We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A shamefull experience”
Review of O Tiago

O Tiago
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A shamefull experience”
Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

As the reviews in Tripadvisor were very positive, we decided to go to O Tiago. The restaurant was very busy and noisy with a lot of clients of the UK.
You had the feeling to be in an Pub with some behaviours not fitting exactly in the framework of a restaurant.
After ordering the food, we waited for half an hour for the starters which were absolutely not extraordinary. Then, we waited for more than one hour before getting the main course. The food was not extraordinary again. The meat was ok but not more than that. The waiter was working as hell and doing his best to be at the service of all the clients. At this stage our 2 children were falling asleep and were not able toe at anymore. At the end we made a serious complaint about how the restaurant was runned by the manager or the owner. At that moment the owner was standing behind the bar but didn't do any effort to have a talk with us. He was too busy to give hugs to British ladies of a certain age.The waiter explained to us that this restaurant was busy because of a golf club nearby who were sending UK clients to this restaurant. So if you want an UK pub experience with a slow service, with a low to medium quality of food and an arrogant management, please go ahead! A shamefull experience!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank DirkSt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    30
    8
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic restaurant”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

By far the best steak we have had for a long time ... we will be going back again ... the owners were fantastic... Great place to eat

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jez2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Holiday in Salema”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Another fantastic meal in O'Tiago, this time had one of the 'specials' - Sea Bass baked in the oven, it was absolutely amazing. The whole evening was so enjoyable, the meal, service and atmosphere, looking forward to our next visit. Well done O'Tiago.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MrShifter_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scousebeaker
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous restaurant for all the family.”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We visited 20th September with our two year old twins. We had pre ordered the pork and clams which was fabulous and we also ordered the Monkfish stew, which again was delicious. Great children's menu and it opened at 5.30pm brilliant for young bellies. Visited again without the children and had steak and prawn on hot stone, great meat and good fun. Lovely hosts, very friendly and great with the twins. Will defiantly go back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank scousebeaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent family restaurant”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

My wife and I have been visiting this family run restaurant for the last 6 years and have never been disappointed. We have just returned home from our latest visit to Portugal and O’Tiago, if you are in the Lagos – Sagres area of the Algarve then it is well worth a visit but don’t blink when going through Budens or you will miss it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Davboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O Tiago also viewed

Vila do Bispo, Faro District
Vila do Bispo, Faro District
 
Vila do Bispo, Faro District
Salema, Faro District
 
Vila do Bispo, Faro District
 

Been to O Tiago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing