We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Hidden Gem!”

The Old Theatre Deli
Ranked #5 of 29 Restaurants in Southwell
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
“A Hidden Gem!”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

I met with friends in Southwell last Saturday (13th) and discovered The Old Theatre Deli for the first time. We all agreed that it really is a hidden gem in a lovely town. Although we had to wait a few minutes for a table we didnt mind as the full tables was a sign of good things to come. We each had a coffee whilst browsing a surprisingly broad range of choices from the menu. Our food arrived after a short wait and went down an absolute treat! Our only problem was that good food meant we had to try the cakes and again they did not disappoint...homemade and delicious! We left with smiles on our faces and a feeling of that satisfaction you can only get from a good lunch.
Overall we couldnt find fault and would recommend the deli to anyone and if you have to wait for a table then DO!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jamie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    62
    22
    14
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
41 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Saturday Lunchtime Disaster”
Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

We have been to this place before and really enjoyed the experience but this time was very disappointing. A table outside in the sun was fine, and our order was easily placed. That is the positive.

Simple Americano coffee together with a Wensleydale sandwich with avacodo on olive bread surely would not be too challenging one would have thought, how wrong can one be. The coffee arrived, well half a cup did. When asked to provide a full cup, the waitress brought hot water in a tea cup to make up for the missing coffee. A second more firm but polite request eventually elicited two cups of average coffee.

15 minutes later the sandwich arrived. Processed Wensleydale with APRICOTS er not as advertised. No avocado meant it had to go back. It returned with a bowl of guacamole on the side. This was salty, hot and just plain wrong.

We will not be returning I am afraid. Anecdotally we noticed a number of other diners found the need to complain or return food whilst we were eating.

Expensive yes, good er hell no, will we return. Not on your nelly.

This place will survive because the neighbourhood is affluent but they really need to buck their ideas up

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank dunali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“excellent food”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Varied menu and food was very good. The tables are very small and close together with some difficulty getting in and out of seats. The door does not have a self closer on it so every time anyone left a waitress or customer had to close the door and as we were seated in front of the door it was very draughty.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrea E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
636 reviews
384 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
“Cosy cafe in a lovely Town”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Met a friend here for lunch. There are a limited number of tables so we popped in and booked ahead which ensured that we were not kept waiting. There is a mouthwatering menu from which we chose the sharing platter at around £12(please see attached photo). It came well presented and was scrumptious. One minor point - the entrance door needs a handle on the outside as customers leaving are unable to shut the door, not good on a bitter April day.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RogerfromTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely deli”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Been on a few occasions while out shopping in Southwell. Lovely to pop in for a coffee and lunch. Very child friendly and the homemade cakes are amazing. Very friendly and helpful staff a real treat while out and about.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Juliechapman22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Theatre Deli also viewed

Southwell, Newark-on-Trent
Southwell, Newark-on-Trent
 
Southwell, Newark-on-Trent
Southwell, Newark-on-Trent
 
Southwell, Newark-on-Trent
Southwell, Newark-on-Trent
 

Been to The Old Theatre Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing