We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Hip and stylish hotel, great location but not cheap!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blooming Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Blooming Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Bergen
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hip and stylish hotel, great location but not cheap!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

We stayed for two nights with our three children and the grandparents in two Roomy rooms. The rooms were not on the same floor, which was a little inconvenient. They were very comfortable though and certainly roomy enough. We had dinner in the hotel restaurant on the first night. The food was nothing special and took too long to arrive. The breakfast was very good though. All in all we had a very pleasant stay, just a bit too expensive for just two nights (1200 euro for two rooms and dinner for seven).

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rygaards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    115
    36
    16
    4
See reviews for
47
96
7
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
415 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 277 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Blooming Hotel is a place that’s so self-consciously wacky and creative that you can’t help thinking it wouldn’t hurt if they toned it all down a bit. From the stripy carpets in the meeting rooms, to the gravel beds in the bar and the stuffed ball pouffes in reception, it’s not so much a visual feast as a visual assault.

After staying for two days I was still not entirely sure what the Blooming was supposed to be. It was hosting a lot of business meetings and workshops, had a large number of meeting rooms, and the meal service seemed to be set up to serve large and mid-sized groups. Our bedrooms were decidedly ‘minimalist’ in their facilities, rather more like student accommodation than a place you’d want to spend your holidays. I just can’t imagine Mr and Mrs Dutch Tourist putting their kids and their buckets and spades in the car and going to the Blooming to spend their holidays surrounded by loudly braying execs being creative and stomping around the breakout rooms.

We arrived around 1 pm on the Monday and went straight for lunch. The lunch room offers a pretty spectacular hot and cold buffet but it’s an extraordinarily loud place to be.

Our meeting room was very large and had lots of natural light with big windows and views over the woods. The temperature was good, the facilities we’d asked for were all provided and food and drink kept appearing throughout our stay. For our breaks there was a room next door with an excellent coffee machine, on tap scalding hot water for teas and plenty of different teas and herbal infusions all provided.

For an evening group activity we had something called ‘Bubbles and Bites’ which was sparkling wine testing with oysters and a chance to make our own sushi.

Everything else about the hotel had been pretty good but my room was really poor and disappointing. Looking at the hotel’s website afterwards, I learned that they have 124 rooms classified into NINE different types. I’m sorry but that’s just plain ridiculous. These range from the tiniest – the so-called ‘just me room’ for single occupancy up to two enormous suites. I would guess that ours were either ‘small rooms’ or ‘basic rooms’. Either way they were small and basic and I felt like I’d been put in a slightly upmarket student room. For just one night it was manageable but I really would have hated to be there much longer. There was really no space for anything with the TV, room safe, pull out desk, and a book shelf full of books (in Dutch) all squeezed into a unit in the corner. I could find no cupboard or anywhere to hang anything so it’s good that I was able to live straight out of my suitcase. The bed – despite being a bit small – was exceedingly comfortable which was a nice surprise.

The bathroom was tiny but well presented with a grey stone sink that you’d never want to have in your home because it’s utterly impractical and you’d have to spend half your life trying to keep it clean. The shower had a rain-shower head but the power wasn’t really up to the challenge of delivering the monsoon experience.

Despite the really good mattress and bedding, I didn’t sleep especially well because the noise from both outside and from the corridor was really annoying, with lots of people stomping around at the end of the evening and first thing in the morning.

In summary, the meeting room was good, the food was excellent and the staff were friendly and helpful, but if you are there for more than a night or two, I’d strongly advise to check really carefully what you’re getting for the different room types. If you’re in one of the ‘just me’, small or basic rooms, you’ll get an experience that’s more ‘youth hostel’ than luxury hotel. As a venue for training or off-site meetings, it’s well equipped but it’s hard to get my head round the idea of this place as a holiday venue. I’d also recommend to only consider it if you’ve got your own transport and can get out and about a bit. A taxi to or from the station will cost you about €20 each way.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Koshkha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aquitaine, France
Level Contributor
429 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

Rooms were fairly standard and uninspiring but were clean and comfortable. Big bed with a good selection of pillows and a decent bathroom with a great overhead shower, though I do prefer a bar of soap to bath gel, and there were no tissues ... unusual these days.
Free wifi which worked well, and location is quiet and rural.
Very good breakfasts in first floor restaurant, though there is alsogood coffee and biscuits available in the lobby area for those in a hurry.
Staff were friendly and helpful.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank LesH211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

Big hotel visited by families, friends, couples and colleagues. Well equiped for all these kinds of guests. Good concept to be found throughout all details: breakfast from local foods, hotel room with minimal interior, but high Quality bed - the main thing, reading table with inspiring books, inspiring and welcoming phrases inside and around hotel. Attentive staff

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TessaVeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limmen
Level Contributor
237 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

After hearing great stories about this hotel, I arrived with high hopes for my two day business meeting. Found the rooms to be a bit standard. Was expecting a bit more design. Meetingrooms were standard too, allthough the kitchen with a Smeg fridge was nice. The best part of the meeting was the food. I was told that the hotel grows it's on food and all natural. This was a real treat !

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Milo1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

I organized a team meeting of 2 days in this hotel.
I was very pleased with the quiet and peaceful location surrounded by nature and the aesthetics of the hotel are modern and clean. Very interesting the lobby and restaurant.
The meeting room was a little disappointing. It was nothing too special and very standard.
The food at the restaurant was good but at lunch it was too busy and messy since it is a buffet kind of lunch.
The rooms were clean and had a nice view of the outside nature. It was clean and room not noisy at all.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Juliana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We have now stayed at The Blooming on 4 separate occasions.
We usually stay as part of a long cycling trip around NL.
The weekend just gone, was exactly the same, but this time we brought 2 friends from the UK with us. We had tried not raise expectations too high, as we didn’t want to rave about how lovely it all was and then be let down with typical Dutch poor service, but we needn’t have worried…. The Blooming was, as always, beautiful, friendly, comfortable, fun and restaurant Vigor was delicious!
As I’m so used to being let down by hotels and restaurants in NL, I had emailed and called lots of times to ensure that everything I’d booked for our friends and ourselves was right – I must have been such a nuisance – but the staff were charming and efficient, as always.
Checking in was smooth, everything we had requested was done to perfection and we could just start on the serious business of relaxing and making the most of the wonderful facilities!
We enjoyed cocktails by the water, a most delicious meal in Vigor and late night drinks and laughter in the bar. The breakfasts (as always) were fabulous and plentiful (and watching the territorial behaviour around the buffet stations as entertaining as ever!) and we made good use of the pool, jacuzzi and sauna….. heaven!
The following day was spent at Jongens beach-club – which is really good and relaxed and more sun-downers at the hotel before cycling in to beautiful Bergen (definitely our favourite place in NL) for dinner.
We never want to leave The Blooming and always spend the next few days feeling gloomy because it’s over – but we are more motivated than ever to make sure we are back again soon.
The trip was the best yet and I cannot recommend the hotel highly enough.
We had The Blooming Way offer, which included a meal (no “cheap options” in terms of the menu – it was all of the highest standard and truly delicious), a cocktail (no restrictive cocktail lists only offering naff watered-down boring drinks – we could have whatever we wanted!) and 2 nights b&b for around 125 euros per person. That is an excellent deal. No wonder the hotel was fully booked.
Of course we spent much more money on extras – but didn’t regret a cent – all money very well spent.
Thank you, thank you, thank you to the best hotel in NL – Can’t wait to come back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bergen
0.7 mi away
Hotel Heerlijkheid Bergen
0.8 mi away
Parkhotel Bergen
Parkhotel Bergen
#5 of 8 in Bergen
3.5 of 5 stars 43 reviews
5.3 mi away
Strandhotel Golfzang
Strandhotel Golfzang
#1 of 9 in Egmond aan Zee
4.5 of 5 stars 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Restaurant Hotel Merlet
0.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Breeburg
Hotel Villa Breeburg
#4 of 8 in Bergen
3.5 of 5 stars 75 reviews
1.8 mi away
Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant Jan van Scorel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blooming Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blooming Hotel

Property: Blooming Hotel
Address: Duinweg 5, 1861 GL Bergen, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Bergen
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Bergen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blooming Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com and Orbitz so you can book your Blooming Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing