We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Betham's Beach Cottages
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Nananu-i-Ra
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Naigani Island Resort(Naigani Island)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Royal Hotel(Ovalau Island)
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Reviews (46)
Filter reviews
46 results
Traveler rating
23
14
4
3
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
23
14
4
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe cottagessunset pointgreat placeshort walkself caternice walkother placesstayed for nightshigh tideother resortsislandbeachrobjettynadigeneratorwind
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 46 reviews
Reviewed September 28, 2011

We took the local buses from nadi to rakiraki which was an experience all on it's own but rob knew we were coming so he had a taxi meet us at the bus depo and take us shopping which we did not at the time know why?? So we only got a few things and off we went to the boat to meet rob! Once we arrived we found out why we should have bought our own food the prices at the restaurant were a little expensive compared to other places but you have to allow for them being on an island! Food was quite yummy none the less. Rooms were clean and cooled with a ceiling fan which cut off when the generator was turned off approx. 10pm. We made use of the free kayaks and paddled around the island which took about 5hrs but was wonderful fish viewing and scenery. Staff remain unseen until you need something and are happy to help and get friendlier over time too!

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kirstyg0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2011

... If that's what you want - peace, privacy, daily independance, just a really good rest, or a quiet break with the kids, then Betham's is your spot!
It's on the calm water side of Nananu-I-Ra island where the water is like glass and beautifully safe for all the sedate water activies available; and everyone gets a kick out of feeding the reef fish off the jetty.
To walk around the island takes about 5 hours, but we just went exploring up along its spine to get the great views and discover some of the inlets just around the corner from the resort.
Getting to the other side of the island is a 5 minute walk and the contrast in ocean activity is quite amazing. During August the wind surfers arrive to take advantage of the brilliant Northerly winds. The water is just as clear but with gentle waves added.
August may not be the month for you if the wind drives you mad! It's warm but very strong, especially at night, and Bethams resort isn't sheltered from it.
The cottage we had was clean and homely and quite adequately appointed for holiday style self-cooking - including a fridge.
Buy everything you need on the mainland before you go, and buying in either Nadi or Lautoka is a little cheaper than Raki Raki which is the last town before you head to the island.
Things to take: Immediate needs Like tea, coffee, sugar, butter, bread, eggs, alcohol, soft drinks, juice, tinned foods, biscuits, cereal, UHT milk, etc. is a good idea. Bottled water too if you don't want to risk their tank water.
Oh!! Cold showers only, so be prepared!!
Bethams serves lunches (av. $FJ10) and dinners ($FJ26) which are very nice, but we were disappointed that from the whole evening menu only the chicken dishes were available! However if you wish to eat at your bure the ladies will bring your meals to you.
We found the staff friendly and helpful. I think because of the nature of the resort, the staff can appear reserved - they are not being ignorant, just allowing the guests their privacy by only engaging when needed.
To save hassles with transport getting to and from Nadi, book a taxi via Rob. For $FJ140 each way it's worth it and you have your own chauffeur to take you shopping or stopping along the way at no extra charge. They are great for local knowledge as well. The trip from Nadi is about 3 hours.
We had a very restful break and would be happy to return - just not in August!

Room Tip: All accommodation faces the water so take your pick.
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TripperBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2011

Nananu-i-ra is truly a beautiful island getaway. We informed Betham's of what bus we would be arriving on and they arranged a taxi to meet us. The taxi driver charged a bit more ($15, as opposed to about $9 meter rate), but we did not mind too much, as we made him wait with our heavy bags while we did some grocery shopping in Rakiraki town. We highly recommend bringing food, as the kitchen facilities are great (clean and lots of utensils, but no food basics like sugar/salt). The restaurant on site is very expensive, as is the small store that sells food for cooking.

The reef just in front of the hotel is really great for snorkeling at high tide. What makes Nananu i ra really special and unique to Fiji is the freedom to explore the island. Ask about the track that runs through the interior of the island to the west side- it provides AMAZING views and it was very nice and peaceful- we did not encounter anyone else along the way. The coastal walk along the eastern side of the island is also beautiful.

We were a bit disappointed that kayak use was not free (as advertised on the website), but it didn't really matter as there was so much else to do. We even extended our stay for an additional night and would have stayed longer if the room was available. We were also a bit surprised that our private toilet and bathroom were not attached to the bedroom and in quite public areas.

The local staff was very nice and helpful, but a bit shy. Do not hesitate to ask them for anything, because they will be happy to help, but may not initiate any conversation with you.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and are looking forward to returning!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rdacks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2011

Family from Sydney Aust went to Bethams and thoroughly enjoyed it. We were in cabin 2 - twenty steps and we were in the water. We stayed for 5 nights (2A & 2C - 8 and 4 yrs) - No Tv, phone etc - so good to be away from everything. Rob and Kate were excellent hosts. Rob organised our transfer by taxi from Nadi and met us for the boat ride to Na Na Nu I Ra and vice versa. He also took us back to the mainland to pick up supplies from the local markets as the cabins have cooking facilities. You can also buy supplies from the island kiosk. We had lunch and dinner at Katies Kitchen as well which served really good meals. Snorkelling was great just out the front of the cottages and at the end of the local jetty. No complaints but the Generator went out @ 10pm as did the lights which didnt worry us but it was hot and still at night - maybe take a battery fan. It was soooo good to get away from a big city and this was a great place to do as little as possible and the kids enjoyed it so much. Cabin was basic, but clean and comfortable and the price was right.

Room Tip: Cabin 2 was only 20 steps and I was in the water
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fourex1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2010

We booked just a few days ahead, no problem. Had learned ahead of time that little was available on the island in the way of groceries, so picked some things up in Rakiraki prior to coming out. Called when bus was pulling into Rakiraki, caught a cab to the wharf after shopping and Bob was waiting there for us. Booked for the lowest rate room but were upgraded to a very nice, second floor, two-bedroom, self-contained flat - very nice! Only a couple of other people at the resort the day we arrived and they all left the next day. The surrounding resorts were also very empty. Free kayaks were great - paddled around the island one day, and out to nearby, very nice snorkel sites another. Beach at the resort was okay, but the beach on the other side of the island, about a 5 minute walk away, was fantastic. Food at the resort was pretty good, but not a great value. As with the other places on the island, you had to let them know by mid-afternoon if you were going to eat there and what you wanted. Pizza next door at MacDonalds was good. Woman running the reception/restaurant/shop was a little bit curt in her manner. Overall, especially considering the upgrade, a very nice stay.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelBug064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews