We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely spot”
Review of Polgreen

Polgreen
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Trelowth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Polgreen
Ranked #1 of 1 Trelowth B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We spent an excellent two days here. Annabel & Jean are excellent hosts. The décor is tasteful and relaxing and the cooked breakfast is really good. There was no difficulty in coping with food allergies, they proved both knowledgeable and thoughtful. The room was spacious, comfortable and wonderfully quiet. Definitely recommend this as a really nice place to stay is in the St Austell area, and if you happen to be very tall the beds are not just comfy but also long enough in our room!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (41)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 41 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2013

Excellent country B&B, with welcoming and friendly hosts. Only a short distance from the Eden Project, The hidden Gardens of Heligan and Mevagissey (with its great ferry to Fowey), Polgreen is ideally sited as a base for a holiday.
Hosts are knoweldgable about the area, and nothing is too much trouble - fresh milk for tea in room for example. Breakfast is not to be missed as it is excellent, from local produce - or grown in their garden.
Highly reccomended.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

You know how sometimes you return to a place and are disappointed? Well not at Polgreen! We received a warm welcome at the door from Annabel and Jean after our 6 hour journey (traffic was awful). We settled into our room with a cup of tea and looked forward to the morning and tucking into breakfast. We woke after a very peaceful night in our extremely comforfotable bed, to sunshine and the sound of sheep in the distance and birds in the garden. Breakfast was as good as we remebered and we indulged ourselves with fruit salad and fruit juice followed by full English (the bacon is the best I have ever tasted), toast and tea, which set us up for a day at Heligan. When we returned from Heligan everybody was out so I settled on the patio with my book. Jean and Annabel returned and offerred me a cup of tea, which was presented with chocolate chip cookies (yummy). Jean came and sat down with me and we chatted for a while before I had to go and get ready for our evening at the Polgooth Inn.
Our stay at Polgreen was 3 nights and the time flew by. We feel so comfortable here and cannot recommend this guest house highly enough. The location is ideal for visiting all attractions in Cornwall. Well done to you both, you have a winning formula and we look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EnlightenedHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

A Fabulous welcome awaits the visitor to "Polgreen". Annabel & Jean are superb hosts and nothing is too much trouble for them. The setting is fabulous. The breakfast is 1st class and starts with fruit juice, fresh fruit, cereals and yogurt, followed by "Full English", cooked beautifully. The only aspect that held "Polgreen" back from getting 5 "stars" from us was the room, - we did not have the "superking" size bedroom. Our room was beautiful decorated, but its facilities were a bit too "snug".
However, "Polgreen" is a great centre to visit "Heligan", "Eden", Lanhydrock and as well as Charlestown, Fowey, and Gorran Haven. All very charming villages.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eric t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Excellent B&B with lovely country views, excellent cooked breakfast with cereals , fresh fruit and yoghurt to start and toast to follow. The two owners were very welcoming and pleasant throughout our stay. Nothing was too much trouble and plenty of fresh milk for tea or coffee ect in the bedrooms! Very cosy with three bedrooms all of which overlook the garden with very good views across the hills. Will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: All three room overlook the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cliff J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Two nights in this lovely bed and breakfast with Annabel and Jean superb hosts. Very comfortable superking size bed, good size room with views over the garden and the countryside beyond and with a spacious en-suite shower room, larger than many four star hotels. First class breakfast, wonderfully cooked. Would stay again when in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ToadHampshire_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Stayed two nights at Polgreen, and were delighted to find a beautifully clean, light, bright spacious room with superking size bed. The hosts Annabel and Jean could not do enough for us, (chilling tins of G&T and giving us glasses with ice and lemon! to say the least) breakfast was delicious and they gave excellent recommendations for both places to eat, and places to visit. The garden and grounds are delightful, with views from the bedroom window. Superb. From there we visited Lost gardens of heligan and Lanhydrock, both stunning - but wear sensible shoes and be fairly fit as long days. Will definitely return when in the area.

Room Tip: All facing garden, but we loved our superking size room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amandafrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Polgreen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Polgreen

Address: Trelowth, St Austell PL26 7DZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell > Trelowth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Trelowth
Price Range: $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located midway between the Eden Project and the Lost Gardens of Heligan, Polgreen is a delightful country base for holidays and short breaks in South Cornwall. Set in beautiful gardens with extensive views, Polgreen offers stylish accommodation in peaceful surroundings and is only ten minutes from the beach. The property offers three beautiful en suite rooms, with garden and countryside views, digital TV and tea & coffee-making facilities. There is ample private parking and easy access from the A390, and the Polgooth Inn and local shops are only a short walk away. Polgreen offers full English and continental breakfasts (locally sourced ingredients are used wherever possible), served in the garden room. Afternoon teas and BBQ's are often available during the summer. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing