We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last luxury station before New York”
Review of Colina da Faja

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Colina da Faja
Reviewed April 20, 2014

A unique hotel! The location on the Western side of Madeira Island is special, high above the Sea at 700 m! The room we had was very large (about 40 m2) with unrestricted view over the Sea. Communication with the owner during reservation was easy, and the staff was friendly, proficient and always helpful. The hotel is about 8 years old. It is in most parts new, just some room-related issues, not critical to visitors but somewhat bothersome, keep it from giving the 5th star.

Madeira during Spring can still be cool, especially at this altitude. We were very happy that there was central heating. A funny item is the availability of only one breakfast table: It has its advantages, as opinions flow freely about destinations, good restaurants and levadas worthwhile to visit.

If you are looking for a place to stay in Western Madeira, this place is highly recommended.

Room Tip: The Levada Nova flows through the property, try it out towards the West. Perhaps the part from Pedre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miehinkisaari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (33)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 33 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2013

We stayed here for one week. The hotel is very nice. Right above the little town faja de ovelha about 700m above the sea. The personal was very nice. Every morning, we had breakfast with many other hotel guests. THW man disadvantage is that the hotel is in the nowhere. You need definitly a car to get to a restaurant er to tourisitc attractions.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sebastian_ohl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

This is a really nice hotel. It has 9 quite modern rooms and is a very good choice for the west end area of madeira. This is not a touristic place but very modern and silent. The infinity pool is small but really refreshing and nicely made. Note, that breakfast ist served in the little kitchen of the house, so if the hotel is fully booked and everybody comes for breakfast at the same time (what actually happened) it can be quite full down there and you need to wait. All guests are sitting at one big table at breakfast. Really an advantage: after the breakfast, the kitchen can be freely used by the guests and this offer was really enjoyed by the guests when we were here, and so we cooked our own dish as well one day. There is even an extra fridge just for the guests. Sufficient but narrow parking space is available directly at the hotel. It is a bit hard to find and the street down to the hotel is really steep. Going up by car again is a small challenge.. do not rent the weakest/smallest car when going there. Towels are not changed daily, this must be improved. Also provided toilettries (shower gel, shampoo etc.) are only provided on the day of arrival -> why? I pay the same nightly rate everyday, so there should be the same service everyday. Staff, however, is very nice and helpful. Wifi is available for free in the public areas but not in the hotel rooms, but there are sockets for cables, so if you own a personal wifi-hotspot device for cable connections, bring that for ensuring sufficient coverage. All rooms are equipped with a digital satellite receiver that has all local and international stations available. The TVs are flat screens but with just approx. 17" picture size. Note, that all double beds are very narrow, just 1,40m. Beds are quite hard. Those, as well as its linens could be really improved. Rooms are also in general a bit too humid. We recommend driving to Prazeres for dinner.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Danny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We first visited this house 5 years ago and can say that it has been very well looked after since that time. The staff are great and provide a lovely breakfast and the rooms are cleaned everyday. The architecture of the hotel is very interesting with spiral staircases, glass walls and lots of interesting little terraces. There is a small infinity pool and the views are fabulous. the other great thing about this hotel is that you are able to use the kitchen in the evening ( please leave it clean and tidy for the girls in the morning!) At breakfast you sit with the other guests and can discuss your plans for the day and get tips as to which walks to do or restaurants to eat in.
The drive way is steep and a little daunting the first time but you get used to it quickly and its not a problem. Parking can be tight but we understand the owner has plans to improve this since buying some adjoining land recently. We will be back!

Room Tip: All rooms face the stunning view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kirsty043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2012

Friendly and extremely helpful staff. Stunning views. Beautiful and very clean room. Amazing breakfast. Garage available. A great place to stay.
Incredibly steep and narrow road to get there. If you are not an experienced driver or your car is not powerful enough it can be difficult to get out....as it was for us. Unfortunately we had a bad night experience, as there is a small living room on the same floor we were and a group of loud people was staying there, drinking and laughing,over the permitted time (22.30). Even after asking them to be quiet, they went downstairs but didn't stop until 12.30 to be very noisy.....although it is not the hotel responsibility, a night receptionist would probably help in these situations.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveltheclock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

We spend 9 days in february in colina faja, first of all print a map otherwise it is difficult to find and at the end of a very steep street. The hotel itself is in good shape, modern glass elements mixed with traditional architecture, guests share a living area with a pool table, comfortable chairs and a wood fire, they also share the breakfast table and are able to cook their meals in the quite well stocked kitchen. As there are only 9 rooms it is quite intimate. There is a small pool and a sun terrace facing south but in february it was mostly too chilly to use them. The rooms were nice with good beds, the bath linen needs some renewing though. Breakfast was carb oriented, cold and did not differ much, it did include fresh fruit and joghurt and on 3 days cooked eggs were offered.
It is a good base for tramps and hikes but you do definitely need a rental car to get around.
Overall we enjoyed the stay very much but would prefer to go back later in the year when it is warmer. And girls take a hair dryer :)

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gpenguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2011

My friend and I spent one night at Colina da Faja during our holidays at Madeira.

The owner is very nice and it was a warm und uncomplicated welcome.
The little hotel is situated on top of a hill with a gorgeous view over the sea.
It has also a heated swimmingpool and you feel nearly taking a bath in the sea because it seems to fusion with the sea.
We had a very nice and modern room with a great size. Also the bathroom was very nice and you could see everywhere the personal charme of the owner familiy.
Unfortunately we could only stay for 1 night and had to leave very early in the morning even before breakfast time. But an individual breakfast was prepared for us. What a service!!!!
We can absolutely recommend Colina da Faja and the next time we will be on this great island, we will book for quite a few days!!!!
Thank you so much Carlos and until soon!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hotelpatrick17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Faja da Ovelha
5.6 mi away
Savoy Saccharum
Savoy Saccharum
#1 of 7 in Calheta
1,349 reviews
10 mi away
Enotel Baia
Enotel Baia
#2 of 2 in Ponta Do Sol
506 reviews
16.5 mi away
Quinta Do Estreito
Quinta Do Estreito
#1 of 1 in Camara De Lobos
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Aqua Natura Madeira Hotel
Aqua Natura Madeira Hotel
#1 of 5 in Porto Moniz
438 reviews
11.3 mi away
Estalagem do Vale Hotel
Estalagem do Vale Hotel
#2 of 5 in Sao Vicente
195 reviews
0.9 mi away
Aparthotel Paul do Mar
Aparthotel Paul do Mar
#1 of 1 in Paul do Mar
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colina da Faja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colina da Faja

Address: Sito de S. Joao, Faja da Ovelha, Calheta, Madeira 9370-303, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Calheta > Faja da Ovelha
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Faja da Ovelha
Price Range: $51 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Colina da Faja 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Colina da Faja is the ideal place for nature lovers and walkers who wish to discover the beauty of Madeira Island trough the "Levadas" (walking trails constructed to transport water). In front of the house, you can enjoy one of the most beautiful and long Levadas called Levada Nova. It starts on Ribeira Brava and ends in a small village after Ponta do Pargo. This small house, with 9 rooms, is situated in Faja da Ovelha, Calheta, in the south west coast of Madeira Island. This is both the sunniest and most intact side of the island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Colina da Faja reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colina Da Faja Madeira/Faja Da Ovelha, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing