We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Auhmuehle
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$120
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Tinschert(Schwertberg)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$106
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
I'm Inn Wieselburg(Wieselburg)
$112
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Furst(Unterweissenbach)
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Exel(Amstetten)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Restaurant
RelaxResort Kothmuehle(Neuhofen an der Ybbs)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Landzeit St. Valentin(Sankt Valentin)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (80)
Filter reviews
80 results
Traveler rating
26
28
16
7
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
26
28
16
7
3
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 80 reviews
Reviewed June 26, 2013

we happend to be there while the danube flooded. we changed our cycling along the danube into cycling on the hill. Maria and all the staff were very kind to give us bicycles and instructed us where to go. we enjoyed it very very much. the hotel is very beautiful, nice rooms, excellent food, nice pool and spa and service also is excellent. we enjoyed our stay very much and believe that in a better weather, it should be even better.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michal C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

This hotel is located about 6km north of Grein up a long steep and windy road. If you are arriving by bike use the hotel shuttle (once a day at 5pm) from Grein. Our room was large and comfortable but was rather dark. The wellness area is very nice, the pool is large enough for a decent swim. Robes and extra towels were provided which was disappointing.
We ate dinner in the restaurant and enjoyed a pleasant meal. Service was good and all the staff friendly. The breakfast room is large and not very inviting, breakfast was only OK

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Weedkiller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

The hotel is located miles away from Grein up a steep, graduate long hill.
We stayed here as part of our cycling trip from Passau to Vienna. I wouldn't have picked this hotel myself.
Some locals we talked to beforehand strongly advized us to wait for the free shuttle bus to pick us up and not cycle up.
It was not clear to us where the pick up place was and even after phoning the hotel time (only once a day at 5 pm) and place didn't make much sense but after asking around a bit we found it.

The hotel itself looked very promising. Nice building.
For food we had no choice but to eat in the hotel. There was a sort of restaurant looking room and a 'stube'. We had a nice dinner. There was only WIFI in the reception area and even that was not very strong. I had some urgent internet matters to attend to and at the dinnertable (stube) I just about had a connection. Not nice that only there I could internet. I don't like people with smartphones and ipads in restaurants. No choice for me this time.

Our room was good. It was very big, had a small balcony and the view was good too. The mosquitos were a nuisance.
The garden looked like a nice place for kids too and had a playground. I was missing an outside pool/tub though.

After dinner we decided to go to the swimming pool. We saw people there with bathrobes and huge towels which apparently they had in their rooms. Not us. No big towels, no bathslippers, no robes. Had to go after all of that ourselves. Shame.

The swimming area was nice. The water temperature in the jacuzzi could have been a little higher though.

This hotel made a nice change after having seen the Danube for days. We were lucky that the bugs didn't bother us too much (we made only one bloodstain on the wall) and that we were not very much too early for the shuttlebus.

If you intend to stay here multiple days and want to go cycling remember that when you turn right outside the hotel you have to cycle up a steep hill. Then it goes down 4 kilometers to the Danube but you always have to come back with the 5 o'clock shuttle unless the hotel have different arrangements for people who stay longer.

I have no idea what there is if you turn left outside the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Claudia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Like other reviewers, this was an overnight stop on a cycling tour. Hotel provided transport up and back from Grein, thankfully, since it is a steep and winding ascent from the Danube on a moderately busy road.

Hotel is a somewhat rambling in design - restaurants, rooms and hallways don't quite make for easy navigation. Guest room was adequate and clean, but without any cooling for a warm, sticky summer night. An open window let road noise and bugs in. Our room was also oddly laid out with a full length mirror facing the side of a wardrobe - so close that you couldn't really use it. The bed had a reasonably comfortable mattress, but also had the typical Austrian hotel pillows - more air than feathers. Bathroom was clean and featured the usual Austrian wall mounted dispenser for multi-purpose soap.

Isolation meant the hotel restaurant was important, but it did provide a reasonable menu and good meals. Breakfast was the usual self-serve from a varied buffet of mainly cold items.

Guests there for the health and relaxation facilities no doubt appreciated the isolation, forest and meadow views and possibly an excellent spa, but itinerants might prefer a hotel closer to the Danube.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wilburight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2011

We stayed at the Hotel Aumuehle on a recent cycling trip through Austria and here are the pros and cons of our visit:

PROS
1. Charming decor/atmosphere: Hotel Aumuehle is a large hotel located high up in the mountains above the Danube and the main areas are decorated in a quaint Austrian fashion. It also has a huge children's playground out front.
2. Free internet
3. Friendly service, some of whom speak English

CONS
1. Location: The hotel is located 4 miles above Grein, all of which was up a VERY steep hill. Given that this is where our cycling tour booked us, we had no choice but to stay here. Speaking of choices we could either cycle straight up for 4 miles or take the once a day hotel shuttle bus up at 5 pm. As a result we felt trapped in the evening and basically had to eat at the hotel although there were a number of lovely restaurants in Grein. Very aggravating.
2. No A/C, lots of mosquitoes: We stayed here in early September when it was still quite warm. Due to the lack of air conditioning, we left our window (no screens) open at night for ventilation. Big mistake. I woke up in the morning with tons of mosquito bites, 7 on my face alone if that tells you anything. I am writing this review 3 days later and still have a number of very itchy welts from all the mosquito bites.

Definitely will not stay here ever again.

Room Tip: Keep your windows shut all times due to mosquitoes!!
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
8  Thank Jemimagold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews