We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The friendliest and most helpful hosts one could hope for”
Review of Aldeia da Pedralva

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aldeia da Pedralva
Certificate of Excellence
Hathersage, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The friendliest and most helpful hosts one could hope for”
Reviewed April 11, 2011

We stayed in Casa do Tonel for 7 nights last August, and had a brilliant time. The village is beautiful, the two eateries on site (the Portugese food restaurant and the Pizzeria) both serve fantastic food at good prices, and you are located a very short skip from some of the most stunning coastline in the world.

However, the real 'stand-out' was the help/service we were offered by all staff at Aldeia da Pedralva, but particularly by Filipa and Antonio. A few days before our arrival we were let down by the car rental firm that we had booked a vehicle for the duration of our stay through. We faced the slighly perturbing prospect of going to a tiny village which seemed to be quite remote without any means of easily travelling about. We shouldn't have worried: from our point of arrival Antonio and Filipa were on hand to assist us in any way they could, from helping us to locate a bicycle hire shop, to taking us on long drives around the coast to show us the area, to explaining the intricacies of Portugese food and culture. Their kindness not only saved our holiday from being a disaster, it made it better than it would have been even if we'd had a car at our disposal.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moribund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    49
    7
    7
    3
See reviews for
44
58
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed March 29, 2011

Beautifully restored village with bags of charm all the mod cons you need. Restaurants serve wonderful food but it was difficult to tear ourselves away from the BBQ.

Great location too, only few mins away from lovely beaches with numerous aspects providing varied surf.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ajonesey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subiaco, West Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 24, 2011

Great village setting just inland from Sagres, but easily accessible to all the beaches and towns in the region. We were six adult travellers from Australia and this place had a wonderful point of difference to the three star inner city hotels we encountered on most of our trip. The villas have comfortable beds and linen and well fitted out kitchens.

With superb patios attached to many of the villas we could not resist our own barbeque of flame grilled frangos and padron peppers on the supplied bbq. The local restaurant L'Cholesterol has a fantastic menu and outdoor alfresco area with great staff.

The only negative on our stay was the absence of flywire screens in our room and the occasional waft of smell from the nearby sewer drain.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Viceroy500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2011

My wife and I travelled to Pedralva after reading a review in a newspaper. We weren't aware of just how isolated the area is, and just how necessary a car is to get around... fortunately, after laughing at our slight lack of preparation (neither of us can drive so a hire car was out of the question as well) the staff at Aldeia da Pedralva were incredibly helpful at helping us plan our stay

The morning after our arrival we were given a tour of the area including the nearby beaches, and dropped off at a nearby town complete with the phone number of a local, english-speaking taxi driver in our pocket so we could get back easily. Nothing was too much for the staff, and they were so friendly it actually made us feel a little guilty for being so ill prepared.

The village itself is beautiful, incredibly peaceful, hidden away in green countryside and lovingly restored (not at all touristy). The houses are very clean, spacious and have everything you need. The village shop is great for those everyday things like bread, snacks, drinks etc and the pizza restaurant is very handy if you don't want to travel away from the village for something to eat.

The beaches are very close by and we had a great day of surfing lessons after were we personally driven to the school and introduced to the teachers by Antonio.

To top it all off, the village is home to a huge and lovable dog who is even friendlier than the staff!

I would stay here again in a heartbeat. Hell, I'd probably live there given the opportunity.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RJHinchcliffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 20, 2011

We stayed for a week last summer at Aldeia da Pedralva. The weather was perfect (we were worried it would be too hot in August), the village was welcoming - a lovely hidden away spot in the hills of the western algarve. It has a a very traditional feel and we were lucky to be staying in one of the houses neighbouring two elderly, original residents of the village - a nice change from only meeting other tourists. The owners made us feel very welcome and were extremely helpful with our baggage, local area advice, booking trips etc.
Once inside the house it had everything you would need (not a TV if that is high on your list though I think you can rent them). A very comfortable bed and really nice finishings. You can tell they made an effort to source interesting antiques combined with practical modern furnishings.
The local area - mainly the beaches - were a real pleasure to explore, you could stay for a month and try a new one every day I reckon. Great if you like surfing - sometimes the waves were too big for anything else. Perfect for us though with a small toddler - pottering on the beach all day was plenty to amuse him.
If you're on a bit of a budget like we were you can save money buy shopping in the local supermarket - we had a lot of nice beach picnics with portuguese bread rolls and ham + cold beers! For the evening, theres a great cafe/ bar and restaurant close to the reception in the village, plus a packed out pizzeria just opposite. Filipa runs a very handy grocery store in the village too. Plenty on your doorstep! The only thing I would maybe add is a swimming pool for the guests.
A wonderful holiday. We'd love to return. Thank you Antonio and Filipa (and the kids!).
Lucy, Tris and Bailey.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucyw720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 20, 2011

This place was great, a fantastic old village away from the hustle and bustle of the touristy areas, but still only 10 minutes drive from lots of beaches, towns and other attractions. There is a small shop and a couple of restaurant options in the village, but several other towns and villages are not far away. The village is almost completely free of cars, so the kids could roam around and explore. The village has been restored beautifully, it is a great place to get away from it all.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KatieW074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed March 20, 2011

We stayed here as a result of an article in the papers. We were delighted with out holiday. The owners made us feel very welcome and could not have been more helpful in suggesting trips locally. The house we stayed in was comfortable and it felt as if we were staying in a real village as locals were tending their gardens. The pizzeria in the village is wonderful . A restaurant was just opening too.
The locality was beautiful with a coastline crammed with fantastic beaches. It is not however spoilt as it is in a protected natural park. Inland there are hills and spas. A great place to stay and to tour from - but a car is essential.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin2355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vila do Bispo
5.3 mi away
Salema Beach Village
Salema Beach Village
#1 of 3 in Salema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hotel Mira Sagres
Hotel Mira Sagres
#1 of 2 in Vila do Bispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
8.9 mi away
Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Memmo Baleeira Hotel
Memmo Baleeira Hotel
#3 of 10 in Sagres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,389 reviews
9.8 mi away
Sagres Time Apartamentos
10.8 mi away
Cascade Wellness & Lifestyle Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aldeia da Pedralva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aldeia da Pedralva

Property: Aldeia da Pedralva
Address: Rua de Baixo, Vila do Bispo 8650-401, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Vila do Bispo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Vila do Bispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aldeia da Pedralva 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
More than an Hotel, a typical village experience. Alojamento, Turismo de Aldeia, Turismo Activo, Restaurante, Centro de Actividades, Aluguer de Bicicletas, Aluguer de Pranchas, Aulas de Surf, Btt, Caminhada, Mergulho, Trilhos de Btt, Trilhos Caminhada, Observacao de aves, Hikking, Trekking, Tourism Village, Hiking Village, Biking Village, Bike Hotel, Surf Village, Birdwatching Village ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Aldeia da Pedralva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aldeia Da Pedralva Tourism Village Hotel Vila Do Bispo
Aldeia Da Pedralva Portugal/Vila Do Bispo, Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing