing experience at Lethabo! The mixed collection of local furniture, natural décor, exquisite lighting and shades brushed with creativity across the many special and intimate spaces all over the property. Lisa has created a magical place of hospitality and her personal touch in the stylishly presented and scrumptious cuisine tops the scale! We really enjoyed our stay and will recommend Lethabo to our friends.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    42
    15
    5
    9
See reviews for
21
189
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013

My daughter requested a picnic wedding,and was amazed at how Lise our host at Letabo Estate
went out of her way to create a Wedding that dreams are made of! The venue itself was out of this world, tranquil and absolutely beautiful. The food in the picnic baskets was unlike anything our guests have ever had, SCRUMPTIOUS!!!! I am still receiving calls from guests remarking on the best wedding they have ever attended in their lives, which says it all for Lise's vision. The staff went out of their way to do all they could to make every guests needs available. Words cannot describe what a stress free time we all had,and if i may say so myself it was the most awesome wedding i have ever been to. Thank you Lise and Steve for your constant attention, and for creating the most romantic setting for a wedding ever. Wonderful!!!!!! Glynda Bailey

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GLYNDA2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria
1 review
Reviewed December 13, 2013

We paid R3750, on arrival we had to wait on the deck to be attended to.
The deck had overflowing ash trays, dirty glasses and empty cooldrink cans standing around. We had ro carry our own bags. The rooms roof is so low my husband had to walk around hunched over. The bed was small, uncomfortable and moist. The toilet cubicle was filled with spider webs.


  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Annie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LethaboGauteng, Owner at Lethabo Estate, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Mrs Kruger
Thank you for your feedback. I am so sorry to hear of your disappointing experience, especially with regards to the full ashtrays, glasses and cool drink cans on the deck area. This is not normally how we do things – the staff member concerned has received a warning letter. With regards to your bags, Christina and I carried the one overnight bag to The Willow Tree, was there another we missed? I remember you left directly after dinner as your other child was ill so could not stay the night and that was also the only bag Christina said that she returned to your car. Again, sorry for the misunderstanding.
I only wish you had told me at the time that our intimate Willow Tree Hideaway –usually a favourite of honeymooners – felt too cramped for you and we would have happily moved you. With regards to the spiders in the bathroom, I’m afraid that living so close to nature means we do get them from time to time. Vigorously vacuuming, dusting, sweeping and scenting with incense removes cobwebs temporarily but sadly spiders are industrious creatures and can create an elaborate cobweb in under 15 minutes. Again, we would have sent someone right away to remove the spider at once, had you only mentioned it at the time.
With regards to the price, R3750 included a one night stay for two people with a complimentary welcome drink before checking you in, hors d’ouvres and a complimentary bottle of wine waiting for you at your room, a four course candlelit dinner and Farm style breakfast, which most of our returning guests consider great value for money.
We would love to the opportunity to change your mind about Lethabo so perhaps consider The Rock Pool Luxury Suite which offers double volume thatch with a supersize bed, a private pool and fish confined to a tank built into the wall and when you book we will be delighted to include a complimentary spa treatment.
I hope your sick child is much better and also that all goes well with your new baby on the way.
On behalf of us all at Lethabo I extend my best wishes to you over the festive season.
Best wishes
Lise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria
1 review
Reviewed December 1, 2013

This was a wonderful place to be. Everybody was always so friendly. The food was excellent! We had privacy and were secluded. The nature is beautiful. I will effeminately go back again. The accommodation was perfect. This is a very romantic getaway and value for money.












  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Rene T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boksburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Great place, amazing food, amazing service, just all around awesome place!!!
loved every second!!! The staff are friendly and always around to fulfill your needs, the food if great and always fresh!!! Lise is a GREAT host!!!! :)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gauteng
1 review
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We had a lovely weekend, the food was excellent, and the hospitality was great. The staff are excellent and professional and the estate is beautiful.
the rooms were gorgeous and the fact that it is nestled right next to the river it is so quiet and peacefull. We really had the best time ever

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Tanya L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Had the most amazing time. An absolutely stunning venue, so tranquil and beautiful.
The staff is extremely friendly and accomodating. Food was increddible. The air is filled with romance and nature. Will definately recommend Lethabo to everyone and go there again and again myself!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MeganMegan16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lanseria
23.3 mi away
Budmarsh Country Lodge
Budmarsh Country Lodge
#2 of 7 in Magaliesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
23.3 mi away
African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa
9.9 mi away
Misty Hills Country Hotel
Misty Hills Country Hotel
#4 of 5 in Muldersdrift
4.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Avianto
Avianto
#3 of 5 in Muldersdrift
4.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
23.5 mi away
Magalies Manor
Magalies Manor
#6 of 7 in Magaliesburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
1.6 mi away
Lanseria Country Estate
Lanseria Country Estate
#1 of 1 in Lanseria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lethabo Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lethabo Estate

Property: Lethabo Estate
Address: Portion 25 Vlakfontein, Lanseria 1748, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Lanseria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Lanseria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lethabo Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our gorgeous accommodation, just minutes from Fourways and Broadacres, beckons to courting couples and stressed out executives alike. Lethabo is embraced by the rolling blue Magaliesburg foothills in the Cradle of Humankind just 20 minutes from Fourways. Our guesthouse has 6 double en-suite rooms, each with its own private balcony with the views of the surrounding Nature Reserve. Our Willow Tree Lodge is a lovers haven, a thatched "A" frame structure on stilts, with a sunken jacuzzi spa bath, loads of candles, and a double hammock on the waters edge. River Cottage is a sweet old stone cottage with a wide verandah with jacuzzi looking over the river. Our meals are a masterfully prepared delight and are our romantic picnics are sublime. While dining in our gourmet restaurant, overlooking our dam, and the wrap around views of the nature reserve, we will indulge you with our uniquely South African cuisine. Choose from our seasonal menu which includes Cape Malay Chicken, served in a crispy poppadum, a specially aged Beef Fillet rolled in cracked black pepper & served with a pearl onion and black cherry sauce, Norwegian Salmon lightly seared with creamy gorgonzola, Kingklip Tempura served with a honey, ginger, and sherry reduction, all accompanied by a medley of traditionally slow roasted Mediterranean organic vegetables. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing