We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely meal”
Review of Caveau de L'Escale

Caveau de L'Escale
Ranked #4 of 61 Restaurants in Saverne
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed May 29, 2018

We had a great meal here. The staff were wonderful, the food great and as we could not eat all our set meal we were given "doggy bags".

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Gill504171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (222)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 222 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2018

Thank goodness for Trip Advisor otherwise we might have missed this little gem. Located just in the bend of the Mainz - Rhein canal to the the rear of the chateau Rohan is this unassuming Restaurant. It is located in a beautifully Alsace traditionally decorated cellar. A design very familiar on the French German borders. Our waitress spoke perfect English French and German. She was extremely helpful with food choices and translation of menu. She was well able to identify foods to eat that catered for my allergies.a delightful find.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank CAB449
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2016

We passt this restaurant a few times and it always looked dark so we thought it was closed till we realised that it is actually located in the basement. We were travelling as 2 German speaking families so it was a big plus that the restaurant has German menu and the staff speak fluent German.
The graphic design of the menu was quite childish so we didn't expect much. So when our food was served, we were pleasantly surprised by its appearance and its taste.
We had several dishes and all agreed they were delicious. the only exception was the steak. Two people ordered steak medium and unfortunately both steaks were well-cooked.
If we visit Saverne again, we will surely come back again but avoid ordering steak.

Date of visit: October 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CWU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2016

The fod was very good, as was the service. The value was very good. The servings were generous, and the flavours were excellent. We had the veal and the pork cheeks, they were both great.

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank BryceBeagley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2016

We have eaten at this restaurant 3 or 4 times now and it is always a fabulous experience,great atmosphere attentive service and a wonderful menu of regional favourites never disappoints.On our most recent visit Saverne was blessed with a very severe thunderstorm which for a basement restaurant was a obvious problem when my wife and I arrived at 7.30pm for our reservation the staff were still mopping the remains of the water out and asked us to return 30mins later,we considered going elsewhere as it didn't look like it was possible to be ready for service that night!!..we are so glad we didn't as they had obviously worked very hard to ensure that nobody was turned away despite nature working against them

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank grahamj3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caveau de L'Escale also viewed

 
Saverne, Bas-Rhin
Saverne, Bas-Rhin
 

Been to Caveau de L'Escale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing