We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Nice surroundings, poor management.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Blooming Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Blooming Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Bergen
Certificate of Excellence
Europe
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice surroundings, poor management.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Located in a forest, in the neighborhood of a delightfull small Dutch town, it looks like an idylic location.
However, after check-in, management flaws just start to surface.First room I was checked in (1204), was smelling damp really bad. I asked to change and with some reluctance I was given another one (1304). The smell here was OK, but it was more than obvious that the cleaning personnel did not do their job properly. The window glass was very dirty, there was also sand on the interior. I am also posting some pictures, hoping the management of the hotel will see this and hopefully fix it.
In general the room's furniture and amenities looked worn and out-of-date. Same for the hall, elevator, etc.
The bed and the sheets were all right, excellent quality as usual in Holland, therefore the sleep was good.
There is a new wing of the hotel, I could not get a room there but I suppose the aspect substantially better. I would advise any future travelers to ask for a room there.
Al in all, average, not to avoid, but also not to specially recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tricks_4_trips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    117
    36
    16
    4
See reviews for
47
96
7
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

For our family of four a weekend at Blooming is the perfect way to recover from hectic every day life.
Its luxurious without being posh, staff are super friendly to children and grown ups alike. Food is lovely and so are the rooms. The surroundings are tranquil and to top it all (according to our children) there is a pool!
It doesn't come cheap but what else could one wish for?

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natasja_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delft
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We had 2 nights at blooming and really enjoyed it. I booked a package including bicycle hire, a picnic package and 1 evening meal.

The room, setting, food and people were lovely. The hotel is set in the dunes which is very tranquil but is really near beautiful Bergen, and also Alkmaar and of course the beach. We had a room far away from the noiser guests (not sure if the hotel did that on purpose - if so - thank you!)

Bergen is wonderful - we loved it.

There were a couple of minor points though:

- there is no shower cap in the room and none to be found in the whole hotel which is a problem for a woman with long hair who wants to use the rain shower without getting her hair wet.

- there was also an issue about what exactly was included in the dinner part of the arrangement we had booked, but this was dealt with well by staff.

- breakfast was very busy every morning but was delicious.

- the bicycle included in the package only had pedal brakes a little scary for non-Dutch people!

I would definitely recommend blooming for a lovely weekend away.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the end of a corridor so you don't hear everyone (including the many 'mini...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ykemichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Beautiful hotel that is the best of both worlds- old building with modern updates and amenities. The staff was very nice, helpful and hospitable. Quality European breakfast buffet (with a cool coffee machine), relaxing pool with really beautiful lights that rotate color (relaxing and meditative effect), hot tob, sauna, clean rooms and fantastic bar/lounge service during the day (perfect for a snack on any of the outdoor tables in the sun). The hotel is not "perfect" as there are scrapes on the walls from the turndown service cart, but the overall feel, service, and friendliness of the staff makes up for it. Jill at the front desk was very helpful to me, especially as a foreigner who did not know the language. There were many visitors from all over the Netherlands, both families and romantic couples and even a visiting soccer team! Easy bike rentals as well. Made my trip to visit my son enjoyable and stress free.

Room Tip: Get to breakfast early as it gets crowded! When we were there at 7:30 it was much easier to get to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank berniegehret2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

And all pretty much good ways. Friendly staff, somewhat young and inexperienced in some ways but eager to please. I had one of the tiny single rooms and while small, it was what I needed and it was VERY quiet. The view out the window was the woods. Kicky decor, kinda kitschy but fun. Breakfast was sufficient. I had one dinner and it was good, although service was lacking., The manager made up for it by buying a drink, and he said he'd counsel the server. Not too difficult to find if you have GPS.

The sauna, pool and whirlpool were all clean and functioning. The internet was free and worked very well throughout the property.

This is a BUSY meeting-type hotel so I'm not sure if you want solitude and quiet it's for you. Children-friendly, FYI.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CurtEastPoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

It was located at a place rather difficult to access. The hotel was not aesthetic nor the facilities worth special mention. The rooms were fine, but the lighting rather poor. The swimming pool was quite nice. The food was fine but took rather a long time to be prepared. I stayed there for five days and honestly, I was glad when the next business meeting was moved to another location. The hotel is passable as a business hotel, but for leisure, I would not enjoy it one bit.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Westlandgracht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Blooming hotel on a Saturday. It was really busy in the hotel, but the staff was efficient, quick and super friendly. The lobby of the hotel is very welcoming and the coffee and tea they serve are a real treat!
Our room was spacious, light and clean. The bathroom was beautiful and had an an enormous bathtub. The only minor remark we could think of was that the TV was small compared to the size of the room.
Although it was a bit crowded during Sunday morning breakfast there was everything your heart could desire. My boyfriend especially enjoyed the freshly baked waffles!
We will definitely return to this lovely hotel!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Marloes2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bergen
0.7 mi away
Hotel Heerlijkheid Bergen
5.3 mi away
Strandhotel Golfzang
Strandhotel Golfzang
#1 of 9 in Egmond aan Zee
4.5 of 5 stars 94 reviews
0.8 mi away
Parkhotel Bergen
Parkhotel Bergen
#5 of 8 in Bergen
3.5 of 5 stars 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Restaurant Hotel Merlet
0.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Breeburg
Hotel Villa Breeburg
#4 of 8 in Bergen
3.5 of 5 stars 75 reviews
1.8 mi away
Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant Jan van Scorel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blooming Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blooming Hotel

Property: Blooming Hotel
Address: Duinweg 5, 1861 GL Bergen, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Bergen
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Bergen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blooming Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Blooming Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing