We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value pub near Southwell”
Review of The Full Moon

The Full Moon
Ranked #9 of 29 Restaurants in Southwell
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $17
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The New menu at The Full Moon incorporates fresh local produce and original recipes with a unique flare for presentation and good honest cooking. The dishes are stylish and modern with classic taste. Eye catching starters and hearty mains. Try the new experience now.
Towcester
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good value pub near Southwell”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We've eaten here a few times - somewhere with good food that we can take our labrador.

The fire is usually lit in the dining room - always a welcomin g sight. The menu has specials, the prices are reasonable and it's a comfortable place to eat. The welcome is variable though, which is difficult to understand - if that were reliably cheerier it would be top notch.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank PoppyTowcester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    67
    26
    22
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Food & Real Ales”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

A good old county inn location and setting, with a modern and tasteful interior. We got ourselves a table to have lunch with friends, booked especially to be next to the fire, and closer to the specials board. Very comfortable, lots of beams and interesting parts to this pub. Too cold to explore outside, but car parking is ample. Good range of real ales. The food is really very good, and plenty of it and reasonably priced too. I'd personally recommend the chicken liver and bacon pate, wonderful meaty texture and flavour. Very good lasange, but slighty too much chilli in it for our tastes. We didn't have room for desserts, (so didn't look) but the expresso coffee was good and strong (accompanied by a tasty homemade cookie, a nice touch this). We'll be visiting again soon.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 124Jean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“'' NOT DAZZLED''”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

The pub has a great atmosphere - open fire - great staff and some excellent beers.

The meal however was disappointing.

Tasteless olives that had come straight from the fridge, the main meal of belly of pork with red cabbage and bubble and squeak, the best bit was the B&S, the rest left me underwhelmed. The pork belly had far too much fat on it, cooked the modern way with no crisp rind - so not great.

So overall having spent over an hour getting there through country lanes on a cold dark night I came away feeling very ''cheerless''.

Just to mention again, the service was excellent with friendly staff who aimed to please.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rosslareharbour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing wedding”
Reviewed July 24, 2012

This country inn was the venue for our wedding, we had the most perfect day possible. Rebecca and her team made sure everything was planned to perfection with out making it hard work and sophie made the day its self perfect nothing was too much trouble. All our guests could praise the food highly enough some returning the following weekend for the sunday roast !! ( book first as its so good there really busy) This pub is fantastic for families and is super family friendly, we've also been there for a romantic meal.
We cant thank them enough and if your planning to get married this is the place for a small but amazing wedding.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, UK
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Tasteless fish and chips”
Reviewed July 24, 2012

We found The Full Moon from looking on the Michelin website. No question this is a lovely pub tucked away in pleasant Nottinghamshire countryside. Beamed ceilings, fireplaces, nice area at the back for sitting outside in the company of the pub's ducks. We both had fish & chips and agreed they were quite tasteless, which was very disappointing as they appear to have a reputation for this dish. The minted pea puree that came with it was vile.

Looking back at the recent reviews of this place on TA tasteless food does seem to be a common theme.

Now having said this you'd think it odd if I said we'd go back, but they have an interesting menu, the service was prompt and friendly, and they have a good selection of hand-pulled beers.

But you just get the feeling that they are trading too much on awards and Michelin listings, without delivering the goods. Maybe the well-heeled locals don't notice the amount of the bill, but £12 for fish and chips is a lot, even when they are first rate.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank broads22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Full Moon also viewed

Southwell, Newark-on-Trent
Southwell, Newark-on-Trent
 
Southwell, Newark-on-Trent
 

Been to The Full Moon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing