We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Great Day Out”

The Old Theatre Deli
Ranked #6 of 29 Restaurants in Southwell
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A Great Day Out”
Reviewed May 15, 2014

My daughter and I visited this Cafe on a day out .We called in for coffee and tea cakes in the morning and were so impressed went back later for lunch.On both accasions it was very busy but plenty of room upstairs and service was prompt. We liked the decor and the atmosphere was good.They do a wonderful selection of cakes but didnt have the room in our tums ,so will be going back. Just one suggestion as we left we met an old lady who lived local. She couldnt find a seat downstairs and was unable to manage the stairs so had to leave.Perhaps one table downstairs could be set aside for the less able at very busy times .

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wendy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    63
    22
    14
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Just what Southwell needs”
Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

Having lived in Southwell I always thought prior to this deli opening there was a distinct lack of quality cafés! This place is lovely - very quaint, nice relaxed atmosphere and great cakes! Never had lunch here so can't comment on that. All I would say is often very busy so
difficult to find a seat!

Helpful?
1 Thank Mustley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The deli”
Reviewed May 9, 2014

We came here for lunch one day. Oh dear the service was terrible and the staff were so rude to me and my partner. Wouldn't come here again in a million years. One of the worst cafés in Southwell

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank S0uthwell_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleethorpes
Level Contributor
171 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Ok, but a little over priced”
Reviewed April 19, 2014

We visited as a party of seven. The other couple chose the venue for us, and it perhaps a bit more "up market" then the types of places we'd normally lunch at.
The place apparently has a lot of history and was once a Theatre (the stage can be seen upstairs). If you like plain food, don't come here!
If you are more adventurous "do" come here. The menu is extensive, and has lots of interesting dishes, along with a wide range of sandwiches. From memory many of the main meals are around £9 to £10, with sandwiches around £5 to £6 each (with a little side salad.) I cant review all 7 meals, but will for mine and my wife's.
I had a salami, cheese and rocket sandwich sandwich. The bread was nice but very thick! I'd have preferred a bit more filling, and a little thinner bread to be honest.
My wife had a roast pork and avocado sandwich. She said she enjoyed it. We had chips on the side (as extras). There is a seating area outside, and i think inside was over at least two floors.
We had a two year old with us, and staff were happy to provide him with a smaller version of an adults meal. Also I should add that sandwiches were available on a choice of types of bread

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank stevep3919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“cosy cafe”
Reviewed April 18, 2014

we called here just for drinks - not many tables but service was good - the table had a 'reserved' board on it for 12noon but as we were only having drinks we were told it was OK at 11.20

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 209967Bett79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Theatre Deli also viewed

Southwell, Newark-on-Trent
Southwell, Newark-on-Trent
 
Southwell, Newark-on-Trent
Southwell, Newark-on-Trent
 

Been to The Old Theatre Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing