We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel on a perfect location in Bergen”
Review of Parkhotel Bergen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Parkhotel Bergen
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Bergen
Reviewed January 12, 2014

For our yearly family weekend we were invited to Bergen. We stayed in the Parkhotel for 2 nights, with a group of 10. Bergen is a small but friendly local town with a relaxed atmosphere. The hotel is perfectly located, right in the middle of the old centre of Bergen. We parked our car on the small private parking of the hotel and left it there because all the restaurants, shops and places of interest are within waling distance from the hotel. The parking charges are €.12,50 per night, but this is reasonable because you have to pay for car parking in a large area of Bergen and all the hotels in the centre charge you for that. The small reception is strangely located under stairs, but the staff is very friendly. There is a small elevator available. Behind the reception there is a bar and a nice fire place with some comfortable arm chairs. One night we ordered coffee at the fire place and they offered us complementary liqueur and chocolate.

We had a double (comfort) room with airco on the first floor with a balcony, which was quite nice. From the balcony we had a nice view of the centre and could see what was going on. The room was not spacious, but big enough for the both of us and it was clean. There was a flat screen and a writing desk with a water boiler for coffee/tea. Sometimes we could hear people walking on the second floor, but this is not unusual in these kind of old hotels. If you stay in the middle of the old historic part of Bergen, then you have to manage your expectations. The bathroom was modern and clean, with a great walk-in shower and a separate bath.

For our whole group a special arrangement was booked, called 'The best of Bergen'. This was based on 2 nights, including breakfast and including 2 dinners for a total price of €.120 per person. In my opinion this is good value for money, especially in the high season! We enjoyed the dinner both times in the nicely decorated restaurant (not in the brasserie) and the quality was good. The staff was handling our large group very well and did a great job. They arranged a special table for our group during the weekend, which was spotless each time. The breakfast was outstanding. It was buffet style, fresh and more than complete. Staff was making sure that everything was filled. You could even make your own omelet in a cooking pan on a gas fire, which was fun.

We do recommend Parkhotel, but beware that it is an older hotel in the historic part of Bergen, which could have its downsize. For sure it is good value for money and the location is perfect!

Room Tip: If your make a direct reservation till 1 April 2014, you will get a free upgrade of your room.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tRAVellerOfTheW0rld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (45)
There are newer reviews for Parkhotel Bergen
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 45 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2014

The hotel is conveniently situated near shops ans restaurants, but the town itself is very small so all places of interest are quite close. The rooms are very small, in May it was very cold inside, wifi connection is very poor. But breakfasts are rich and delicious, personnel is very polite, helpful and friendly) The hotel has a nice cafe to take some coffee and snack. In general it'll be ok but money, too expensive for such a place to stay in.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barabae4ka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

This hotel changed owner three times in the past years. The staff is efficient and friendly, the rooms are ok, the gym is good but not oustanding but overall there is nothing bad to say about this place. It is not good enough for an extended stay but a few nights is no problem

Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
Thank DdeKerf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Hotel is opposite of some cafe's with loud music until late in the night. So a welcome night's rest is not possible with the noisy rooms. And the service desk manager couldn't relate to our problem with this. Also therefor a bad score...

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank E T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Willie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Beetje krappe kamer .....
  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rudi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2016
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Edwin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bergen
0.1 mi away
Hotel Heerlijkheid Bergen
0.8 mi away
Blooming Hotel
Blooming Hotel
#1 of 8 in Bergen
315 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Breeburg
Hotel Villa Breeburg
#3 of 8 in Bergen
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant Marijke
0.1 mi away
Hotel 1900
Hotel 1900
#6 of 8 in Bergen aan Zee
128 reviews
2.6 mi away
Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant Jan van Scorel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkhotel Bergen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkhotel Bergen

Address: Stationsstraat 2, 1861 GA Bergen, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Bergen
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Bergen
Price Range: $110 - $258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Parkhotel Bergen 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Parkhotel Bergen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing