We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very peaceful and pleasant time.”
Review of Altmuensterhof

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Altmuensterhof
Ranked #1 of 12 Altmunster B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
88 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A very peaceful and pleasant time.”
Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

The hotel has a very good location in the small but pretty town of Altmunster, just in front of the lake. Exploring Gmunden from here is quite easy, a very short drive and one can visit one of the most beautiful spots in the Salzkammergut.
The hotel is very nice. It was renovated recently. Our room was fine, a little small though, but fine, the breakfast was very good and the breakfast room is just lovely. It is a family runned hotel and the owners are very nice.
We had a very good time and would without doubt come back.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Princebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    11
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
15
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kathmandu Valley, Nepal
Level Contributor
67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We travelled to Altmünster to see the 5 December Krampus event and were thrilled to stay at this very nice hotel....we were on the first floor in one of the newly renovated rooms. Tastefully done, but perhaps I would have liked the darker, wood beamed rooms upstairs if I had known they were decorated differently. The owner greeted us at the front desk and made our stay perfect - it was my birthday and when he found this out he went over to the fridge and got us a split of champagne and 2 glasses to welcome us! So kind of him. The room was spotlessly clean and had a deck looking out to the stunning Traunsee, a scrumptious breakfast in the morning with just about anything you can imagine in an Austrian breakfast (almost wiped out the smoked salmon!) and fresh breads/rolls were tremendous. I would easily recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the area and it was right down the street from the 5th of December Krampus fun!

Room Tip: Newly renovated, modern downstairs room is where we stayed but I think I would have preferred an ups...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ftbrunswick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Very nice hotel. The stuff is very friendly and helpful. The location is perfect. Close to the lakes and other places where you can have a good time. The room we were staying was a bit noisy as the hotel is located on the main road, but after a day full of activities you get so tired that it does not matter :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miriam J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netanya
Level Contributor
94 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We, 2 mature couples, spent 3 nights in this nice hotel. The couple who run this beautiful decorated hotel, in a great location, are very nice, profesional and fluent English speaking. The service is good, breakfast is good, great rooms with a small terrace.
Despite the proximity to the main road, we did not suffer from any noise thanks to the good insulation of windows. The view of the lake at breakfast is breathtaking.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank orenc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
Reviewed July 14, 2012

One night stay in this hotel was a great experience during our bike trip around Austria. I recommend this hotel because of its beautiful view from a room terrace, satisfying breakfast and styled wooden decoration.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank t1mok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Altmunster
1.8 mi away
Landhotel Gasthof Grunberg
2.0 mi away
Hotel Goldener Brunnen
Hotel Goldener Brunnen
#4 of 5 in Gmunden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bruderhofer Pension
Bruderhofer Pension
#2 of 3 in Altmunster
4.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Seehotel Das Traunsee
Seehotel Das Traunsee
#2 of 2 in Traunkirchen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
6.2 mi away
Landhotel Post Ebensee
Landhotel Post Ebensee
#4 of 4 in Ebensee
3.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
1.9 mi away
Seehotel Schwan
Seehotel Schwan
#2 of 5 in Gmunden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Altmuensterhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altmuensterhof

Property: Altmuensterhof
Address: Ackerweg 2, Altmunster 4813, Austria
Location: Austria > Upper Austria > Altmunster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Altmunster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Altmuensterhof 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Altmuensterhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing