We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perhaps the best B&B accommodation on Vancouver Island”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sayward
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Victorian Garden Gate Manor B & B
Ranked #1 of 1 Sayward B&B and Inns
Cheshire
Level Contributor
92 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Perhaps the best B&B accommodation on Vancouver Island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

We have read the comments by vancitychick and can only confirm everything said in that report.......it was exactly the same for us during our 2 night stay. We expected to be in the North Wing Room, but instead also used the newly constructed Carriage House which offers probably the best B&B accommodation on the island. This is one of those places you know immediately upon arrival that you made the right choice and it should be an early priority for Darlene to update her website to show people what they are missing. Exceptional.

Oaklyn,Cheshire, England.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank oaklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
22
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bochum, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

We stayed with Darlene and Karl for two days, and we enjoyed our time with them. The B&B is located in a beautifully maintained garden, which features a nice walk through the forrest. Our room was in a separate building that came with a separate kitchen and balcony. The room and bathroom were nice and clean.
Darlene and Karl serve an amazing three-course breakfast from their home-grown produce. It is clear that they set all their hearts and minds to providing a truly unique experience: Their home is filled with Victorian-era style items, which are lovingly arranged with great attention to detail.
Sayward itself is very quiet: There's a gas station and a pub at the highway junction, but not even a grocery store. A great place to stay if you're looking for tranquility - we did not even have mobile phone reception.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WieDerWind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed at the Victorian Garden Gate Manor for 2 nights in August 2012. We had 4 adults in our group. (Me. my bf, and his parents). Their website needs updating as it does not come close to describing how beautiful or amazing the experience here can be! My expectations were definitely exceeded and our hosts, Darlene and Karl are such good good people. This is a wonderful getaway if you are in search of tranquility, peace, and if you have an appreciation for gardens, Victorian charm, fine food and skilled craftsmanship. We were on a 10 day tour of Vancouver Island and chose to stay here because of the reviews and because the men were fishing nearby and the women just wanted to stay back and relax and forget the stress of city life for a bit. This was the perfect place for that!

Darlene was very friendly and patient over the phone and suggested that we stay in the Carriage House. The carriage house is a more recent addition to the property and was not listed on the website. It is located just a few steps away from the main house and has 2 queen bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, balcony, kitchenette, dining table and a sitting areas equipped with reading materials and games. (Keep in mind, this is a place of quiet retreat. There is no tv, phone or internet access)

The place was immaculately clean and WOW the bathrooms and the bedrooms were especially stunning. I wanted to take pictures before the men in our family ruined how perfect everything looked lol. We appreciated the thoughtful touches left by Darlene - freshly cut flowers like the beautiul sweet pea bouquets, a little welcome notebook on the beds and other treats.

We were given the option of having breakfast at 8 or 8:30 am in the main house. Darlene prepares an amazingly delicious breakfast- healthy, hearty and all of her baking was so good. It's always a treat to have vegetables and fruit picked fresh from the garden. Eggs from their own chickens! Breakfasts were so enjoyable and a great way to get to know Karl and Darlene.

The flower gardens are outstanding but really the entire property is very impressive and a true testiment to many years of hard work and love. Although we didn't try it, Darlene provides traditional afternoon tea service in the gardens if you book in advance. Walking sticks are available if you would like to hike up the nature trail or stairs to the gazebo.

Our stay was too short! I wasn't ready to leave! I wanted to take their cat and dog home with me.
Darene and Karl: Thank you for being so gracious and for sharing your lovely home with us!

Derek and I hope to visit again one day!

Additional info:

Bathroom 1: shower, no tub and sparkling clean
Bathroom 2: full soaker tub w/shower, very nice
Comfy bedrooms
All the comforts of home, including bath robes and slippers (did not see hairdryer though)
Kitchen: guests have the use of a full size fridge, coffee maker, kettle, microwave (tea bags provided, bring your own coffee if you want to use the lovely french press!)
There are 2 restaurants nearby (we ate at the Cypress Tree Inn), gas station/convenience store and liquor store are minutes away.




.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vancitychick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sechelt, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

Imagine: Tucked in cozy robes,on a Rocking Chair 'neath a vine covered porch - Heaven!
Elk browse the meadow while trees and flowers nestle together. Our multi-talented Hosts offer TLC along with organic culinary delights.

We'd return in a heartbeat!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lstrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

We weren't sure what to expect from the Victorian Garden Gate Manor, so we were bowled over by what we found! The gardens are outstanding - Darlene has done an amazing job of creating this gorgeous showpiece out of wilderness. Meanwhile, Karl has constructed a fascinating tour of the forest, complete with trails and waterfalls, with interpretive signage to add to the interest. On top of all that a comfy bed, a mouthwatering breakfast and a great chat over the homemade goodies. Recommended unreservedly!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FinRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Oswego, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2011

The Victorian Garden Gate Manor was the highlight of our twenty-garden tour, that covered the length of Vancouver Island.

It is a location where elegance meets wilderness. Inside was Victorian charm, while outside, formal and kitchen-gardens blended into lush evergreen cliffs and hillsides.

The hospitality was outstanding, the food excellent, and the views from all levels of the property were spectacular.

It is a location to which we will return.

Room Tip: This is a small B&B, so plan and call early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wcgarep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell River, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2011

A beautiful place, tucked into a gardners dreams.
The amount of time spent here isn't enough. The vibrant hillside and gardens galore including a tour through the mountains on a man made trail. My husband and I married here a few years ago and return yearly for a retreat. We are always pleased and thrilled to reacquaint ourselves with the two most adoring hosts one could meet. The rooms are victorian style, the food and conversation over breakfast is delightful and the grounds natural appearance breathtaking. Enjoy!!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rickcr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Victorian Garden Gate Manor B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victorian Garden Gate Manor B & B

Property: Victorian Garden Gate Manor B & B
Address: R.R.#1 Box 1 C-8 S-8, Sayward, British Columbia V0P 1R0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Sayward
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Sayward
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There are many lush gardens surrounding our Victorian style home providing numerous settings to fulfill your wedding desires. From the majestic height of the hillside gardens, to the rose arbors surrounding the formal courtyard, banks of rhododendrons, a reflection pool or perhaps a fall wedding beneath the weeping willow with the waterfall as your backdrop. A bride couldn't wish for anything more. Are you looking for the perfect place to have your wedding or to celebrate that special occasion? ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing