We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great welcome” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Forest Manor Boutique Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Forest Manor Boutique Guest House
Ranked #3 of 22 La-Lucia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
2 reviews
“Great welcome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

Forest Manor is well located, with excellent rooms and facilities for a very reasonable price. Linda the manager is very friendly and bent over backwards to accommodate our every request. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brett D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    26
    10
    0
    2
See reviews for
22
51
12
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sandtom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

I have stayed in plenty awesome guest houses but not one quite like Forest Manor. This place is definitely a cut above the rest. True 5 star. The enthusiasm of the staff, the attention to detail of the premises and the friendly nature of the whole team. To be honest, after a few hours, it starts to feel like a new but better home for you. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and will be back plenty of times. Thank you guys.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kundishora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edenvale, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

Forest Manor is the most exquisit boutique guest house or any form of accommodation I have
been so fortunate to experience.

Every corner of the breathtaking property is considered and immaculate. It feels absolutely brand new and the pictures on their website are spot on in reality. Unlike many establishments these days.

4 min drive to Umhlanga, literally.

And meeting Linda who was so very accommodating actually added to how unforgettable this simple weekend away turned out to be.

Heartsore when we left.
Thank you.
Will be back soon.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nic K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

Forest Manor Guest house : What a wonderful wonderful guesthouse, the ambiance is magical and the decor is beautiful and inviting !!! My room overlooked the pool area and lovely garden. The suite was immaculate, clean and the furnishings, linen and decor all above 5 star quality ! The breakfast was outstanding , a good variety of hot and cold choices , a spread that will keep you going all day ! The Guesthouse arranged day tours for me to explore Durban and its highlights, this was all an amazing adventure. I felt at home, but a very luxurious home, thank you once again to Linda and her staff for a lovely stay, I will be back next year !!!

Room Tip: Suites that will suit everyones pocket !
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Renestevanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2012

Listen, those who want private, modern, easy to access, close to beach place to stay - this is it! - Forest Manor in La Lucia (Umhlanga). People of diffrent tastes will find this place appealing. It is a calm, spacy, contemporary guest house where you feel like home. It is five star and, trust me, this is a very good combination of price and quality. Linda, thank you for making our stay so pleasant!

Room Tip: All rooms are good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anton K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sendai, Japan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2012

I stayed at Forest Manor for about a week in December 2011.
The entire house, the room that I stayed was beautiful, tidy,
clean, very modern and well-equipped (including WIFI).

I can hardly thank too much Linda and her staff as well as
her friends for providing such excellent services that made
me feel completely relaxed and at home.

I thank YOU, Linda!

If I ever get another chance to visit Durban, I will most
definitely return to Forest Manor.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank *J*Rollo_Tomasi*J*
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannebsurg
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2012

We stayed at Forest Manor for one week in December and absolutely loved it!
The house is beautiful and is more like a boutique hotel than a guest house.
Linda was amazing to us and the relaxed vibe was great and really added to our holiday!
Rooms are comfortable and modern and the extra touches like the bottles of water next to our bed every night were very welcome.
We loved sitting outside on the terrace at night and chatting to Linda and the other guests. We also loved chilling by the pool in the day!
Thanks again to the team for a fantastic holiday:)

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank linkyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La-Lucia
1.7 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,652 reviews
1.0 mi away
Teremok Marine
Teremok Marine
#1 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
5.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
1.7 mi away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#4 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
4.5 of 5 bubbles 954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban ...
#10 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
4.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
0.6 mi away
Burnham House B&B
Burnham House B&B
#2 of 22 in La-Lucia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
0.4 mi away
LaLuxe B&B
LaLuxe B&B
#1 of 22 in La-Lucia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forest Manor Boutique Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Manor Boutique Guest House

Property: Forest Manor Boutique Guest House
Address: 62 Forest Drive, La-Lucia 4051, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > La-Lucia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in La-Lucia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Forest Manor Boutique Guest House 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Forest Manor is an luxuriously appointed and tastefully furnished contemporary 5 star boutique guest house, situated less than 200m from the beach and in close proximity to La Lucia Shopping Mall, Virgin Active gym, La Lucia Ridge Office Parks, Gateway Shopping Centre and the Umhlanga Hospital. It is also close to some of the top class golf courses and is 20 minutes away from the Moses Mabhida World Cup Stadium, the ICC and the new King Shaka International Airport. This sophisticated establishment portrays a touch of stylish attention to detail and is built around the magnificent Milkwood tree set in a central atrium. We boast a lavish pool area overlooking the designer built koi pond. The perfect setting for a delicious breakfast, which is included in our tariff, served alfresco on the patio or in the airy dining room. Meals are prepared by our friendly team of staff who offer personal and a caring service on site. The well equipped clinically clean home style kitchen adorned with granite tops and all the modern kitchen hardware essential for preparing 5 star cuisine. The accommodation comprises of a modern lounge area with state of the art entertainment systems including high definition Plasma screen TV, music system and DSTV. The walk in bar stocked with the finest wines and spirits for the discerning guests who would like to relax and unwind with a sun downer at the pool.Forest manor accommodation comprises of two luxury rooms Waterwood, Natal Fig, three superior rooms, White Seringa, Zulu Milkberry and Forest Mahogany. Milkwood the family unit which accommodates two adults and two teenagers, and The Manor Suite which is the executive facility consisting of its own personal lounge, private dining and is suitable for a boardroom meeting which comfortably accommodates 10 delegates. All the bedrooms offer unique comfort and are fully air-conditioned, supplied with ceiling fans, mini bars, hospitality trays, electronic laptop safes, High definition TV, Satellite TV, DVD players, i-Pod docking system, CCTV security cameras and Wifi connection. All beds are made up with hypo allergenic bedding and cotton Percale linen. All the rooms are on suite and offer heated towel rails, scales, hair and body dryers, exclusive bathing products, luxury towels and bath robes fit for royalty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Forest Manor Boutique Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forest Manor Boutique Guest House La-Lucia, KwaZulu-Natal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing