We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (78)
Filter reviews
78 results
Traveler rating
63
8
2
3
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
63
8
2
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews relaxing holiday friendly and attentive service usd per person italian couple set menu every request stone town resort is beautiful spacious rooms historic ruins old palace the east coast every evening high tide giuseppe pools accommodation
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 78 reviews
Reviewed March 14, 2019

From the first warm, welcoming smile to the lodge to the sad goodbye on the last day, this is a holiday I will never forget. You are made to feel part of the lodge family from the getgo and it’s genuine warmth. Nothing is too much trouble for any of the staff. The wonderfully comfortable beds and cool rooms make light work of the fun and warm days. The sunsets are incredible and the food is superb. If you haven’t been to Chuini before then you are not doing justice for your soul.

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank FreddieFourie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rossana B, Manager at Chuini Zanzibar Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Mr. Fourie,

We are proud that Chuini Zanzibar Beach Lodge touch your soul!

Thank you from our deepest for your amazing review.
We really want to have the pleasure to welcome you again in this magic athmosphere of this small and quite lodge.

Please come back soon to spend another unforgettable stay here with us!

Kind regards,
Rossana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2019 via mobile

Chuini Zanzibar beach lodge exceeded all our expectations. The service was impeccable, the food was delicious and the rooms were full of charm, very well decorated, comfortable bed and very spacious. Turn down service each evening included a special poem or thoughtful gift and made each return to the bungalow every evening more welcoming and relaxing. The staff were all very friendly and courteous. Sunset views from the deck were breathtaking and dinner served in a different area each evening was always a special surprise. Seafood galore!!! Organisation of our tours and day trips was easy and punctual. Absolute 5 star overall. We look forward to coming back. Thank you Chuini for a magnificent week.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank serenas29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rossana B, Manager at Chuini Zanzibar Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Serena,

Wow what a fantastic review!

A thousand thank you, this is what management and all staff of Chuini are looking for...
this is the feedback we like to receive after all staff is working hard to make a great stay to our customers.

Please come again at Chuini Zanzibar Beach Lodge and we will make sure you will spend again a magnificient week!
Looking forward to welcoming you soon,

Best regards,
Rossana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2019

My plan was to stay in Stone town for 2 nights before going to Matemwe, but Stone Town was very hot and noisy, so I booked in Chuini "Beach" lodge one nights before, The only room left was the smallest one, but in check-in I got the villa Zanzibar which is the biggest room in the lodge.

Room, staff, food, quietness and weather are all perfect. The ocean views are excellent however its not for swimming, even in high-tide, at least for me, water in this area was not clean, so I spent my time on one of the 2 pools in the lodge.

I enjoyed my single night stay and I recommend the lodge for relaxing stays.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mohamed N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rossana B, Manager at Chuini Zanzibar Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Mr. Mohamed,

It's really a pleasure for us to read your wonderfull review!
We are proud to hear that you had a fantastic stay here at Chuini Zanzibar Beach Lodge and we hope to welcoming you again in the Villa with your family next time and not on your own as we were discussing about it.

Thank you,
Best regards,
Rossana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2019 via mobile

Nice Hotel with super service
The food experiense is poor. Overpriced and poorly handed meals didn’t go well with beautiful view or nice staff!
Rooms where nice but lacks of pressure in the water pipes...
Nice management!

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank 370pepeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rossana B, Manager at Chuini Zanzibar Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Mr. Pepe,

Thank you for your nice review,
We are glad to hear that our Hotel is very nce with a Super Service!
Regarding your food experience we remeber you are a very good Chef therefore it was very difficult for us to satisfy your palate, but thanks for your advise we will keep in consideration.

Looking forward to welcoming you in Zanzibar in the future,

Kind regards,
Rossana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2019

My wife and myself came here January 23, and continued to Ujamaa Beach resort on January 29. At the age of 79, seven hours from Stockholm to Dubai, plus five hours during night to reach our destination was trying. However, Emirates is a fine airline with good food, free drinks and excellent service. Dubai airport is bewilderingly large, and getting to the distant terminal serving various African countries took some 35 minutes by a slowly moving bus. The flight to Zanzibar by Emirates flown by Dubai Air - some kind of low prize commuter service probably adapted for returning guest workers - was awful. Lousy food, 9 USD for a beer, no pillow, no blankets, and the only positive feature was adequate leg space in the Boeing 777-8.
Although the bureaucratic heritage from the British colonial time slowed down our entry upon arrival to the small airport, the pick-up from the hotel fortunately worked perfectly. Chuini Beach Lodge is a beautiful and exclusive resort built on a cliff plateau above a bay with a limited number of bungalows gathered around central building with an open air restaurant. Under Italian management, it is well run and offers excellent services. From the porch of our spacious bungalow we had a beautiful view of the sea and across the bay of the ruin of a palace built by Sultan Sayyid Barghash. There is no malaria on the island, and during 10 days we only spotted one such insect. Still, our double bed was draped in a voluminous mosquito net.
The sea breeze was welcome in view of the high temperatures and high humidity. There is one small, and one somewhat larger pool. Unfortunately, the beach is not much, and one can only swim in the sea at high tide, while the bottom is treacherously littered with sharp stones in places. During the whole Friday night a disco club located some distance from the premises disturbed the quiet. The drab area outside the hotel park area does not invite promenading.
Food was usually very good, but outrageously expensive (50 USD per person for the daily standard menu). At a price of 35 – 40 USD there was a decent selection of South African and Italian wines, and 5 USD was charged for the excellent Czech type Tanzanian beers. One drawback was that in most places the small dining tables were only illuminated by a single kerosene lamp, and to read the menu required a flash light.
The relatively small time zone difference relative to Stockholm is an advantage, but except for tourist infested “Stone Town” of Zanzibar city, the island itself has little to offer in comparison with destinations in South East Asia. Of the many resorts we have visited, we therefore rank small delightful Cocobay Unawatuna close to Galle at the southern tip of Sri Lanka as by far the best.

Date of stay: January 2019
Thank globetrotter955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rossana B, Manager at Chuini Zanzibar Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Customer,

Thank you for your great review, we are proud to hear that you enjoyed your stay here at Chuini Zanzibar Beach Lodge.
Our food as you said is very good and we select always the best quality we ca find in the island, (majority of the items are imported) that's why the price can appear a bit expensive.
The Disco Club is not operating anymore therefore there is no disturbance anymore.
All Staff of Chuini will be happy to have you here with us again to make your stay even better of your last experience with us!

Thank you very much,
Best regards,
Rossana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews