We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Villa 114 -Alma Verde”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
AlmaVerde Village & Spa
Reviewed November 29, 2012

We had a wonderful stay here in August this year. The villa is gorgeous and perfect for two families sharing, as two seperate wings so everyone has their own area. There is a lovely mezzanine area with DVDs and computer games which meant the kids could escape from the sun when they needed. The swimming pool area was really nicely landscaped, with brand new pool furniture and a BBQ, which we used regularly.

The children loved being able to walk to the playground and having a bit of inependence. We planned to play tennis on the courts, but were having too relaxing a stay to have used them.

We found a great local supermarket and some beautiful beaches with beach bars in abundance. One night we ventured into nearby Lagos which was great fun for a night out. We also were told by the management at Alma Verde, about a brilliant boat hire company to charter a water skiing boat from, which was great fun.

We will definitely be rebooking for next year.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AshleyNuttall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (55)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 55 reviews

Reviewed November 28, 2012

I have just spent one night in Villa 108 on business here in the western algarve and I cannot fault it. We arrived late and in the dark to find the lights on, villa warm, bottle of wine in the fridge and the place absolutely spotless. I love the resort and it is well looked after. I also met the support team who genuinely cannot do enough to help. I will certainly look to come back here with my whole family on holiday, not least for the tennis and the spa. Thank you Alma Verde.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We stayed at Villa 114 for 3 weeks during September 2012. The property was superb in all possible aspects. However the management team in charge of reservations and services spoilt the entire impression with their attitude and unprofessionalism. Our pool was cleaned just once (1 day before our departure) and the dirty water had its' negative side-effects on the kids' skin;

internet costs 2 Eur/hour and works at a snail-speed, so don't waste your money for nothing and go to an office of any mobile-phone operator to buy an internet stick;

The announced free WIFI at the reception also works with occasional black-outs. Also be aware, that you might be asked to stop using the WIFI after an hour (!!), I was forgiven, though, and allowed to leave my laptop running for the entire day.

SPA facility is actually one of the villas, which serves as a temporary location for all treatments.

2 weeks after my departure I was contacted by the staff and asked to pay for the pool heating a balance of 420 Eur. They hinted my credit card details were still at their hands to charge me for the service. Either poor memory or fraudulence made them forget that I declined to have the pool heating back in July 2012, which was approved by the same person who later demanded the money.

Other minor issues like "no hot water" for 4 straight evenings,tribes of ants living in our bed-room (photo attached) and "cool air" system, which circulates no air what so ever, making the house extremely hot during daytime - are too insignificant to describe. It's a good thing we travelled in September and had cool nights, which helped the villa to "lose temperature".

Portugal and the villa were great. Just be ready to ignore the extras who suffer due to financial crisis.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pantocrator29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Supurb villa - very spacious, clean with all mod cons and furniture. Could not find one fault. One of the best holidays experienced so far. Location nice and very peaceful. We will defo be coming back. We miss the villa already!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank milo171111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We stayed at Villa 142 for 3 weeks in July 2012.

Very good, modern villa on a fairly new estate. Building on this estate has "stopped completely" due to the current financial crisis, though will double in size once normality resumes. There are around 100 villas now. Problem is that there are no facilities there yet, apart from tennis. The promised WiFi system was not working for the whole of the 3 weeks we stayed there.

Location is good, about 2/3 miles from Burgau.

Do not trust the "Cool Air" system. There is no air conditioning on site as this is a "green" development. We went in July, queried why the cool air system was not working, and were advised that it was, and was working to full capacity !! We slept a few nights by the pool as inside the villa was unbearably hot at night.

Facilities lacked a bit - nice space on the roof, but this space was wasted as there were no chairs or tables up there and none of the lights worked (six lights / no bulbs working)!! Four sunbeds by the pool, for six people !! Glass table by the pool which was certainly not health & safety compliant!! Problems with the drains whilst we were there!!

Could have been much better, £4,100 for 3 weeks was expensive for what you get.

Room Tip: Check levels of furniture / fittings ie 6 guests, 6 chairs etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Excellent villa - very spacious and clean with all mod cons. Pool was a good size. Location nice and peaceful.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

Firstly, the reception staff are amazingly friendly and their response to any issues-extremely quick. The villas and the site are so beautiful, the surrounding area and local fishing village is very convenient-but it is a good walk away or primarily a place you need transport for. The village (Burgau) has good restaurants, a nice bunch of craft/gift shops etc, lovely beach and fab cliff-side walks. There's a supermarket not far from Almaverde-few mins drive that has the best supplies, cheap and great collection of everything you could possibly need. We booked a villa via OwnersDirect but although the villa was beautiful-had real problems with ants-while the Amlaverde staff were amazing and did everything-and the holiday was still fantastic the owners-were not so responsive and pretty dissapointing attitude-I would not book privately again-but highly recommend having the assurances of booking with the resort direct! However-this was only one villa and I'm sure other owners are not all like this. I don't want to necessarily slate the owners but if you want to check which villa we stayed in-contact me direct.
This is a great place if you want quiet but friendly peace, coupled with lots of spa treatments on offer, good facilities-kids play area, tennis etc. Amazing countryside and amazing swimming pools!!!! I would recommend a villa with a roof terrace-just amazing to sit up there at night and in the morning, you get good views too! Also, we chose to be on this side of the Algarve as there are many places to the West that are authentic and a real treat. It's worth the visit to Sagres, also Silves-and Lagos-is a must, a really buzzing place with an amazing harbour, lots of funky shops and places to eat. Interesting crusader fort and lots of boat trips. We travelled as a family group (not my usual, solo or couple), four adults and three kids-all in all it was really entertaining for the kids and utter peace for the adults! Well-sort of, considering the bambinos in tow, haha. (Apologies for lack of interior shots-testimount to the fab weather and spending most time outdoors!)

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Wordypirate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vila do Bispo hotels
5 mi away
Aldeia da Pedralva
Aldeia da Pedralva
#1 of 8 in Vila do Bispo
158 reviews
6.6 mi away
Hotel Mira Sagres
Hotel Mira Sagres
#1 of 2 in Vila do Bispo
89 reviews
6.7 mi away
Vivenda Familia Pedro
Vivenda Familia Pedro
#1 of 3 in Vila do Bispo
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Casa MESTRE GuestHouse
Casa MESTRE GuestHouse
#2 of 3 in Vila do Bispo
23 reviews
2.6 mi away
Quinta de Encosta Velha
Quinta de Encosta Velha
#2 of 2 in Vila do Bispo
9 reviews
8.5 mi away
Monte de Santo Antonio
Monte de Santo Antonio
#8 of 8 in Vila do Bispo
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AlmaVerde Village & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AlmaVerde Village & Spa

Address: EN125, Cruzamento do Burgau, Vila do Bispo 8650-035, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Vila do Bispo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Vila do Bispo
Price Range: $120 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — AlmaVerde Village & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AlmaVerde’s award-winning green architecture makes it Europe’s leading eco luxe development. Located 2 km from the picturesque fishing village of Burgau, the golden beaches of the Costa Vincentina are within easy reach. AlmaVerde currently comprises 100 beautifully designed villas, all with private, heated pools set in lush, landscaped gardens. Amenities include four tennis courts, mini football pitch, children’s playground, dance/fitness studio, mountain bike rental, and spa, offering a wide range of beauty treatments and therapies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your AlmaVerde Village & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
AlmaVerde Village & Spa Portugal/Vila Do Bispo, Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing