We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Idyllic setting for any WW1 enthusiast”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Auchonvillers
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Beaumont Hamel View Guest House
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Idyllic setting for any WW1 enthusiast”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We had the pleasure of staying at Beaumont Hamel 3 nights. David had a had tour scheduled in Normandy and was leaving the next morning but we did meet him on the evening of our arrival and found him to be a small tornado of energy , enthusiasm and knowledge. This did allow us to have a 3 days at his guest house with Anita - his partner. She is a delightful - intelligent conversationalist about a wide range of interests - and also happens to be a very good cook - so we had 2 lovely evenings at Beaumont Hamel. The guest house is immaculate - our rooms were quite comfortable with ensuite & a fabulous shower. Crisp - nice quality linens as well.
The setting of the guest house is a dream come true for any 1st world war enthusiast - it borders on Newfoundland Memorial park. The guest house has large windows that look out over former battlefields.
David had set us up with a tour guide named Rod Bedford whom my husband found very informative. He took us to the PALS memorial near Serre, the Sunken Road, Mash Valley and the Tolkien war experience and High Wood - with focus on the ground over which Harry Lunan, last surviving piper of WW1 - piped the men of the Gordon Highlanders.
We are looking forward to a return visit to this area sometime in the future and will certainly chose Beaumont Hamel View Guest House !

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    1
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
19
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

This was our 2nd visit here and I cannot recommend Beaumont Hamel View strongly enough. Dave Platt is so much more than just the owner (with Anita) of a brilliant B&B situated in one of the best locations on the Somme. His knowledge and enthusiasm make a visit here utterly memorable. As an example, we arrived Friday 4th October and, after a delicious dinner cooked by Anita, rather than retiring to his private quarters, Dave took us out in his Land rover to investigate the WW1 dugouts in Authuille Wood, visit the Lonsdale cemetery (very moving in the half dusk) and look out for a mother wild boar and her little ones who were known to be feeding on the edge of the Wood. I urge anyone with an interest in the Great War to stay here.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charlesa61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 7, 2013

They would be like this one! 3 of us have just returned from another weekend with Dave & Anita.
Again they were the perfect hosts, Dave took us on a days battlefield Land Rover tour of some areas that other tours can't reach and shared his encyclopaedic knowledge of the Western Front.

Comfortable, clean rooms with en suite showers, good home cooked food & always friendly hosts make Beaumont Hamel View possibly the best B&B on the Somme.

We'll be back!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Beaumont Hamel View Guest House provides three comfortable guest rooms with great in romm facilities like new, modern showers. Guests have the option of having evening meals as well. Plus, since this B&B is located on the WWI Somme Battlefield, the proprietor provides guided tours of the battlefield on request.

My wife and I went to this part of France (near Albert in Picarde) to visit some of the First World War battlefield sites associated with the Somme Offensive from July 1st - November 18th, 1916. We toured the battlefield on our own and checked in at Beaumont Hamel View late in the day. There we meet Dave and Anita Platt, the owners and managers Beaumont Hamel View Guest House - Wow! What a splendid couple.

I have to say that Anita is a phenomenal cook and provided us one of the best meals we had in France (don't tell the French that Anita is English). Dave is an absolute walking, talking encyclopedia of every aspect of the Battle of the Somme. The details he knows of the whole battle front, the armies and soldiers from both side, equipment, tactics, weapons, etc., is breathtaking. After talking to Dave for just a few minutes, I realized I had made a big mistake by not taking his tour for the day. He gets out on battlefield with his Defender Land Rover. We could have learned so much more.

I hope to go back to Beaumont Hamel View Guest House and take a week or so to cover the whole Somme front with Dave. It is wonderful to meet people who are so passionate about and truly good at what they do. This place is beyond great, it is outstanding. Ideal place to stay for a WWI buff.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Von H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Dave and Anita platt are the owner/operators of the business and it shows in the care and passion they put into everything. Me my wife and two boys had a comfortable well fed stay with no complaints whatsoever.
There is a bonus if you have a real interest in the area or indeed a relative that served in the Great War......Dave is an authority on military actions in the area and we commissioned him to research my grandfather who we new died on the Somme but that was the extent of our knowledge.
Dave not only compiled his military history he took us on a cross country land rover expedition and we followed my grandfathers footsteps ultimately to where he died and still lays. A moving and emotional experience that Dave made possible. Highly recommend Dave's research capabilities and the whole experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton on Trent
1 review
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We have just stayed for three nights with Anita and Dave at the Beaumont Hamel View Guest house, and honestly could not have found anywhere better to stay on the Somme. Fantastic hosts throughout the whole stay, great food, lovely rooms, and the best guide for our first visit to the battlefields of the Western front. Dave is a fountain of knowledge in all things military and made our battlefield tour come alive. The house sits in a perfect, quite location, easy to access, plenty of parking, and beautiful gardens. They have thought of absolutely everything you could need. A great visit.

Room Tip: All equally lovely and quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaroleAnn55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Driffield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Dave and Anita are without doubt the perfect hosts for a visit to this beautiful and emotionally-charged area of northern France. I was researching my grandfather's role in WW1 and Dave's fantastic knowledge and understanding of the human side of war made us feel that we had been transported back to July 1916. The Land Rover tour is an absolute must and Dave's carefully researched anecdotes about the young men fighting in the trenches gave us a human insight that surely no other tour is able to match. Add to this Anita's tremendous dinners and breakfasts and a beautifully clean and comfortable room in which to sleep soundly after a day in battle and you have an absolute gem of a venue for exploring the area.

Room Tip: All the rooms are fully equipped and have en-suite shower rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vince B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Auchonvillers
5.1 mi away
Ibis Albert
Ibis Albert
#1 of 4 in Albert
476 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hotel de la Paix
Hotel de la Paix
#4 of 4 in Albert
150 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hotel de la Basilique
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.5 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Le Prieure
5.6 mi away
Hotel Royal Picardie
Hotel Royal Picardie
#3 of 4 in Albert
192 reviews
1.1 mi away
Les Eglantines
Les Eglantines
#1 of 2 in Mailly-Maillet
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beaumont Hamel View Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beaumont Hamel View Guest House

Property: Beaumont Hamel View Guest House
Address: 15 rue Delattre, 80560 Auchonvillers, France
Location: France > Hauts-de-France > Somme > Auchonvillers
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Auchonvillers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An old French farmhouse overlooking the Somme battlefields and the closest accommodation to the Beaumont Hamel memorial park, (walking distance). Four twin rooms all ensuite and a large guest room. There is a large garden, picnic area and patio all set in 1 acre of land. There are awesome unobstructed views of popular sites such as Beaumont Hamel Memorial Park, Hawthorne Ridge, Redan Ridge, Sunken Lane and the Thiepval memorial. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Beaumont Hamel View Guest House Auchonvillers, France - Somme

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing