We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sadly; of 7 places we stayed the one that disappointed us”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Four Points by Sheraton Victoria Gateway
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Langford
Certificate of Excellence
Cannington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Sadly; of 7 places we stayed the one that disappointed us”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

I say disappointed as was not cheap, and we thought by the time we get there will need a few days to unwind. Therefore prepared to pay bit more. This was the first hotel where we had the chance on a hectic schedule to "kick our shoes off" and settle for a few days.

There was confusion on check-in because I phoned earlier and added an extra day. The poor girl on the desk wasn't sure how to complete the booking, and the other girl (who seemed to be more senior) didn't seem keen to assist her. Busy procrastinating on minor tasks instead and it was plain the girl looking after us needed assistance.

Breakfast was expensive as our room cost did not cover breakfast, evening meals were costly as well as drinks. The bar area was virtually empty, but was for some odd reason was very noisy; more staff than customers. We eat breakfast down at Tim Hortons.

There was a shuttle service from the lobby area, but was limited. Couple of times requested for a pick-up, and was delayed considerably, on one occasion due to the driver deciding he didn't want to make the run down the Goldstream, so someone else volunteered.

We asked for the shuttle to take us down-town on our first day, but was told they don't run to the down-town area (too far) perfectly acceptable, and we didn't realise at the time how far out of town we were.

We asked about the bus service. We were told there is a bus at the bottom of the hill, turn left just after A&W, and we would need to change if we wanted to go into town. Strangely we were not offered the shuttle down to the change point in Langford where we could have hopped onto the direct bus to town. Nor was it suggested to us the regime for a transfer ticket, or that there was a "Trolley Bus" from Costco next door, which passed us as we walked down the hill. That was very frustrating, and would have cost them nothing just to have given us an idea re the local transport service!

Two nights very busy with kids who seemed to have been involved with lacrosse. They made a lot of noise and were excitedly running up & down the corridors at night and early in the mornings.

After our 4 night stay we were moving up Island, and intended to re-visit on our way back, decided not to, found a better hotel (Comfort Inn Blanshard St) Cheaper, even with breakfast, good value for money restaurant and better positioned.

Sadly the Sheraton, which was supposed to have been our bit of indulgence in this vacation, was not even up to standard, and considering their charges a pity.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex1706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    135
    55
    31
    16
See reviews for
135
103
32
124
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

We stayed here before and liked the location. Nice and quiet compared to others, the rooms were good size, staff was friendly and helpful. The only thing I didn't like was that there were no restaurants nearby. But that is what you get staying away from the downtown.

Room Tip: All the rooms were good
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vanislefishfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda C, ~ Guest Service Champion at Four Points by Sheraton Victoria Gateway, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you vanislefishfan for your staying with us again at the Four Points by Sheraton Victoria Gateway. Our location outside of the downtown core does provide many benefits such as being able to provide free parking, complimentary WiFi, quiet location and great access to the hotel. We do have several restaurants nearby which our staff throughout the hotel is more than pleased to suggest and provide directions. Please never hesitate to ask the front desk for anything during your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

When my parents moved to Victoria a couple years ago this was the first hotel that was recommended to us as a place the whole family would like. The hotel has something for every member of our family, the kids love the pool and we love the gym. The staff are always great and the rooms are always clean and when the weather gets nicer we love the patio. We now stay here at least 3-4 times a year.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda C, ~ Guest Service Champion at Four Points by Sheraton Victoria Gateway, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you William F for sharing this wonderful review with us; it is always great to hear how our staff and property at the Four Points Victoria Gateway have been able to make such a last impression with you and your family. The outdoor patio is expected to open after the May long weekend, we hope to see you enjoying the beautiful and relaxing Ultra Cedar Patio very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

We booked via Hotwire so did not pick our hotel. We had a great 2 night stay in July 2012. Beautiful, clean comfortable room. Great service. Knowing we were not in downtown, still enjoyed the location, close to stores. Would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarhend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda C, ~ Guest Service Champion at Four Points by Sheraton Victoria Gateway, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I am happy to hear that your hotwire booking brought you to our hotel and you had such a memorable stay with us at the time. We hope to see you again this summer! Until then, best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

The experience we had at this hotel was amazing, from the checkin to the chekout and everything in between. The rooms were clean, as were the hallways. The staff were all friendly, courteous and helpful.
Thank for the amazing stay!

Room Tip: Ask to be on the back side of the hotel, otherwise you are looking at Costco
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cal F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda C, ~ Guest Service Champion at Four Points by Sheraton Victoria Gateway, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for staying with us during your visit to Victoria. It is fantastic to hear how our guests have enjoyed their stay. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Thank you again for sharing your review with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Channel Islands National Park, California
Level Contributor
477 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 270 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stayed this weekend at this Four Points by Sheraton. We picked it because we planned on using cash and points and this one was the right price point, plus it was outside of downtown Victoria. As others pointed out, this hotel looks newer and if it is not, they keep it up very well. The hotel is at the end of McCallum well hidden behind a shopping center and you don't really see it until you crest a hill. When you see the sign, go straight. Turning left towards the sign puts you into a parking lot. Behind the hotel and on the lower level is the West Coast Top House (to be fair, I review this separately). We stayed on the 4th floor on the mountain side. It was a very quite room. The room was normal size with a large walk in shower that comfortably fits two. We stayed 2 nights and had no complaints. We did check out the pool, sauna and jacuzzi area and as expected they were very clean. Now the hotel name says Victoria Gateway which must mean outside of Victoria, because the hotel location is the first exit in the city of Langdon. Probably works to get more Victoria traffic. It is a quick one road, 10 minute drive, into the city center so no real complaints about that.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda C, ~ Guest Service Champion at Four Points by Sheraton Victoria Gateway, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us at the Four Points by Sheraton Victoria Gateway. It is great to hear how you enjoyed your stay with us and the wonderful compliment of being “one of the better Four Points” We hope to welcome you back again soon, until then best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

I seldom spend the time to write reviews on my hotel stays. Especially in Victoria where I usually frequent the same hotel.. However the other hotel was not available this trip to take my reservation of 30 people. So I decided to try this Starwood property and stay here for a total of 12 days. I can confidently say they have earned my future business. My group on this extended stay had a good opportunity to utilize all their services. The professionalism and quality of service was absolutely legendary. From the catering team, hotel staff, maintenance crew to the management team - they were all committed to provide quality service which was sustained at a high level for my entire stay. The rooms and beds felt luxurious while maintaining a home feel. Looking forward to my future stays at this property. No doubt would give this hotel 5 stars.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lawrence C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda C, ~ Guest Service Champion at Four Points by Sheraton Victoria Gateway, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Thank you Lawrence for your review. It was a delight to have you and your team stay with us. I'm happy to hear our hotel was the perfect balance of comfort and luxury while still providing the familiarity of home. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. Until then, best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Langford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Victoria Marriott Inner Harbour
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Points by Sheraton Victoria Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Points by Sheraton Victoria Gateway

Property: Four Points by Sheraton Victoria Gateway
Address: 829 McCallum Rd, Langford, British Columbia V9B 6W6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Langford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Langford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Four Points by Sheraton Victoria Gateway 3.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Points by Sheraton Victoria Gateway offers a great location just off of the Trans Canada Highway, with shopping and recreation nearby. This hotel is near downtown Victoria and Bear Mountain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Four Points by Sheraton Victoria Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Points By Sheraton Victoria Gateway Hotel Victoria
4 Points By Sheraton Victoria Gateway
Four Points Victoria Gateway
Victoria Four Points
Victoria Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing