We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Double Wedding, but please "Pole Pole"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chuini Zanzibar Beach Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bububu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We arrived to Hakuna Matata Beach Lodge and were welcomed with an enormous heart warming friendliness, being treated like members of the local family from the very beginning until the end of our stay. The purpose of our stay was a double wedding. Despite the excitedness especially of the two brides, both the owners Rose and Fritz and the Managers Olivia and Simon managed to transfer the Zanzibar guideline "Pole, Pole" (Swahili), which can be translated by "keep calm guys, everything is going to be alright" by creating a relaxed environment and atmosphere during the entire preparation of the wedding and the days before the wedding.

The location of the lodge is a blast! Located right at the edge of a rocky coast part, the view is spectacular. Overlooking the Zanzibar Channel, the lodge is looking to the West allowing to be spectators of facinating Sunset sceneries.

The place has it's own almost private beach located at a scenic lagoon that opens to the ocean, however quickly draining during low tide.

The Bungalows, we stayed at the Honeymoon Suite "Kilwa", is spacious and furnished with local equippment. A special attraction is the artwork mixing local flowers and towel based figures provided fresh daily by the room maids. The bathroom and seperate toilet is always kept clean and tidy, as well as the remainder of the bungalow. Please do not expect a five star hotel room in a location at the "end of the world", in the most positive meaning. Rooms are practical, fully functional, smartly designed, cosy and clean. To us it felt like home from the very beginning.

Food is just great, accompanied by great wines, mainly local ones from the Cape Region. Rose, a trained and long term experienced chef, has created her own way of cooking and dishes mixing local fresh ingredients with individual creativity. Although there is no "a la carte" menu for dinner we have enjoyed the taste experience with every meal. Breakfast always Is a mix of fresh local tropical fruit and a variety of warm dishes like pancakes, eggs in any style or omlette and freshly baked bread, roles and selfmade marmelade and jam.

Service personnel. All staff is well trained, friendly and polite. You can physically recognize that people like their job and feel personally committed to delivering good service.

Mohammad ist taking care of the organization of any type of touristic tours.We did the afternoon tour to Stone Town (UNESCO world heritage), the Spice Tour and the East Coast Tour. Quality was good and provides good value for money, especially when you go by a group of more than two people. You pay a base fee for up to two and only a minor add on for each additional guest. Fair deal!

Summary:
We enjoyed our week at Hakuna Matata Beach Lodge very much. Our Wedding was extrodinarily organized and we took home more than we had expected. Dear Rose, Fritz, Olivia, Simon and Marion, we arrived as your guests and you gave us the impression that we left you as friends! Thank you for a great time, and we promise to come back for a future anniversary...

Until then, take it "Pole, Pole"

Anja and Thorsten

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thorsten-2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (487)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 487 reviews

Reviewed September 28, 2012

This was the Worst hôtel we had in 16 days of holydays in Tanzania. We went there because we read a lot of good advices on Trip Advisor about it but 3 months ago the owners changed, now a woman named Barbara and her husband hold it and it's a disaster !!! There is no one To welcome you, our room wasn't ready when we arrived, the room was full of insects (moskitos, lizzards and worms!!) the food was very very expensive and not good as expected. There is no choice for the food but a unique meal and a unique price whatever if you don't want something in it. And OVERPRICED !!
The worst was the excursion desk do not go !! They offer you overpriced excursion and it is a complete joke in particular the spice tour which was organised by 2 kids.
Thé day we left no one came To help us with our bags !
Imagine that it was for our honeymoon !!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank MervetParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HakunaMatata1, Inhaber at Chuini Zanzibar Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

Hello
here Fritz and Rose speaking. We are very concerned about your entry.
Very sorry what happened to you at Hakuna Matata.
We knew about the problems of the new owner and of his incompetent management.
Mid of October, Zanzibar Tourist Commssission took us back in charge of Hakuna Matata.
We promise all future guests - this will not happen again.
We Fritz an Rose stand for this.
Maby you give us a 2nd chance and return one day.
All the best
Rose and Fritz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2012

Hakuna Matata has wonderful facilities along a phenomenal beach setting. Fritz, Rose, and Sarah were incredibly friendly, hospitable, and treated me and my family as their own. My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay and have full intentions of going back as soon as possible.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2012

We stayed at Hakuna Matata for three days, flying in from JRO after a safari. Arrival was a smooth process (we opted for the airport pick-up), and a welcoming refreshment was a nice touch during the registration process.

Overall - everything about Hakuna Matata was excellent. The rooms (small bungalows) are nice, but with a beautiful beach and all the other attractions of Zanzibar, you won't spend much time in your room. Only issue I had was trying to figure out the air-conditioning controls. The staff and management were all quite friendly and welcoming - and I particularly liked how they had organized a beach dinner (with live music) on one of the nights.

The beach was great and the water warm (February): we liked how the HM part of the beach was nicely maintained, and low tide was a great opportunity to explore, chase crabs, and walk down the beach.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2012

We stayed here in March 2011 after a safari in Kenya. The location is fabulous, the staff is well trained and extremely friendly, the food is far above what you might expect to find at a small lodge in Zanzibar, and the proprietors couldn't be more welcoming or hospitable. Don't miss the dramatic sunsets on the pier, and make time to take a day trip by boat (extra charge) out to the sandbar that will appear as if out of nowhere when the tide goes out, making a private island for your lunch picnic.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulsagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2012

We were looking for a relaxing week at the beach. And that's exactly what we got. We enjoyed our stay at Hakuna Matata. Rath is a perfect host, always trying to make your stay as comfortable and pleasurable as possible.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beat Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2012

My wife and I were looking for somewhere we could relax and rest in comfort over Christmas & the New Year. Hakuna Matata was the ideal place for us, being a relatively small and quiet resort at Bububu on the west coast of Zanzibar, about 12km north of Stonetown. Our bungalow was large and very comfortable with a lovely view over the small cove that the resort lies next to. We had a living room with separate bedroom and bathroom and our own terrace. Our only quibble was that the air conditioning was not really adequate to cool the bedroom.

The owners (Rose & Fritz) and all of the staff were very friendly and welcoming and the service was excellent at all times.

There is a small private beach on the cove, but it is not ideal for swimming as the water is shallow and the tidal range is very large, so only really good at high tide. Nonetheless, at low tide it was possible to take long walks along the very attractive beaches either side of the cove.

The food was uniformly excellent, though we sometimes found it a little heavy (hot soup in 30C heat!), but eating dinner in the open air while watching the moon set into the sea is a real treat.

There is a tour agent on site who will organise trips out. Expensive but very good.

Altogether our stay was excellent, and exactly what we wanted.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bububu
13.7 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 12 in Kiwengwa
1,704 reviews
1.9 mi away
ZanziResort
ZanziResort
#4 of 172 in Zanzibar Island
533 reviews
17.8 mi away
Zanzibar Queen Hotel
Zanzibar Queen Hotel
#2 of 6 in Matemwe
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
Dream of Zanzibar
Dream of Zanzibar
#2 of 3 in Mahonda
1,775 reviews
25 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
27.7 mi away
Fruit & Spice Wellness Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chuini Zanzibar Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chuini Zanzibar Beach Lodge

Address: Chuini Palace Ruins, Bububu, Tanzania (Formerly Hakuna Matata Beach Lodge & Spa)
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Bububu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bububu
Price Range: $192 - $395 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chuini Zanzibar Beach Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Chuini Zanzibar Beach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hakuna Matata Beach Hotel Bububu
Hakuna Matata Beach Bububu
Chuini Zanzibar Beach Lodge Zanzibar Island/Bububu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing