We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Much more than a coffee shop; would still be full at 4 times the size!!”

The Old Theatre Deli
Ranked #5 of 29 Restaurants in Southwell
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Much more than a coffee shop; would still be full at 4 times the size!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

I love my coffee shops and this is truly a Top 5 venue. The Victory Breakfast is up there with the best and the Flat White shows they know coffee as well as food. As for the cakes, pastries, etc? Not for those on a diet (my father's still being told off by my mother!!). Try it - especially at Christmas.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    62
    22
    14
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
“Without Compare”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

I am a regular traveller to Southwell and make the Old Theatre Deli was mu first stop. You are guarranteed a warm welcome, a wonderful choice of food (large selection from the rustic, vegetarian, to the light), great snacks (panninis) or deserts (cakes, truffles, etc). I habe never had anything less than a great experience there and cannot recommend it enough. The difference between this and other establishments? The staff try THAT BIT harder with everything.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
235 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“Excellent service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

Despite being a cool day we sat outside (only because inside was full) - the staff were providing blankets and hot water bottles for those who wanted them. The service here is very friendly and helpful; nice coffee and an excellent selection of home made cakes including a very tasty bread & butter pudding and unusual ginger cake (slightly gooey in the middle). The cheese scones were very good - always sign of a good cafe. This place is definitely what Southwell needs and I would recommend it to anyone visiting.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kevin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
Level Contributor
132 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Lovely Party”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

We went there for a celebration with friends. We were in a function room upstairs. The food was quite simple, jacket potatoes with chilli or curry and chocolate brownies with strawberries. But it was all delicious and nicely presented.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank critiquenottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Wedding :-)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

We went to a friends wedding here on Monday in the upstairs room having never been before - gorgeous small and intimate place!

Staff were really friendly and the cakes that they made for the wedding - brownies and flapjacks were delicious!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank foxychar65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Theatre Deli also viewed

Southwell, Newark-on-Trent
Southwell, Newark-on-Trent
 
Southwell, Newark-on-Trent
Southwell, Newark-on-Trent
 

Been to The Old Theatre Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing