We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas horror”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pousada Mosteiro Crato
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 28, 2011

Being a member of the Pousada Club of Portugal, we decided to have 3 days by ourselves at the Pousada Flor da Rosa in Crato over christmas without the usual entertaining of guests. On arrival one is greeted by a magnificent bombastic view of the 14th century monastry "the pousada do Crato". From the parking area to the pousada one has to drag your own luggage 50 meters to the entrance. Another 50 meters walk over large stone steps, 2 tiny ramps,via a dark badly illuminated area, one reaches the reception area........all without any assistance (for persons with restricted walking abilities the walk from the parking area to the reception is not possible)or being greeted by staff to help.
Suite 601 was allocated to us. The top suite in the tower.One enters the suite into a dark entrè: dark brown wooden floors, dark brown wooded cubbords with a safe of which the usage instuctions were unable to be read because of the bad illumination. Ahead of the entrè is a freeing cold bathroom....no heating! Bad odour from the sanitation system had to be seen to twice during my 3 day stay. On the right hand side from the entrè one enters the bed-stting room, also brown furniture tastlessly placed about the room. The room also has no views except for a glass-door leading onto a terrace and one small picture on the wall in the entire suite.. What a fantastic rural view of the landscape once outside with surrounding farm houses with sheep,poultry, dogs etc. Although the heating was on maximum in the room, it was damp cold so a mobile heating radiater was brought in.
To escape all this we drove each day for kilometers to the surrounding villages and to the spanish border. As for Christmas: no christmas spirit like background carols or decorations.The restaurant food was not good and without any atmosphere!
All in all it was a depressing somber christmas 3 days spent at Pousada Flor da Rosa
I have been to many Pousadas before but this was an awful boring place with NO CHARM
Hilmar Adriaans Santa Barbara de Nexe 28.12.2011

Room Tip: I cannot say what the other rooms were like but avoid Suite No. 601: zero views and it needs total r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HilmarPortugal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (381)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

96 - 102 of 381 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2011

The hotel is very beautiful but a bit degraded. The ensuite bathroom was moldy and worn out. The balcony was full of rust. The bedroom must have been very good a while ago. Not any more.
The staff was not friendly at all. During breakfast the waiter even cleaned the table by wiping the breadcrumbs to the floor with a napkin.
But breakfast itself is very, very good.
Nevertheless, the hotel is well located in a peaceful landscape.

Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
2  Thank pauclaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartaCruz, E-commerce Management at Pousada Mosteiro Crato, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2011

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Pousada do Crato.
We are very sorry your stay didn’t meet your expectations. We have informed the Regional Manager on the staff performance and will take the necessary measures to improve. Nonetheless, we are glad you have enjoyed the surroundings and the breakfast service at Pousada.
Pousada do Crato results of the restoration of the former Knights of the Order of Malta's monastery and it was inaugurated in 1995, but has recently gone through improvement works, including the rooms.
Therefore, we certainly find it very strange to know you found Pousada do Crato a bit degraded and in need of repair.
We hope you can choose again Pousadas de Portugal,
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2010

Stayed here just for 1 night with a work trip. Fantastic building, a mixture of the old, with a modern new wing where my room was located. Pool was fantastic and we had the evening buffet which was perfectly good. Great place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LozzaCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-Pousadas, Manager at Pousada Mosteiro Crato, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2010

Dear Customer, Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Pousada do Crato and for taking the time to post this review. We certainly enjoyed reading your review and would like to thank you for your evaluation. We hope to be able to welcome you again in a near future. Best wishes. The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2009

This pousada has been a castle, a convent and a palace, with bits built in different periods. Originally the former Knights of the Order of Malta’s monastery founded in the 14th century, it has been added to over the years. It has magnificent vaulted ceilings and mediaeval cloisters. Whilst the building has been converted to accommodate guests, it still remains what it was. Accessibility is a problem with thick stone slabs to negotiate just to reach the reception area. This is doubly difficult when carrying cases, though the staff will help. There are no hand-rails, or even ramps, other than at the front of the hotel and it is definitely not a hotel for the less abled. It is exacerbated by the terrible lighting, and throughout the whole hotel there doesn’t appear to be anything bigger than 40 watt bulbs!

The hotel also seems to lack staff, as on arrival at the reception desk it was unmanned. We waited for about five minutes and then the barman sauntered from the bar to deal with us and another couple who merely wanted the key to their room. We were given room 302 in the old building, getting in a lift to the first floor then up two flights of very narrow dark wooden stairs without handrails, and with large stone slabs protruding from the walls. We rejected the room on grounds of accessibility. We were given a better room on the first floor with a balcony in the new wing. This also had dreadful lighting. In the entrance to the room, was the wardrobe, in dark brown wood, and once open the dismal light was obscured. This housed the safe but it was almost impossible to programme, as it was too dark to see the numbers. A torch would have been invaluable for our stay at this pousada! The previous occupants probably also thought it was too dark, as they had left a pair of shoes in the bottom of the wardrobe.

The bedroom area had two bedside lights and a standard lamp. The latter didn’t work and neither would the door open to the balcony. Both were reported to reception and a man came to sort it out. The standard lamp “switch” was just a piece of string to pull and was probably not very safe. The bathroom was large with two shower-heads, two hand basins and was well stocked with shampoo, shower gel, body lotion and tissues. Décor here was appalling with very dark green almost black mosaic wall and floor tiles and marble elsewhere. By the toilet was a badly positioned door-stop which was raised too high off the floor and badly stubbed my bare toe.

The pool area was well maintained with two pools, naturally heated, very ingeniously as the water came in over an adjoining wall which of course was baked in the sun. Whether or not it was additionally heated was unclear. The loungers made of wicker were reasonably comfortable on which lay one pool towel. When reception was manned they were helpful and informative.

The dinner menu was not very extensive and was over priced, so we did not eat in the restaurant but chose a delightful restaurant in nearby Crato. Breakfast on the other hand was excellent with freshly squeezed orange, a good selection of fresh fruit, a very good range of bread and pastries, and unusually for many hotels in Portugal, decent cheese and ham, including Iberican.

Despite the large grounds, the parking area is limited with spaces allocated under climbing plants – presumably for some shade.

On our return we wrote to the hotel, and to their credit they did reply that they were aware of the shortcomings and they were undertaking extensive bedroom refurbishment shortly - whether this will include better lighting is unknown!

As reviewers reading this might want to know where we had dinner - herewith -

Only a few miles from the pousada is the small town of Crato, where off the main road lies the Adega Restaurant. Run by a husband and wife and helped by a son and daughter, we ate three meals here on successive nights. Inhabited mainly by locals, although one Portuguese couple staying at the Pousada appeared one night.

Prices were not that cheap particularly for the wine, although they had an extensive cellar. Typically an “ordinary” bottle of wine was costing around 11 Euro, although there were several costing around the 20 mark. The menu was very extensive and they had an English version with some amusing translations, and the food was good. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank masterecho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2009

Flor da Rosa will live long in the memory - a stunning conversion of a 14th century monastery near the town of Crato. There is a striking modern annex which also features a lovely pool. Our room was absolutely gigantic - you need a map to find the bathroom. Amazing bar with high vaulted ceilings. The only let-down was the food. The breakfast is standard fare, but the evening meal was disappointing two nights out of three. There was also a misunderstanding over the meal plan. On three-night packages, only the first evening meal is included in the price. Head to the nearby town of Alter do Chao on Wednesdays, where the restaurant near the castle does an awesome sardine lunch.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glesgamail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2009

For many years i always dreamt to stay here. The weekend i stayed at this Pousada was one of the worst experiences. The place is medieval from the outside. It feels like you are entering a very old castle. The place has been restaured with modern lines. Nevertheless it only facade. You pay a very expensive rate to stay here, but you dond't receive what you expect. There are very few public spaces, empty with no atraction. No newspapers no magazines nothing. The restaurant isn't very good and is too big what makes you feel like a grain in the desert. The rooms are 80's style, the bathroom doesn't meet todays needs. Nearby there isn't much to do besides the National Coudelaria, no good restaurants.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pedro P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2009

It is always very nice to spend a day and night in a Pousada, and Crato did not disappointed us! Good food, nice environment and relaxing atmosphere.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlobetrottersSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crato
15.7 mi away
Pousada Marvao
Pousada Marvao
#3 of 4 in Marvao
324 reviews
18.5 mi away
Torre De Palma Wine Hotel - Design Hotels
15.7 mi away
Dom Dinis
Dom Dinis
#1 of 4 in Marvao
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Hotel Convento D'Alter
Hotel Convento D'Alter
#1 of 3 in Alter do Chao
194 reviews
11.6 mi away
Convento Da Provenca
Convento Da Provenca
#2 of 8 in Portalegre
61 reviews
7.5 mi away
Monte Filipe Hotel e SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Mosteiro Crato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Mosteiro Crato

Address: Mosteiro da Flor da Rosa, Crato 7430-999, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Alentejo > Portalegre District > Crato
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Crato
Price Range: $87 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pousada Mosteiro Crato 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pousada Mosteiro do Crato is located in the village of Flor da Rosa, county of Crato, in the middle of Alto Alentejo, 22 km from the city of Portalegre. It was built in the Mosteiro de Santa Maria de Flor da Rosa and is part of Small Luxury Hotels of the World. The complex is comprised of three distinct buildings: the Gothic-style church-fort, the Gothic castellated palace with alterations from the 1500's and the rest of the monastery grounds, in Moorish and Renaissance styles. This Monastery is one of the most emblematic works of the region and one of the most original Gothic buildings in Portugal. During your stay in this luxury hotel, enjoy the outdoor swimming pool with a sunny terrace perfect for sun bathing, relax at the spa and Jacuzzi or enjoy a meal at the restaurant. The rooms are bright with modern decor, welcoming colours and dark wooden furniture, each equipped with a TV, mini-bar and free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, PESTANA MANAGEMENT - Servicos de Gestao S.A., World Independent Hotel Promotion, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pousada Mosteiro Crato reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Do Crato - Flor Da Rosa Hotel Crato

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing