We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cottage Winery” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ex Nihilo Winery

Ex Nihilo Winery
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Lake Country, B.C.
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Cottage Winery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

Great location and views of the lake.
Adding a touch of sophistication to the cottage wine industry. Great wines and creative packaging!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Assunta R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    22
    11
    8
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not worth the purchase.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

Going for a trip with family friends we discovered a winery on this side of the road just outside of Kelowna. We decided to stop by for a taste and maybe for a purchase of a bottle or two.
Now being a wine drinker for at least 25 years and tried some of the best wines this world has to offer. I was deeply disappointed at the wine at ExNihilo, more disappointing was the cost to just "sip" some wine.
I would have to say their wines are passable at the best and not worth the high price of the purchase. Also adding to this, stay away, not worth the time for a visit and not worth the money. The wine was truely disappointing.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
124 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Okay kinda”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

I agree that the story of the winery is interesting but the wine? Not so much. Surprised at the 5.00 charge per person for tasting or rather mini sipping. Wine was okay. We did buy a bottle as we just spent 10.00 to be there. Wine was good but enjoyed the other local wineries better. Intrigue, arrowleaf and gray monk.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Shidoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Country, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Worst taste for the highest price”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

Bitter, bad and that wasn't just how I felt but the taste of the wines
Tastes differ.
In the 3 times I have tried it all 3 times it was more than disappointing
Better places to go:
a new place: 50th parallel, quite impressive
even better: ancient hill, behind the airport.

In the neighbourhood: intrigue, but skip the reds

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank M C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Amazing story”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

The story of this winery is worth a visit alone. The hairs on arms and back of my neck all stood on end as she told us about the artist whose work inspired the name of the vineyard. The winetasting was worth it's salt and we were talked through the different wines on the list while being given the history of the business and a small walk around of the art on the walls. For such a small winery it has a lot of guts!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Rustylou63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ex Nihilo Winery also viewed

Winfield, Lake Country
 
Lake Country, Okanagan Valley
 

Been to Ex Nihilo Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing