We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Miles from Anywhere” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kokkedal Slot

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kokkedal Slot
Harwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
196 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Miles from Anywhere”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

This was the only hotel our corporate booking system could find in the vicinity of Aalborg but it is miles away. Arrived fairly late in the evening and restaurant was closed so make sure you eat elsewhere if arriving late. Room was adequate with the feature of infra red detector on the bathroom light. Whilst a good idea the downside is that the extractor fan runs for about 15 minutes after making a visit. If you are a light sleeper it could mean you spend hours awake listening to others making night time comfort breaks and waiting for the fan to switch off. Breakfast OK with good coffee and pastries plus standard continental fare.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    34
    17
    13
    5
See reviews for
13
62
Solo
0
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Level Contributor
127 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

I fell in love with the property at first sight... Castle was surrounded by lush greens all around.. I later realised that it was a golf course..lush green woods on other side...a walking distance to sea side...it was fantastic...! Though old Castle property offered all modern amenities. Room was good.. bathroom was small though... beds were really tiny..no tea /coffee machines in rooms but all that was overpowered by the history of the place and scenic green surroundings..!! The staff was extremely helpful..! The restaurant is one of the best.. served lovely dinner and breakfast.. I saw one guest requesting pink pigeon.. which was immediately met by chef...There are interesting ghost stories around the castle... looked like deliberately created to just arouse curiocity but gentle enough not to scare the tourists away...!!! The castle has been converted to hotel some 20 years ago...this is definate reco for asian tourist who want to experience scenic europe...

Room Tip: all rooms are good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Samjo24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

Definetly an interesting place to spend a night. And old castle complete with moat and tower and everything.

The staff received us friendly and we where quickly checked in. The room was big and spacious. Decorated as you would expect in a castle. Huge furniture with lavish decorations etc. Very cool. Around the caste is forrest and we took af nice walk (accompanied by the castle owners cute cats). In the morning we had (a very decent) breakfast in the castle yard.

Only "draw backs" seem to be the location, the restaurant and the bathrooms:

1. You only go here, if you are determined to stay at a castle. There is not much else to do around the castle.
2. The restaurant, even though the service was very friendly, the room it self was very athmospheric, still somehow lacks something. The food was good (we had 3 courses), but the main course was a bit "ordinary" and the house wine was not good (they have good wine in the card, though). We could not agree around the table, if the dessert was really good - or kind'a boring.
3. The bathrooms in the rooms are in dire need of a renovation. It works, it is probably clean - but it looks sad. Simply because it is old.

But overall an interesting, fun and positive experience. Definetly worth trying. It is more questionable if it is worth returning. Maybe just at another castle...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank THR298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

The staff went our of their way to meet my individual needs and truly help make my stay enjoyable. The rooms are excellently designed and have truly thought about the needs of the business traveller, down to situation of plug sockets next to the spacious desk, a simple thing but one many business travelers will recognise as a challenge when working remotely from the office in hotels. The food was amazing, wine excellent, and dining room and bar area well designed and comfortable. Wld happily stay again and bring my team for business meetings and offsites

Room Tip: Sadly no gym or fitness centre
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jude S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Level Contributor
80 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2011

Kokkedal Castle is a very nice place for a weekend getaway. It is beautifully located on a hill with views over the surrounding araea. The magnificent north sea coast is only a 20 minute drive away. The castle goes back more than 500 years so it is a very historic place. There are supposed to be several ghosts at the castle, but unfortunately we did not meet any of them. The castle was turned into a hotel about 20 years ago. The rooms are quite nice but the bathroms are small. We had only booked dinner on the first night of our stay but we found the dinner excellent so we had dinner there also on the second night. Our positive impression was certainly influenced by the magnificent weather we had all weekend.

Room Tip: Go for a room in the main bulding.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank frch-Denmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brovst
7.4 mi away
Klitrosen Hotel & Restaurant
Klitrosen Hotel & Restaurant
#3 of 4 in Fjerritslev
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
16.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Scheelsminde
11.8 mi away
Store Restrup Manor House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.0 mi away
Vraa Slotshotel
Vraa Slotshotel
#1 of 1 in Tylstrup
3.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
5.5 mi away
Springbakgaard B&B
Springbakgaard B&B
#1 of 3 in Nibe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
8.2 mi away
Fjerritslev Kro
Fjerritslev Kro
#1 of 11 in Fjerritslev
4.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kokkedal Slot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kokkedal Slot

Property: Kokkedal Slot
Address: Kokkedalsvej 17, Brovst 9460, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Jutland > North Jutland > Jammerbugt Municipality > Brovst
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Brovst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kokkedal Slot 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Kokkedal Slot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kokkedal Slot Denmark/Brovst

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing