We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and Relaxation location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Westin Bear Mountain Victoria Golf Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Langford
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful and Relaxation location.”
Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 3 night for our anniversary (July 29-Aug 1) and we enjoyed the resort very much. Many thanks to Lydia offered us a wonderful service.
Our king suite includes: small family room, breakfast nook, half bath, master bath with bathtubs and standing shower. The full kitchen equipped with all the dishes, glasses, appliances.
The hotel is about 40 min from the Swartz ferry and 20 min to downtown and tourist trap area.
Stay here if you are looking for relaxation getaway, romantic atmosphere, and rejuvenate yourself.
The hotel surrounding by upper middle class neighborhood, private estate, contemporary lofts. So that means you are not in the wart-mart or dollar general/tree stores neighborhoods.
There is a Costco nearby the resort and it's very convenience to pick up ready meals, snacks and juices.
There will be a $18 plus tax resort fee for each day. This fee allows you to access wifi, parking, fitness center, and many more. If you are a complainers or whiners about the resort fee then move on and down grade yourself for a cheaper hotel in-town.
I strongly recommended this hotel/resort to family and friends.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boeing747-8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinBearMountain, Manager at Westin Bear Mountain Victoria Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear Boeing747-8,

We are delighted you chose to spend your special anniversary celebration with us. Thank you for recognizing Lidia for the wonderful service she provides to our guests as well as sharing your photos with us! We are very pleased to read that you had a good time.

Happy Anniversary, Mr. and Mrs. Boeing747-8. We wish you many more happy years together.

Be well,
Christine Thaler
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    376
    189
    61
    28
    24
See reviews for
197
261
25
87
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntsville, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2014

It was in the middle of a subdivision and seemed to have the locals using the pool and fitness centre. A lot of families with children. It was not like it sounded in there add in the middle of the mountains, peace and quite. The drive thru the subdivision was not what we expected.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinBearMountain, Manager at Westin Bear Mountain Victoria Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear Janie M,

I am very sorry to read that your stay at our resort was not what you had expected. I apologize that the pool and fitness centre was not a restful experience during your stay. With the lovely weather we've been having the pool area especially has become very popular. This is an area that we are aware requires improvement and that is why the Westin hotel will have it's own fitness centre and pool by next spring. Hopefully, you will be able to try our resort again once these two amenities have been added.

Be well,
Christine Thaler
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2014

I stayed with my husband and dog at the Fairways building for several nights (what follows re the accommodation may well apply more to that building than the main facility). There was good, ok and ugly about the resort. The good: great food and beverages at reasonable prices, and outstanding service in the Masters Lounge. I mean the food was really delicious, they had healthy options, and the prices were very fair for a resort. The beds were comfy and the bathroom was really nice. Our view over Mt Finlayson was gorgeous, and should have been utterly serene (if you are there on a clear night, check out the stars!).

The just OK: I used the fitness facility once during my stay, and the yoga mats were sweaty (smelled they hadn't been cleaned recently) and the guy on duty at the front desk not particularly interested in helping me find my way around. It's decently kitted out, but they need a good cleaner and some enthusiasm. I'd planned on doing some swimming, but the pool is much more a kids-having-a-whale-of-a-time pool than a swim-a-few-laps pool. That's probably fair enough in July, but worth knowing about. Our room connected to the one next door, and there was a lot of noise leakage between the two.

The ugly: the Fairways building has an airconditioning unit in each room with a fan that is seriously, seriously noisy and very harsh in terms of air quality. It was hot during the week we stayed, and the noise interfered with our sleep - but even if we turned off the air con and opened the balcony door, we were bugged by the equally noisy units either side of us. The rooms have signs all over them warning guests to put on the security chain and deadbolt, lock the balcony door at all times unless you're actually sitting out there, and so on. It felt like we were in Compton, South-Central LA, and not in the suburbs of Victoria. Seriously Westin, if you have that much trouble with your neighbours, you're doing something wrong - and if you don't, stop trying to scare people into bolstering your security for you.

The much-promoted Mt Finlayson hike was beautiful and well worth doing - but to get there you had to scramble up a poorly made path of geo-tech fabric and gravel on the Westin property, then along part of the Golf Cart path (beware of flying carts) before you got into the real trail surrounded by lovely temperate rainforest and birdsong. The trail access is in stark comparison to the rest of the resort, which was carefully laid out and easy to get around, and I just couldn't shake the feeling it was an afterthought. By the time I got into the forest, all I could think was "Bear Mountain used to be like this too, before it was a golf resort." During the weekend, until fairly late at night, the fitness centre blasts music (with a selection that would not be what I would choose to listen to) at a volume that seemed loud from our room - I can't imagine what it was like beside the pool. And the wedding parties - well, fair enough they wanted to celebrate, and they did - loudly.

All in all, I would say it's a great place to get married, to party, or to play golf (though I did none of these). Not such a great choice if you are looking for a bit of a retreat, and a quiet time. Too bad, really, because it is an absolutely stunning location.

Room Tip: The main building may be quieter than Fairways, if you are there on a night when there are no big we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank g0bbledeg00k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

I've stayed a in a lot of hotels in Victoria and elsewhere but this place is in the top ten for me. The only regret for me was that I didn't plan enough down time here. The pool has a feeling of tranquility (if your using it on a quiet day) as it is located in its own building on the top floor outside. The hot tub is tucked in under cover out of the elements which was a good decision in all weather. The gym is located below the pool and if you forgot your gym clothes they will rent you a pair for $5.25. They also offer classes for a fee. There are two buildings that house hotel rooms. They appear farther apart than what they actually are. The main hotel contains two restaurants, a spa, and a golf clothing shop. We were housed in this building and if you are fortunate like we were to get the backside of the building you will face the green ways and have a small view of the city lights. Our deck was huge however the only downside is that there is not a divider between our side and theirs. Not really sure why because it seems like it could easily be done. We were also treated to a free upgrade upon arrival which was a lovely treat!! Thank you Westin! Our room was spacious with a one bedroom, two bathroom (no tub or shower in second one). The bed was king sized and very comfortable....the pull out in our room was not. We are staying with other family members and they said their pull out was fine so maybe our room just needs a new mattress! The restaurants are expensive but food excellent! The only downside I see to staying here is the distance to downtown which we were aware of but decided luxury was worth more than proximity. Would I stay here again? Absolutely! For the price I paid here I would only have been able to book a plain hotel with no pool so it was worth the trade.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Caro281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinBearMountain, Manager at Westin Bear Mountain Victoria Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Caro281,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review and we're delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us in the One Bedroom Suite.

Private balconies in the Clubhouse Building is one our top guest requests and we're pleased to say that by spring 2015 all rooms will have a divider which will allow more privacy for our guests. We hope to welcome you back soon so that you can check out the difference this will make.

Until next time, be well!
Christine Thaler
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pueblo
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2014

We can't say enough nice things about this hotel. Our family has been treated very well, with respect and politeness. The rooms are gorgeous, luxurious, the parking is easy, there is very little noise in the rooms from the rest of the resort, really comfy beds. We liked having the full kitchen, and wifi was just fine. Really good climate control within rooms, great design and comfort in the rooms. We had plenty of room to spread out! We are near the end of a two week trip to Canada, so the free laundry was much appreciated. Great meal in Bella Montagna, lovely pool, health club, yoga room, jacuzzi, elegant lobby. Every single employee we encountered was professional, efficient and lovely. Great view of Mt. Baker in the USA from the restaurant terrace.

When it's not rush hour traffic, the drive to Victoria is about 20 minutes. We liked being away from the city feel of Victoria, and could really relax after sightseeing and visiting the museums and historic sites in Victoria.

Next time we return to Vancouver Island, we'll go out of our way to stay at this Westin property.

Room Tip: We liked the Fairways building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pueblochick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinBearMountain, Manager at Westin Bear Mountain Victoria Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Pueblochick,

We're are so thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our resort and even more so that you plan on returning next time you travel to Vancouver Island. Thank you for sharing your experience with us.

We look forward to seeing you next time!

Until then, be well!
Christine Thaler
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Searttle
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 30, 2014

There is no doubt that this is the best, most elegant, modern, and luxiuos place to stay in the Victoria area.
It is a slice of haven.
Ture pacific NW.
vanoouer island at it's best.
Do not hesitate to book a room here.
Staff was awesome, location is out of this world.
You will love it garranteed!

Room Tip: Book a room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinBearMountain, Manager at Westin Bear Mountain Victoria Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear James L,

Thank you for your ringing endorsement of the Westin Bear Mountain and for taking the time to share it on TripAdvisor! We hope to see you again soon.

Until then, be well!
Christine Thaler
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2014

I have stayed here many times (over 20) and always leave happy overall.
Smiley (the dog) enjoys a walk through the trail just steps from the resort.
Food options are good both within the Westin and the surrounding pubs.
It's off the beaten track so if you're looking to explore Victoria, a stay in town may be better suited. For golfers obviously, it's great.
The Spa is Amazing!
I think for a family vacation or weekend getaway this would be an ideal spot.
My last dog friendly room smelled very doggy and that was a little off putting but I did make a mention to the front desk.

Room Tip: You can stay in one of two buildings: The Fairway building is not in the main lodge but offers bette...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pickeyguest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinBearMountain, Manager at Westin Bear Mountain Victoria Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear pickeyguest,

Thank you for your review and your loyalty to the Westin Bear Mountain. We're glad to read that you and Smiley have enjoyed our resort so many times. I'm sorry to read that the room you stayed in last time wasn't as fresh smelling as usual. We'll ensure our housekeeping department has taken care of that issue right away.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Be well,
Christine Thaler
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Langford
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,155 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,571 reviews
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Fairmont Empress
#19 of 52 in Victoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin Bear Mountain Victoria Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Bear Mountain Victoria Golf Resort & Spa

Property: Westin Bear Mountain Victoria Golf Resort & Spa
Address: 1999 Country Club Way, Langford, British Columbia V9B 6R3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Langford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Langford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Bear Mountain Victoria Golf Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Bear Mountain Golf Resort & Spa, Victoria hotel features 36 holes of Nicklaus Design golf. Indulge in a beauty or wellness treatment at the accredited Sante Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Starwood, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Westin Bear Mountain Victoria Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Bear Mountain Victoria Golf Resort And Spa
Westin Bear Mountain Victoria Golf Hotel Victoria
Westin Bear Mountain Victoria Hotel
Westin Victoria
Victoria Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing