We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (67)
Filter reviews
67 results
Traveler rating
53
8
2
3
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
53
8
2
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews relaxing holiday friendly and attentive service usd per person italian couple set menu every request stone town resort is beautiful spacious rooms historic ruins old palace spent days the east coast every evening high tide giuseppe pools
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 67 reviews
Reviewed February 11, 2019 via mobile

Nice Hotel with super service
The food experiense is poor. Overpriced and poorly handed meals didn’t go well with beautiful view or nice staff!
Rooms where nice but lacks of pressure in the water pipes...
Nice management!

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank 370pepeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2019

My wife and myself came here January 23, and continued to Ujamaa Beach resort on January 29. At the age of 79, seven hours from Stockholm to Dubai, plus five hours during night to reach our destination was trying. However, Emirates is a fine airline with good food, free drinks and excellent service. Dubai airport is bewilderingly large, and getting to the distant terminal serving various African countries took some 35 minutes by a slowly moving bus. The flight to Zanzibar by Emirates flown by Dubai Air - some kind of low prize commuter service probably adapted for returning guest workers - was awful. Lousy food, 9 USD for a beer, no pillow, no blankets, and the only positive feature was adequate leg space in the Boeing 777-8.
Although the bureaucratic heritage from the British colonial time slowed down our entry upon arrival to the small airport, the pick-up from the hotel fortunately worked perfectly. Chuini Beach Lodge is a beautiful and exclusive resort built on a cliff plateau above a bay with a limited number of bungalows gathered around central building with an open air restaurant. Under Italian management, it is well run and offers excellent services. From the porch of our spacious bungalow we had a beautiful view of the sea and across the bay of the ruin of a palace built by Sultan Sayyid Barghash. There is no malaria on the island, and during 10 days we only spotted one such insect. Still, our double bed was draped in a voluminous mosquito net.
The sea breeze was welcome in view of the high temperatures and high humidity. There is one small, and one somewhat larger pool. Unfortunately, the beach is not much, and one can only swim in the sea at high tide, while the bottom is treacherously littered with sharp stones in places. During the whole Friday night a disco club located some distance from the premises disturbed the quiet. The drab area outside the hotel park area does not invite promenading.
Food was usually very good, but outrageously expensive (50 USD per person for the daily standard menu). At a price of 35 – 40 USD there was a decent selection of South African and Italian wines, and 5 USD was charged for the excellent Czech type Tanzanian beers. One drawback was that in most places the small dining tables were only illuminated by a single kerosene lamp, and to read the menu required a flash light.
The relatively small time zone difference relative to Stockholm is an advantage, but except for tourist infested “Stone Town” of Zanzibar city, the island itself has little to offer in comparison with destinations in South East Asia. Of the many resorts we have visited, we therefore rank small delightful Cocobay Unawatuna close to Galle at the southern tip of Sri Lanka as by far the best.

Date of stay: January 2019
Thank globetrotter955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2019 via mobile

Very nice location in the northwest of Zanzibar Island . Excellent, clean rooms , dining and sunset views. Very relaxing and calm vibe here . Staff are friendly and extremely helpful . Food is excellent .Massage is very
Good as well. Two nice swimming pools. Ocean swimming access is limited due to rocky landscape .

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Emser71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RossanaB700, Manager at Chuini Zanzibar Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2019

Dear Emser71,

Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review!
We are very proud that you liked our food, rooms, staff and the atmosphere of Chuini!

We really hope to welcome you again in the future to spend an unforgettable holiday!

Best regards,
Rossana & Giuseppe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2019 via mobile

Surrounded by lovely gardens and completely unaffected by mass tourism, the property is very well maintained and has every convenience you could possibly want with impressive attention to detail. We enjoyed a fantastic holiday in a little piece of heaven. The food was superb with lots of seafood options, selection of cheese and delicious local cuisine. The service was friendly and precise and Staff were attentive without being intrusive. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!!

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Petraq77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RossanaB700, Manager at Chuini Zanzibar Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2019

Thank you Petraq77 for your amazing review!


We really put all our passion at Chuini Zanzibar Beach Lodge in every small details and we are glad that you have enjoyed your stay here with us!

Hope to meet you again in one of Newmark hotels property and at Chuini Zanzibar Beach Lodge!

Best Regards,
Rossana & Giuseppe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2019 via mobile

We spend 4 days in this beautiful property and we had such a Great time! We stayed in others Resorts in Zanzibar and this was the best. World class service, excellent food and incredible attention to details make this lodge one of the best We've ever been too. The Staff are fantastic, every request was attended with a smile. Accommodation is first class and we Highly recommend for a relaxing holiday.

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Helenew1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews