We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Beach House Inn
Nearby Hotels
$70
Agoda.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$68
$63
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Summerside Motel(Summerside)
$56
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shine Motel(Summerside)
$52
Booking.com
View Deal
$102
$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Traveller's Inn(Summerside)(Great Value!)
$83
$79
Priceline
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Causeway Bay Hotel(Summerside)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (84)
Filter reviews
84 results
Traveler rating
59
11
4
6
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
59
11
4
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeach houseb bshort walkdunes roomsitting areaevery morningsecond floorwonderful hostsgreat cooklook forwardstayed nightssand dunesan easy drivein additionbeautiful beachgreat view of the waterbrenda
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
79 - 84 of 84 reviews
Reviewed September 27, 2006

I think the other reviewers are being a bit harsh. We found Barry to be very outgoing, personable, and helpful. He put us onto a couple of great restaurants, particularly the Dayboat.
Brenda was indeed quiet, but I'd personally rather have hosts who are quiet than in your face.
Our room, the Dunes was quite comfortable, even charming, with a fabulous virew of the Northumberland Strait. Our only complaint about the room is that it is right over the kitchen, and you can pretty much hear every word, and every pot and pan being taken out.
For this reason we would probably pick one of the cottages next time.
The breakfasts were fine. No better or worse than other small inns.
As we toured PEI, we were hard pessed to find any other lodging that we would have picked over the Beach House Inn, especially from a location perspective. It really is tucked away at the end of a road, providing a quiet getaway from the overdevelopment of Cavendish. A short walk takes you to marvelous cliffside scenery and secluded beaches.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Goodchip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2006

My wife and I recently stayed the first 5 nights of our honeymoon at the Beach House Inn. Unfortunately we were misled by their website. Although it is in a very beautiful location it was quickly apparent to us that the hosts, Barry and Brenda, are in it for the money.

They are not your typical BnB hosts who enjoy meeting new people. They charge exorbitant amounts for a variety of "features" (laundry,a "gourmet" packed lunch featuring "Five Alive"(!!), the "privilege" of eating dinner with them) - none of which we opted for. It seemed as though the people who did have the dinner got friendlier treatment, as if they had somehow "bought" the hosts' friendship.

There was no guest book in the bedroom - which says a thing or two. This is the only BnB that we have ever stayed at without a guest book in each bedroom. We can only guess that they removed their guest book after seeing so many negative comments in it.

The one time Barry talked to us, he suggested that we go to the Cavendish Boardwalk, and to avoid the North Cape drive (and all points Up West) . He bombarded us with all sorts of info about Cavendish, without once asking what we were interested in. To put that into perspective, we loved going up to North Cape - it was the best experience on all of PEI for us. We were on vacation, not looking to rub elbows with the tourists on the Cavendish Boardwalk.

At least Barry spoke to us, once - granted Brenda would tell us what was for breakfast each day before scurrying away . Mind you, she told us so quickly we didn't have a chance to object or ask for something else(which we wished we had). The breakfasts were a feast for the eyes - but not our tongues or bellies. I was shocked as Brenda wordlessly checked us out, and then paced back and forth watching us, as we packed our car to leave. It was as if she could not wait for us to leave.

For us personally, these hosts seemed very cold and unfriendly, ultimately overpowering the actually nicely put-together BnB. Never again! We feel that if the place was run by nicer folks, it would have been a blast! (ps- the 2nd part of our honeymoon on beautiful, welcoming Cape Breton helped heal us from this experience!!)

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Arvonn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2006

We recently spent 2 days at the Beach House Inn in Kensington / French River, PEI. The property had the appearance of a trailer park with a smattering of cabins all on top of each other. Hosts, Brenda and Barry, were neither warm or hospitable. We were given a cool reception upon arrival. They were not able to provide a piece of toast when food allergies prevented me from eating their standard breakfast. Food was mediocre and not the gourmet fare claimed on their website. The Beach House charges $16 for a "small" load of laundry and was the only property in 2 weeks of Maritime travel to charge a deposit months in advance of arrival. Very disappointed with this accommodation, but still loved PEI.

Stayed: June 2006
9  Thank kn_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013
Google Translation

Room Tip: Toutes les chambres sont impeccables, seule la Linden n'a pas de salle de bain à l'intérieur de la chambre. Elle ne bénéficie pas non plus d'un balcon ou d'une terrasse. Mais elle est aussi confortable que les autres et un peu moins chère.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews