We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pretty, clean hotel.”
Review of Hotel Chez Jean

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Chez Jean
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Saverne
Darlington England
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Very pretty, clean hotel.”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Stayed at the Hotel Chex Jean for one night while travelling to Bavaria. Very nice hotel and room 36 was excellent with a large bathroom.
Unfortunately it was Sunday and the restaurant was closed and we needed to leave early the next morning so we didnt stay for breakfast, so I cant rate the restaurant.
Saverne is a very pretty town and pleasant to wander round with a large chateau and a canal running through the middle.
Overall, a pleasant if short stay. The hotel is very nicely decorated and at 90 Euros per night room only was reasonable value.

Room Tip: Our room 36 together with one next door were on the third floor and had a small very pleasant balcon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wood-burners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    74
    18
    3
    1
See reviews for
21
57
5
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Last minute decision to stop off in Saverne, led us to stay at the Hotel Chez Jean. It took me back to a bygone age, so much character and personality everywhere you looked. The owners were so welcoming and friendly, and luckily for us linguistically inept Brits they spoke good English. Free and easy car park access at the front of the building made it stress free. We did find that the room and bathroom was a little worn and out dated, the mini bar was a nice touch and the (car) radio certainly gave us the giggles. The bed was uber comfy and we slept like logs. The decor in the breakfast room had an old time wow, traditional yet a feast for the eyes. Breakfast was of a continental selection. I would have given this place 5 stars but the boyfriend was not as keen as i, so we compromised on a 4. I was certainly charmed by this large elegent, slightly worn and out dated hotel, on this occasion the wear and tear added to the character of this lovely French place. I would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bluemoo76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburg, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

We were traveling as part of a tour and so were scheduled at this hotel for one night. It is a lovely hotel. Our room was of good size, bed very comfortable, and clean. The staff were very courteous and helpful. The dinner eaten here was wonderful with large servings. Breakfast was very good with a nice assortment of bread, cheeses, meats. We enjoyed our one night stay. We would stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lorib91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2012

We spent one night in this hotel on our way from Italy to UK and shall definitely return. Beautifully presented and decorated throughout there is free parking directly in front of the hotel on what seemed to be a quiet street; for an extra charge we took advantage of the garaged parking. We received a warm welcome and were shown to a lovely room with spacious bathroom and excellent shower. A balcony gave onto the street and in warmer weather would be a nice place for breakfast. We had an early start so missed breakfast but we did see preparations in the attractive breakfast room and it did look good.
Not far off the motorway Saverne is a charming little town full of characteristic buildings with a canal flowing through it. There seemed to be lots of eateries though as we were there on Sunday evening our choice was limited. We were first directed to the Taverne Katz which we soon exited - though in a beautiful building it was just too touristy for us. We eventually found a nice little place and next time I would like to try the canal side restaurant La Marne where they have an outdoor dining area right by the side of the canal.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MargyIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2012

Arrived late and left early, so I only used the hotel to sleep, shower and eat breakfast.

Found parking right out front but if you didn't they have a garage you can reserve for extra euros. Parking is free from 9pm to 9am.

Room was exactly as shown on the website, which is always nice. It was absolutely spotless...not a dust bunny, no stray lint, no odd stains. European style bed with no top sheet and a square pillow, but the pillow was on the firmer side so it was a little more like an American pillow. Basic furniture....2 twins pushed together, wardrobe, nightstands, desk, very small fridge.

Toilet separate from shower but both in the room....or, rather, in their own rooms within the room. Shower was fine, nothing to write home about. Wi-Fi worked with lightening speed and was free.

Breakfast was 9 euro and was OK.....meusli, youghurt, breads and jams, cheese and ham, canned fruit and some whole pears, oranges, kiwis, and hard boiled eggs that you boil yourself. There is an egg timer next to it, but it didn't work for me and I ended up leaving my eggs in double long so they cooked.

My room was on the street side and I did not get much sleep....the cars stop about 10 pm but start right up at 5 am. Church bells ring at 10 pm and again at 7 am. I am a light sleeper, so had I known how noisy the street was, I would have requested a room on the back side of the hotel.

Saverne looked like it would be nice to walk around in the daylight...unfortunately I had to get on the road right after breakfast.

The staff could not have been nicer and there is an adorable golden retriever puppy that may or may not visit you during breakfast.

Room Tip: Get one toward the back if you are a light sleeper, street is very noisy at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ashley97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, England
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2011

We had stayed at Chez Jean two years ago and were happy with the good service provided. As we had to make the same journey before Christmas this year we decided to use Chez Jean again.

The hotel has had the benefit of a really first class makeover and modernisation programme which was obvious from the moment we arrived. Our initial booking had been efficiently handled and we felt confident in our choice of hotel. On arrival we were greeted in a very friendly and helpful manner and shown up to our room. Everything was first class with top rate furnishings and bath facilities including, in the bedroom, an up-to-the-minute large flat screen TV. We were impressed.

We had reserved a table for dinner which was most enjoyable with good table service and wines. Breakfast next morning was a very substantial buffet with quality hams, bread, cheese. etc.

All in all a very good experience. If you are looking for a place to stay around Saverne go to Chez Jean. We will be making this our regular stopping point in future.

Room Tip: Just talk to them. They respond to e-mails very promptly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TheEssexPiper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2011

Pretty, very well appointed rooms at a very reasonable price. Brits, bring a kettle.

Room Tip: Go for the prestige rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IanElliott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saverne
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
1.8 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Kleiber
Hotel Restaurant Kleiber
#1 of 1 in Saint-Jean-Saverne
77 reviews
8.0 mi away
La Clairiere
La Clairiere
#1 of 3 in La Petite Pierre
565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Hotel Spa et Restaurant au Chasseur
2.1 mi away
Hotel Ecluse 34
Hotel Ecluse 34
#1 of 1 in Steinbourg
32 reviews
4.8 mi away
Au Soldat de l'An 2 Hotel Restaurant de charme
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chez Jean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chez Jean

Property: Hotel Chez Jean
Address: 3 rue de la Gare, 67700 Saverne, France
Location: France > Grand Est > Bas-Rhin > Saverne
Amenities:
Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Saverne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Chez Jean 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Chez Jean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing