We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cloud 9”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chuini Zanzibar Beach Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bububu
Certificate of Excellence
Brandenburg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cloud 9”
Reviewed June 19, 2008

We came for a late honeymoon and ended uopon cloud nine.
Hospitality of -Fritz and Rose and complete staff is overwhelming.
Food worldclass. Always fresh fish
The Location makes you feel to be in paradise -
The sunsets just ahhhhh.

The personal care of Fritz and Rose makes you feel like at home.
You need something - they will be there.
Also not to forget Mohamed - thanks a lot for beautiful excusions and lots of information.
Paula in this time still pregnant and now mother of little Anna gave uns 1 more reason to come back - next holiday is already planed

Here you have an excellent value for money

Wolke 7

  • Liked — food , staff and sunset
  • Disliked — to go home again
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank awie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    342
    93
    15
    14
    12
See reviews for
63
293
36
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mecklenburg Vorpommern
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2008

Hakuna Matata Beach Lodge offers the most relaxing place in combination with 5* Food. Expecting Thomas we met the new Chef Andy who is just great.
All rooms are new renovated , the beach offers a lot of space to relax. Just look Manjabu in the eyes and you will get a matress, bolster and towel in a minute.
The well educated staff takes care the whole day. Vivky the new Spa lady has golden hands - don´t miss a massage.
The missing eletricity on Sansibar just was not recognizable at Hkuna Matata but in Town you should be careful with water and food
Rose and Fritz created a small paradise .
Fore sure we will return.
Marianne and Manfred

  • Liked — all
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Wiesia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2008

Hakuna Matata Resort
Date: 22nd March 2008

We had a wonderful Easter break of 4 days at Hakuna Matata. The resort is small and secluded with lovely seaviews. It's well situated for day trips to other beaches and Stonetown. We stayed in a spacious bungalow consisting of 1 bedroom plus livingroom and terrace. The food is great, which is good, as there is nowhere else close by. Although it would be possible to go into Stonetown for dinner (if you could be bothered). The beach is very tidal, however you can have a lovely dip when the tide is in. They also have a very nice pool.
Rose & Fritz are great hosts, they even posted my forgotten shoes to Dar Es Salaam!
A great place if you need a quiet break.
Lyn & Rex - Australia

Helpful?
2 Thank wildlyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englishman in Dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 6, 2008

Hakuna Matata was the perfect climax to a wonderful honeymoon in Tanzania and Zanzibar. Rose, Fritz and the whole crew provided first class service, from the very moment we stepped into their palm fringed paradise. The view from our banda was quite simply STUNNING, and the warm waters of the Indian Ocean begged us to change into our swimming gear and dive on in.... Bliss. Sitting on our veranda every day we would watch the locals bring in freshly caught, Dorada, Tuna, Kingfish, Snapper and many more, leaving us in delicious anticipation of our dinner that evening. All washed down with a bottle from their extensive and exquisite list of first class affordable world wines (Well, we were on honeymoon!). Visiting any of the local bars, or watching a classic movie under the African stars in their outdoor cinema rounded off a fantastic day. An abundance of trips, taxi services and airport runs were no hassle and could be organised at breakfast, but to be honest why leave when you'll find no better place on Zanzibar than Hakuna Matata. Rose and Fritz took very personal care that all of their guests were having a great time, and should be congratulated on a first rate establishment. Not forgetting we were on honeymoon of course, it's an incredibly romantic setting, and this is tantamount to the number of other couples who were on their honeymoon, getting engaged or even getting married there. As I sit writing this on a very cold Dublin evening, thinking of Hakuna Matata, I just hope and pray that one of the lottery tickets in my wallet will provide me with enough money for a return visit. Congratulations too to Paul and Paula on the birth of their daughter Anna, who looks lovely.

  • Liked — Views
  • Disliked — Heat and Lizards
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Nippereile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rückersdorf
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2008

We were looking for a quiet, relaxing place after our safari, and what we found was perfect. A lodge, situated above the sea, great overlook, lovely flowers, ruins in the middle, a ruined castle towering next; also a little bay, spanned by a beautiful bridge. Food and service very good and friendly, the owners a nice couple, who were always on the spot . Last not least, two nosy donkeys were good for surprises.
Christine and Hannes

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank cundh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2008

Stayed over a few nights in January. On arrival we were welcomed by the lovely Habiba and Rose & Fritz and given a refreshing drink. The buildings and ruins are lovely to look at and we had a secluded bungalow towards the back of the resort which we had beed upgraded to. It was very quiet when we were there (which was fine, as the adjoining bungalow was empty meaning more privacy.) On the first night we unfortunately had to have all our bed sheets changed as there was a really strong smell of damp on all the sheets and pillows, but this was done without a grumble and I assumed that this was because the bungalow hadn't been used for a little while. There was aircon in the room, which was very welcome. The travel agent came to the bar every day and he arranged some great trips for us - he was a really nice, helpful man. The food was really nice, and quite 'experimental' which I didn't mind at all - also, the drinks were reasonably priced. The staff were lovely, and really friendly although I did hear them being told off quite a few times (quite loudly!) by Rose. The swimming pool was very nice but its impossible to touch the bottom if you're under 6'5! The highlight for me though, was the presence of Paul & Paula, the donkeys! They were great entertainment and it was lovely to watch them wandering up and down all day. I would recommend this as a place to stay, but not for the beach which is rocky. We used it as a base whilst we went off during the day and explored the island and found it a lovely place to come back to for a few relaxing hours.

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tiredandweary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2008

We have just spent 5 nights (Dec 07) at Hukuna Matata, 12 km north of Stone Town and was extremely pleased with the experience... The Beach Lodge was in a stunning location, with beautiful gardens in amongst ruins and glorious outlooks from nearly all the cabins. We can't rave enough about the food which was at the highest of world standards. We have always been conservative eating in third world countrys, avoiding uncooked food and ice ect., in this lodge, we felt comfortable eating and drinking everything very safely. Rose and Fritz are extremely personable and hands-on as hosts, and made us feel instantly welcome and part of the close-nit family owned and run lodge as did all the staff who were equally as delightful. The standard of the accomodation was high, clean and comfortable. Only small things like perhaps adding a small bar fridge to the rooms may add a little something. We stayed on the island for 10 days and found little to rival our choice of accomodation anywhere!! Make sure you say hi to the donkeys that are also very much a part of the Hukuna Matata family, Paul and Paula, who are expecting an addition to their little family... they simple add to the ambience and uniqueness of the whole Hukuna Matata holiday experience!

  • Liked — Location and Food!!!
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Angela2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bububu
3.9 mi away
Zanzi Resort
Zanzi Resort
#2 of 169 in Zanzibar Island
488 reviews
14.3 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 11 in Kiwengwa
1,567 reviews
26.9 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#2 of 17 in Nungwi
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
14.8 mi away
Dream of Zanzibar
Dream of Zanzibar
#2 of 3 in Mahonda
1,583 reviews
26.4 mi away
The Residence Zanzibar
The Residence Zanzibar
#1 of 5 in Kizimkazi
935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chuini Zanzibar Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chuini Zanzibar Beach Lodge

Property: Chuini Zanzibar Beach Lodge
Address: Chuini Palace Ruins, Bububu, Tanzania (Formerly Hakuna Matata Beach Lodge & Spa)
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Bububu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bububu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chuini Zanzibar Beach Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Chuini Zanzibar Beach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hakuna Matata Beach Hotel Bububu
Hakuna Matata Beach Bububu
Chuini Zanzibar Beach Lodge Zanzibar Island/Bububu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing