We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food, great ambience”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Parisienne

La Parisienne
Ranked #10 of 29 Restaurants in Southwell
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $22
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Southwell
Level Contributor
84 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Excellent food, great ambience”
Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

The menu isn't extensive but the food is absolutely delicious. Try the tartiflette, fish cakes or tagine. Wonderful. Lovely owners too who take very good care of the customers. Bookings preferable as the restaurant is small. We will be back!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank AlyLace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    27
    7
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newark upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great food and great night”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

I'd never heard of this place until last week when I was invited to a 60 birthday party being held here together with my wife. The whole place was booked by our party and a fabulous evening was had by all.

In short, the food was lovely, I spent much time with the owner (he even treated me to a lovely brandy, on the house.

The food was great, really tasty. The chicken was moist, the lamb, falling off the bone, the salads were crisp and fresh and fresh too.

We didnt pay for the meal as this was a special treat by the birthday girl but I will definately return. No complaints.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Find”
Reviewed December 4, 2012

We were entertaining friends at the weekend and wanted to show them around Southwell.
We looked at the reviews of this restaurant on tripadvisor and can we say that everything said in the reviews were accurate. The staff was very welcoming, the food was well priced and we felt we had a few hours in Paris !!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Garrystone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southwell,, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Little Oasis of France & North Africa”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

My wife & I have dined and lunched on a number of occasions at this small, intimate and friendly restaurant. We have always found the food to be excellent, whether it be Cassoulet , slow roasted Lamb shank, one of the several Tagines or any of the other items on the menu and daily specials list. The food is prepared by the owner Noel and she excels in preparing her native North African cuisine as well as French dishes. Husband Steve sees to front of house, and the serving staff are most attentive and friendly. Portions are generous, and La Parisienne provides a change from the often mundane food one encounters these days. Fully reccomend it, and it is excellent value for money. Friday and Saturday evenings especially require prior reservation to be sure of a table, as covers are limited.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southwell Nottinghamshire
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“French Moroccan”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

It doesn't matter whether you go for Lunch or Dinner you will always get a great welcome by Steve and Noelle. Excellent food in this small restaurant in Southwell . Noelles cooking is magical with changes every week. Great value.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Roger M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Parisienne also viewed

Southwell, Newark-on-Trent
Southwell, Newark-on-Trent
 
Southwell, Newark-on-Trent
Southwell, Newark-on-Trent
 

Been to La Parisienne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing