We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quiet place to revisit....”

Goldstream Provincial Park
Ranked #1 of 14 things to do in Langford
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
74 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“A quiet place to revisit....”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

After a school trip here, we came back as a family and were not disappointed. Walking trails, a picnic area and a Nature House with daily planned activities are always interesting Small yet peaceful and very family oriented. Go early as the parking lot is quick to fill up....this speaks volumes as to its popularity.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Travellerx4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    190
    99
    14
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great example of how beautiful our province is!!”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Spawning salmon in a river is my #1 thing to see here! I remember coming here as a kid in school to see the fish spawn, and do salmon prints. Now I like to come here to hike with my friends and dog around and to the peak of Mt Finlayson. Still haven't seen the waterfall though! That's next on my list!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank cait_bug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“20 minutes drive from downtown to feel the wild!”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Our family loves Goldstream. So close to town that many overlook it heading instead 6 hours to Tofino for a taste of the wild.
The one side of the park is more manicured with an awesome NAture House for educating you about the local flora and fauna. A walk along the river during the annual Salmon run is not to be missed. With in weeks of the run all the Eagles arrive to feast and that is also a sight. We love the walking trails closer to the campground side of the park. You can park just passed the ranger hut that takes your tickets for summer camping. There is a river trail that starts there leading along gorgeous river boulders and eventually to a substantial waterfall and swimming hole. Worthwhile camping out with fire pits and privacy between sites and even hot showers! AND BIG TREES, yes some old growth trees, we love the circle of grandfather and mother trees near the stairs by the river. Sit there and listen to their tales. You will love this taste of nature so close to a big city. A bus takes you to the top of the campground, walk down the hill, then over the bridge to find that river trail. Bus drops you off near Maude Miller's pub. Enjoy!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Creativejourneying
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Level Contributor
245 reviews
120 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Nature close to the city”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Victoria used to be called 'A Little Bit of Olde England'. Now it's 'The City of Gardens'. Both are correct, but that's not what is remarkable about Victoria. What's really unusual is that you can drive for 15 minutes from the city centre and be at a sandy beach, or rolling countryside, or west coast forest. Goldstream is west coast forest. I'm surprised that none of the reviews mention that there are two Goldsteams: the campsite and the nature house/day-use section. The day-use section, which everyone mentions, is on the right-hand side of the Island highway as you drive north from Victoria. It's well posted, and is everything that all the other reviews say it is, especially in the late fall, when the salmon are running. But the campsite is equally worthwhile, if you are a tenter or an RV'er. The single party campsites are on the LEFT side of the highway as you drive north from Victoria, and the turn comes BEFORE the day use area. If you see the signs for the nature house, you've gone too far. The group campsites are on the same side as the nature house/days use area, but before you get that far. Great place to camp, close to the city. (15 minute drive.) Look at the B.C provincial park website for more information.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank ianjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Evergreen Rain Forest”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Beautiful spot if you like the wilderness, quiet spots by the river, waterfalls and an experience communing with the beautiful emerald green forest canopy.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Faye T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Goldstream Provincial Park also viewed

Sidney, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Vancouver Island, British Columbia
 

Been to Goldstream Provincial Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing