We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Fish and Chips”

Salty's Fish & Chips
Ranked #8 of 36 Restaurants in Langford
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Canadian, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Good Fish and Chips”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

First time back since the fire . It is not much different other than the facelift .
I like the fish and chips here . I have tried all three , Halibut , Haddock , Cod .
I actually like the Cod the best . Alaskan Halibut is not quite as good as local Halibut .
Chips are very good here ( non greasy ) . I wish they gave you a few more to compliment the fish.
It is hard to find Fish at a low price today and here is no exception . I always feel like I pay too much for fish and chips anywhere . Overall their value is competative .
I am not big on their non-fish meals , stick to fish and chips here and you should leave happy .
With a little tweeking they could raise their rating to four stars but due to the dull appys we rate it three stars . Would be four stars for fish and chips for sure .

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rockit L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    20
    12
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great fish and chips”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Good fish and chips, pickup a family pack 6 piece every Saturday during Hockey Season. Nothing better then watching Hockey night in Canada while enjoying Salty's fish and chips.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kbuter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yellowknife, Canada
Level Contributor
109 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Went three times in three days”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Salty's is one of the few fish and chip places that are open all year so it was a treat to be able to get great fish and chips in the winter!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
243 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Solid food for what it is”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

I find this restaurant chain better and more reasonably priced than the offerings people rave about in downtown Victoria. I find Salty's to be consistent, less greasy and a lot less crowded. If you need a simple fish and chips fix, I would recommend Salty's.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Voodew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
134 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Not as good as they were before the fire”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Dine in or take out - no delivery.

I ordered take out.

Prices are much higher than they were before they did their 'fire renovation'.

Quality was NOWHERE near was it was before the fire. Not impressed. Before they were a home-run every time I was there. This was the first time I had been there since the reopened. Wasn't impressed. Place was completely redone inside and it's already showing wear in several places. Some really bad choices were made in the reno. But enough of that complaining.

For the food, the prices are... well... OUCH. High for a fish & chip place. Ordered a family meal of 6 cod, 2 fries (which they give you 1 large for) and coleslaw. The slaw was fresh but the dressing they used was very disappointing. Tasted more like a Miracle Whip combo of some sort. Fries seemed like they weren't blanched when cooked. Too greasy and hard in the middle. Cod was average at best - mushy. Really could go without the panko breading as it really takes away from the dish.

I will try the place again as they have been good in the past. But if they suck two times in a row, I'll be done.

The other place for fish & chips in Langford is London fish & chips (Goldstream & Jacklin) - was horrible the last time I was there but apparently they have new owners. Have to give them another chance too.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lyle--Sportvictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salty's Fish & Chips also viewed

Langford, Victoria Capital Regional District
Langford, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Langford, Victoria Capital Regional District
Langford, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Salty's Fish & Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing