We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always very good!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Europe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Europe
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Saverne
Wells, somerset
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Always very good!”
Reviewed August 14, 2014

We have stayed at hotel Europe nearly every year since 2002. Never disappointed. Rooms always good. Breakfast very nice. Friendly, welcoming. Wouldn't stay anywhere else. So we stayed there last week and now we will stay there again in a few days on our way back to the UK.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anita L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    46
    14
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
42
7
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Germany
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

We really enjoyed our overnight at this hotel. The room was very comfortable...seemed all new, including the bathroom. The staff was very friendly and the location was perfect. Minibar (not so usual in France) was well stocked and the prices were very reasonable,nice size TV as well! We would definitely come back here.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank allenericnina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
132 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2014

We booked this hotel last minute. The lady at reception was very friendly and helpful. Our room at €86. was not large but very comfy with comfortable twin beds (they are placed together in the local fashion). Great duvets, good AC, good wi-fi and pleasant decor. I was really happy with this room. If there is a drawback it is that the bathroom was really tiny. It had a good shower, make up mirror on wall and hair dryer, so it was well appointed, but a large person would probably find it a bit uncomfortable. It was not a problem for me as I am a small woman but it is the reason I did not give it 5 stars.
Off the lobby there is a nice little bar, and on the other side the breakfast room. Both in a great Art Deco style. The same lady that greater us the evening before brought us our coffee. Cost of breakfast was €10.50 and it is worth it. There was good cheese and cold meats, 2 types of jam, bread, croissant, an egg boiling machine to cook nice fresh farm eggs, dried fruits, fruit salad, yoghurt and cereals. We were served apple juice that was delish and tasted freshly juiced.

Room Tip: The hotel doesn't have parking but there is parking very close on a pretty little square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eveline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2014

We picked this hotel based on other reviews for a stop over on our way to Lake Garda. The hotel is easy to find with a satnav and only five or 10 minutes from the motorway, we arrived about 6pm on a Saturday and were able to park right by the door on the street which was free for that time through Sunday, but we were also offered a garage space if we had wanted it.

The hotel is spotlessly clean, and staff very welcoming with an efficient family run feel and our room (classed as a grand deluxe double) had a sitting area, a kettle, really comfy bed and crisp linens and a great, bright bathroom with a power shower.

The room was quiet, though the one thing to note is that the soundproofing between rooms could be improved, but we had quiet neighbours so I am not sure that this is a big issue as it was relatively untested!

We didn't breakfast at the hotel, rather took a stroll to a local patisserie, but many guests were.

Didn't see much of Saverne, but what we did was very pleasant, and plenty of restaurants to choose from.

We would stop here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thurschild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
70 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2014

Came to Saverne to see the castle and some of the little streets. Turned out that the church was a highlight (once again, the church holds the soul of the village, and this from a non-religious person).

Hotel has good Wifi and a good elevator - room was nice sized, bath was fine, linens were fine, room was quiet. Folks at the reception area were helpful and friendly (it was late when I got there with my carry-out dinner - the bar was not open but the guy sold me a lovely bottle of wine to take upstairs).

Nat'l holiday left the museums closed, but there was still great walking. The hike up to the castle is wonderful, and the Castle ruins are a treat - the restaurant up there not so much, and not friendly. But the ruins? Great! And the chapel is special.

Stayed 2 nights here - close to train station, close to charming town, and museums are worth seeing when they are open. The streets just above the Grand Rue are old and charming, and the Taverne Katz is not to be missed.

This is not a FANCY hotel, just a simple and good one.

Room Tip: My room was in the front of the building on the street but was still quiet. And Wifi was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaliforniaTravelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

We were not sure whether to bash straight through France and Switzerland to get to Lake Garda, or take a more leisurely approach. In the end, we pulled off the motorway for a coffee and my wife got out her i.pod thing and googled local hotels. Saverne was only a few clicks away so we decided to check it out, and boy, I'm glad we did. A truely beautiful place complete with the obligatory canal! The Europe Hotel only had one room available which we gladly took. We also managed to park our car which was packed to the roof for our 3 week holiday, in their lock-up garage. What a bonus that was. No need to take everything in for the night. The bedroom was large and well furnished, if a little old fashioned, or perhaps, traditional would be a better way to describe it. However, for me, the highlight were the BIGGEST, SOFTEST towels in thge world! Absolute luxury, but unfortunately they were too big to smuggle out in our luggage! The staff were friendly and spoke English, and the restaurant perfectly acceptable. Although we only stayed for the one night, we will definitely return on our next trip through France, only this time we will break our journey for a couple of days. Although it was not a long stay, the hotel had the sort of atmosphere that made you want to return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiesbaden, Germany
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Nice place! Staff was really helpful in every way.
The hotel is located right on one of the main streets, fortuantely it's a one way street. The village is really neat and there is really a lot do and take in and the hotel staff was always ready to accomidate.
The room was clean and in nice condition. They recently replaced the matresses and beds, so they were still pretty firm to the point of being hard, but that will change in the next couple weeks as more guests use the rooms.
All in all, simply a nice place worth the effort to find and stay in, I would easily return to this one. It's the kind of place you can enjoy with your significant other for a romantic weekend, or a place you can take you parents to and be sure they would be well taken care of.

Room Tip: If you want to see one of the canal regions in the Alsace and have a great place to stay, this is it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saverne
0.0 mi away
Hotel Chez Jean
Hotel Chez Jean
#1 of 4 in Saverne
137 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villa Katz
Villa Katz
#3 of 4 in Saverne
82 reviews
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Kleiber
Hotel Restaurant Kleiber
#1 of 1 in Saint-Jean-Saverne
73 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Aux Deux Clefs
Hotel Aux Deux Clefs
#1 of 1 in Marmoutier
56 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hotel Spa et Restaurant au Chasseur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Europe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Europe

Property: Hotel Europe
Address: 7 rue de la Gare, 67700 Saverne, France
Location: France > Grand Est > Bas-Rhin > Saverne
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Saverne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Europe 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Europe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing