We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a cocktail !”
Review of Hotel Tyrol

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Tyrol
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Pfunds
Certificate of Excellence
malta europe
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“What a cocktail !”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Pfunds is a quiet village but for those who look for peace in magnificent surroundings is ideal.Food was good and room very clean.Only drawback not a single pharmacy in sight and only 3 or 4 shops with a very limited choice.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south quieter..
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Saviour C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    24
    5
    4
    0
See reviews for
28
15
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
san gwann malta
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

I stayed in the hotel for a week. Pfunds is a very sweet village easy to go around with 3 shopping markets and pharmacy in the area and a bakery just out side our hotel. The staff were superb and very helpful. the room was nice and spacious for a family of four, always with clean sheets and room and bathroom keep prim and proper. The breakfast and dinner were abundant. The only thing i think they could improve was that it was always the same breakfast stuff and for dinner the salad was always the same. There are so many things one can do in a salad by the end of the week it became boring because you knew what to expect. The fun of it is imagining what there was going to be for breakfast or salad at dinner time. But anyway I can't really complain cause the staff, the hotel and everything that went with it was just a perfect combination. Even the view outside the hotel complimented the area, where ever you turn there were mountains further down the road was a lovely big river, anyhow as you imagine it was a lovely holiday, begining to end so i do recommend the hotel and location strongly.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank SanGwannMaltaSnoopy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siggiewi, Malta
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

This year we decided to visit Pfunds again. This is the third time we stayed at the Tyrol Hotel. We liked this hotel from the very first time we visited Pfunds. Hotel is situated in small quiet village in the mountains. The scenery is awe inspiring. We believe that God himself live in these areas. As hotel Tyrol is a family concern the first thing you notice is personsal attention, here you feel welcomed as a person not as a number. Food is excellent and cleanliness is superb. Internet is free but one might just as well forget it, it is slow and impossible. Please do something about it. We recommend this hotel with eyes closed, we are sure that hotel's personnel would not let you down. See you again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank bakerspoint1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul's Bay, Malta
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

This hotel has a backdrop of mountains and forestry with gushing water running under bridges within walking distance of the hotel. Pfunds itself is a quant village but in the evening nowhere to go as it was quite dark for strolling.
Unfortunately smoking is still allowed in the bar and reception area and we had to have our drinks outside as I'm asthmatic. When it rained it was no exception.
We were lucky to take part in a feast of the musical chapels which falls on the last weekend of August. Sunday mass on the greens by the river with 29 music chapels was awesome.
Breakfast and dinner were good but unimaginative and the soup was always salty but the main course was fabulous.Room was spotless and spacious though the bath was too high for us.
With a 3 hour drive to Munich you cannot say its central and if we were'nt part of a tour it would have been difficult to go about but counting all odds this hotel helped to make our visit a very memorable one.

Room Tip: Our room which was a double was very spacious only drawback too high bath. Our friends' rooms ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank xiby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Level Contributor
46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2012

I stayed in this Hotel for 2 weeks and it was very nice, Pfunds is a very nice village and the people are friendly too. The breakfast was very good and also the dinner was good and the hotel was super clean, the only one thing that I found horrible is that at the reception and the bar area is permitted to smoke, I was very surprised and shocked about it, and also the pubs and bars in Pfunds were free smoking!

Room Tip: All rooms are good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Anthony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Malta, Malta
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2010

The hotel is situated in the quiet village of Pfunds. It is a small village with a few houses and not much attractions. It is the perfect place however for a the traveller who wants to break away completely from the daily rushed life and live quietly for a week. Nature is all around you in this place with evergreen fir trees surrounding the hotel.

The hotel itself is clean. The rooms are spacious and have a balcony. Towels and linen were changed daily and we always found our room spick and span after a long day out. The downside were the insects. As the place is surrounded by nature insects of all shapes and sized especially winged ones are inevitable. The room was not attired with insect screens so when we decided to leave the door or window open during the night we quickly had to close them again and spend minutes catching mosquitos and flies so that we could sleep soundly.

The bathroom was very spacious and well lit - the mirror was also attired with a magnifying mirror!

The food was good. We were served a continental buffet breakfast and a set menu for dinner with an antipasto buffet. We always ended full up saying that we should not eat so much the following day, needless to say we never kept our words. I felt that the hotel was somewhat understaffed and we did not get much individual attention from waiters especially during dinner - at one time food was brought to all the table except for one single person who had to wait for quite a while for his plate which was exactly the same order as the others.
However this downside cannot spoil the overall positive and relaxing experience of the hotel and the Tyrolean delights!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Teffa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eastham wirral merseyside
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2010

We asked our grandchildren where shall we go for our holidays in 2010. Pfunds of course was the reply. This is the third time we have taken them there (we have been many times before) and it is still the best . Clean, well run, friendly staff good food, marvellous swimming pool. Nothing is to much trouble, to say the staff are" friendly" no- they are MARVELLOUS. Do'nt take my word for it - go and see for yourself - you will not regret it!!!.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank ferryus2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pfunds
0.2 mi away
Hotel Traube
Hotel Traube
#1 of 7 in Pfunds
47 reviews
0.1 mi away
Posthotel Pfunds
Posthotel Pfunds
#2 of 7 in Pfunds
56 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hotel Tirolerhof
Hotel Tirolerhof
#5 of 17 in Nauders
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Berghof
Hotel Berghof
#4 of 7 in Pfunds
17 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Traube
Hotel Traube
#6 of 7 in Pfunds
13 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hotel Mein Almhof
Hotel Mein Almhof
#2 of 17 in Nauders
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tyrol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tyrol

Property: Hotel Tyrol
Address: Stuben 296, Pfunds 6542, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Pfunds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Pfunds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Tyrol 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Tyrol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing