We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not trust the "Cool Air" system.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
AlmaVerde Village & Spa
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
289 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Do not trust the "Cool Air" system.”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We stayed at Villa 142 for 3 weeks in July 2012.

Very good, modern villa on a fairly new estate. Building on this estate has "stopped completely" due to the current financial crisis, though will double in size once normality resumes. There are around 100 villas now. Problem is that there are no facilities there yet, apart from tennis. The promised WiFi system was not working for the whole of the 3 weeks we stayed there.

Location is good, about 2/3 miles from Burgau.

Do not trust the "Cool Air" system. There is no air conditioning on site as this is a "green" development. We went in July, queried why the cool air system was not working, and were advised that it was, and was working to full capacity !! We slept a few nights by the pool as inside the villa was unbearably hot at night.

Facilities lacked a bit - nice space on the roof, but this space was wasted as there were no chairs or tables up there and none of the lights worked (six lights / no bulbs working)!! Four sunbeds by the pool, for six people !! Glass table by the pool which was certainly not health & safety compliant!! Problems with the drains whilst we were there!!

Could have been much better, £4,100 for 3 weeks was expensive for what you get.

Room Tip: Check levels of furniture / fittings ie 6 guests, 6 chairs etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    8
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
36
6
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wigan, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Excellent villa - very spacious and clean with all mod cons. Pool was a good size. Location nice and peaceful.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2012

Firstly, the reception staff are amazingly friendly and their response to any issues-extremely quick. The villas and the site are so beautiful, the surrounding area and local fishing village is very convenient-but it is a good walk away or primarily a place you need transport for. The village (Burgau) has good restaurants, a nice bunch of craft/gift shops etc, lovely beach and fab cliff-side walks. There's a supermarket not far from Almaverde-few mins drive that has the best supplies, cheap and great collection of everything you could possibly need. We booked a villa via OwnersDirect but although the villa was beautiful-had real problems with ants-while the Amlaverde staff were amazing and did everything-and the holiday was still fantastic the owners-were not so responsive and pretty dissapointing attitude-I would not book privately again-but highly recommend having the assurances of booking with the resort direct! However-this was only one villa and I'm sure other owners are not all like this. I don't want to necessarily slate the owners but if you want to check which villa we stayed in-contact me direct.
This is a great place if you want quiet but friendly peace, coupled with lots of spa treatments on offer, good facilities-kids play area, tennis etc. Amazing countryside and amazing swimming pools!!!! I would recommend a villa with a roof terrace-just amazing to sit up there at night and in the morning, you get good views too! Also, we chose to be on this side of the Algarve as there are many places to the West that are authentic and a real treat. It's worth the visit to Sagres, also Silves-and Lagos-is a must, a really buzzing place with an amazing harbour, lots of funky shops and places to eat. Interesting crusader fort and lots of boat trips. We travelled as a family group (not my usual, solo or couple), four adults and three kids-all in all it was really entertaining for the kids and utter peace for the adults! Well-sort of, considering the bambinos in tow, haha. (Apologies for lack of interior shots-testimount to the fab weather and spending most time outdoors!)

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Wordypirate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brighton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2011

This was a great stay for my family, we had a villa that was really well equiped and very clean, with a maid service the area was very quiet and we really relaxed. The reception staff were very helpful and gave us infomation about the local beaches and golf clubs and activities.
We hired bikes and walked in the resort which has been kept very natural. If you are looking for night life this is not the place to come but if you like good portuguese restaurants and a relaxing holiday then I would recomend it.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank philmast227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vila do Bispo
2.8 mi away
Salema Beach Village
Salema Beach Village
#1 of 3 in Salema
115 reviews
8.9 mi away
Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel
9.7 mi away
Memmo Baleeira Hotel
Memmo Baleeira Hotel
#3 of 10 in Sagres
1,438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hotel Baia da Luz
9.8 mi away
Sagres Time Apartamentos
8.6 mi away
Monte de Santo Antonio
Monte de Santo Antonio
#7 of 8 in Vila do Bispo
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AlmaVerde Village & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AlmaVerde Village & Spa

Property: AlmaVerde Village & Spa
Address: EN125, Cruzamento do Burgau, Vila do Bispo 8650-035, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Vila do Bispo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Vila do Bispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — AlmaVerde Village & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AlmaVerde’s award-winning green architecture makes it Europe’s leading eco luxe development. Located 2 km from the picturesque fishing village of Burgau, the golden beaches of the Costa Vincentina are within easy reach. AlmaVerde currently comprises 100 beautifully designed villas, all with private, heated pools set in lush, landscaped gardens. Amenities include four tennis courts, mini football pitch, children’s playground, dance/fitness studio, mountain bike rental, and spa, offering a wide range of beauty treatments and therapies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Hotwire so you can book your AlmaVerde Village & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
AlmaVerde Village & Spa Portugal/Vila Do Bispo, Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing