We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lethabo Estate
Nearby Hotels
Lanseria Country Estate(Lanseria)(Great Value!)
$69
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Valverde Country Hotel(Johannesburg)(Great Value!)
$64
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$223
$176
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Indaba Hotel(Fourways)
$149
$62
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Venue Country Hotel(Hartbeespoort)(Great Value!)
$74
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$128
$111
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$268
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riverview Spa(Muldersdrift)
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (275)
Filter reviews
276 results
Traveler rating
186
56
18
7
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
186
56
18
7
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe riverromantic picnicpicnic basketattention to detailwillow treerose petalswelcome drinkspa bathprivate poolbirthday surpriseromantic venuefood was amazingmy girlfriendcourse mealfairy talewonderful experiencethank you so much
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
265 - 270 of 276 reviews
Reviewed October 5, 2012

What beautiful surroundings! We chose to go during the week, and it almost felt like we were totally alone, except for the friendly, attentive staff. Our stay was a wonderful combination of peacful relaxation amongst the curtains of weeping willows, the abundant birdlife and the hypnotising river paired with freshly prepared and delicious food. The Willow Tree Lodge which we stayed in is so close to the river that you see it from the bed, and the furnishings gave it such a romantic feel.
Highlights? Seeing a massive liguaan (monitor lizard) about 1.5 metres long across the water, the exotic sounds of birds, Irma Stern artworks (along with many other artefacts) and the overall luxurious feeling of being welcomed as guests. Don't forget the romantic picnoc- that was also fantastic. What was missing? We should have taken a couple of bird and animal identification books and a pair of binoculars, but that just gives us an excuse to go again. We can honestly recommend Lethabo Estate as a space to hide away for a couple of days. Thank you, Lise and team!

Room Tip: The Willow Tree Lodge is right on the river, and very private.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sc0ttDunl0p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LethaboGauteng, Owner at Lethabo Estate, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

Hello there,
It was wonderful having you here. Thank you so much for your wonderful review. It is so encouraging to us when we get it right.
We would love to see you again, perhaps try one of the other suites next time. They are all so different and charming in their own way.
Thank you again.
Best wishes
Lise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

Words cannot describe how magnificent this place is.

From our first booking enquiry right through to a very sad farewell, our "Lethabo Experience" surpassed every possible wish for a dream getaway.

Although, on this first occasion, Nicky and I were only able to indulge ourselves in the Romantic Picnic (very aptly named, we must add!), followed by a fabulous gourmet dining experience in front of a warming, crackling log fire, before wandering back to our Willow Tree Lodge under those beautiful stars twinkling down on us from a clear, clean sky (stopping for some very special kisses on the way!), falling asleep in our very comfortable four-poster bed in the absolute quiet and stillness of a perfect African night only to be woken by the birdsong before enjoying a huge al fresco cooked breakfast. It was a real wrench having to leave after only 24 hours. But those 24 wonderful hours will remain with us for the rest of our lives. They passed all too quickly, but deepened our love for each other. It was (and is) magical, and we'll definitely be returning to further cement our love.

The welcome we received from Lise and her team was so warm and friendly, yet discreet and highly professional, that we'll certainly be returning - again and again!

One final (somewhat mercenary!) note. We've stayed at many 5+ star hotels and resorts worldwide, and can truthfully say that Lethabo Estate beats every single one of them hands down - not just for service, dining, comfort, atmosphere, romance, intimacy, surroundings, cleanliness and the warm and caring welcome, but also for real value-for-money.

Lise and team - you're doing a great job and should be proud of yourselves and your fabulous place.

See you soon.

Say hello to the pets, too!

Love and thanks

John & Nicky

Room Tip: We stayed in The Willow Tree Lodge, which was awesome, but we intend to try the River Cottage as well next time! The soothing sound of the river can, we think, be enjoyed from whatever place you choose to indulge yourself in!
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LethaboGauteng, Owner at Lethabo Estate, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2012

Thank you so much for your very kind appeciation. You mke our job a joy to do and we hope to see you back here very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2012

I had my wedding at Lethabo Estate in January this year. Not only was the venue itself gorgeous but the staff were incredibly efficient and everything ran so smoothly creating a very relaxed atmosphere. I booked this venue from abroad and Lise put all my worries at ease with every query I threw her way. It is a more expensive venue, food and drinks in particular, but your expectations will certainly be exceeded at every turn. The food was all cooked to order and exceptional - my guests couldn't stop commenting on it! The honeymoon suite was something very special tucked away at the rivers edge. Overall I would strongly recommend this venue for a wedding or romantic evening away for a special occasion.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ginam586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LethaboGauteng, Owner at Lethabo Estate, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2012

Thank you for your wonderful review. It was our great honour to host your special day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2012

Wow what an awesome experience. We attended a wedding at Lethabo and decided to stay the weekend. Our plane was cancelled at the last minute which is a pity as we basically lost a day. The estate is app 10 minutes from the airport so location is great for a weekend getaway. We had to drive 6 hours to get there and only just got the the venue before the bride! The host's were amazing at calming us down, getting us checked in and making sure we were sorted. The wedding was stunning and when we got back to our cottage the jacuzzi had been heated and was ready for a midnight dip (it was freezing outside). All the units and/or picnic spots are private so you feel like you're out in the bush. The cottage was spacious and well kitted. The meals were delicous and they even packed us a travel pack as we had to leave before the breakfast run.... We will definately be back

Room Tip: The river cottage has a jacuzzi and can sleep at least 4. The honeymoon suite also looked great only smaller
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LethaboGauteng, Owner at Lethabo Estate, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2012

Thank you for your wonderful review and for taking the time to review Lethabo on Tripadvisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2012

I had the misfortune of staying in the Rock Pool Lodge for a friends wedding, and my partner and I left with over 300 bites from a 1 night stay.
Our bedsheets also had old blood stains on them which were not changed when we discovered it and requested fresh bed linen.
The bar was also horribly overprices (R20 for a single shot and more if you wanted a mixer)
Two dogs who were allowed to run around and into the guest houses.

Overall a poor experience!

Room Tip: Just don't do it!
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ryan g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LethaboGauteng, Owner at Lethabo Estate, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2012

We regret the poor experience the gentleman had as a wedding guest at Lethabo. He wrote a letter of complaint to which I responded explaining that in January we are plagued with mosquitoes for which we provide sprays and coils in the rooms and that we defog regularly with a environmentally friendly product that kills insects and bed bugs. It is quite possible for an overseas guest, not familiar with mosquitoes to confuse the two. Our spirits are R 17 a tot. I did not receive a response from the gentleman to my letter where I apologised for not having shown him the mosquito repellants.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews