We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing holiday near Lisbon”
Review of Quinta do Scoto

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Quinta do Scoto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We visited Quinta do Scoto for 5 nights. It's a great location to stay when you want to visit Lisbon but don't want to stay in the busy city. It takes about 40 minutes by train to get to the city center and train go there very often.
The quinta itself is beautiful with nice, very large and clean rooms, and a great (saltwater) pool. It also has a guest kitchen and barbecue facility. Not necessary with the good local and cheap restaurants in the neighborhood but a nice facility if you don't want to go out at night.
Tony and Penny are great hosts, nothing you ask is too much for them. True service!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter_and_Suzanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (534)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

257 - 263 of 534 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2012

If you like to travel to cities as Lisbon, but also like space, quietness nature and the countryside,
you should consider this lovely, wellrun Quinta do Scoto.
We traveled through Spain and Portugal with our big SUV and tried to find places that give us space, secure parking, sound sleepings, swimming pool, wifi and lots of things to do in the surrounding.
Tony and Penny, in their beautiful renovated Quinta, could provide us everything we desired.
We stayed just 3 nights and didn't for instance have time for beaches and coast, we keep it for next time because we really want to go back again.
Once again: The best you can get.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yoly-charley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

If you wanna see a different side of Portugal - this is the place to go. Penny and Tony were the perfect hots and it really felt like visiting long lost relatives. Our daughter (four years) loved the place, the pool and all of the animals. And we got great advice on small restaurants and the most perfect beaches. Amazing rooms!

Room Tip: Rooms on ground level just next to the pool is amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KaosKaos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Perfectly situated near Sintra, Cascais and Lissabon. Tony & Penny are excellent guest keepers, bad that we could'nt stay longer and enyoi the very clear&clean saltwater Pool. The Location is just Great and ****! It's very easy to reach over the new Street by Car (IC 16 Exit 11 & 12) and Train. I will come back - guaranteed. Tony & Penny: Thank you for everything - we enjoyed the free Bottle of Wine!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hansjoerg_u_Linda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Our room was enormous and well appointed with traditional furniture. The only minor issue was that we both found the bed a little short.

The breakfast was really good and the complimentary nonalcoholic drinks and bottle of wine were an unexpected bonus.

The location is a little tucked away but worth the effort to find. I wish we had been able to stay longer to enjoy the lovely pool area.

All in all, a top notch B&B.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TedsmumNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

I stayed here with my two children aged 20 and 14 , the standard of the accommodation and overall facilities ie pool and breakfasts including a kitchen and BBQ for the use of guests are really excellent. Tony and Penny and their daughter Charlotte are all lovely and very helpful . The accommodation is very near a local train station and Tony is very happy to offer lifts to any local spot and help you plan your days in order to get the most from your holiday . In an ideal world I would suggest you have a car but if you don't you will easily be able to explore the area by train and bus especially with Tony's offer of lifts to bus stops etc . We had a lovely holiday , Sintra is a beautiful town and the coast line near by is very attractive.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lottie14Hove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We spent the last few days of our holiday here and it made a great base for exploring Lisbon and Sintra. The kids loved the chance to go horseriding as well as the local pastelaria and of course the pool! In fact, as there is so much to do nearby we didn't get to use the pool as much as we would have liked! The rooms were very comfortable, clean and spacious making the stay very relaxed. We loved the way that the character of the property had been maintained. Right from our original enquiry we found Tony and Penny very helpful and keen to do whatever they could to ensure we enjoyed our stay. A lovely, tranquil spot from which to explore the area.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
Thank Katie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Algueirao - Mem Martins
4.6 mi away
Tivoli Palacio de Seteais
2.3 mi away
Ibis Lisboa Sintra
Ibis Lisboa Sintra
#6 of 15 in Sintra
691 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel Tivoli Sintra
Hotel Tivoli Sintra
#8 of 15 in Sintra
1,619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Lawrence's Hotel
Lawrence's Hotel
#9 of 15 in Sintra
282 reviews
4.0 mi away
Sintra Boutique Hotel
Sintra Boutique Hotel
#1 of 15 in Sintra
760 reviews
3.9 mi away
Chalet Saudade - Vintage Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta do Scoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta do Scoto

Address: Rua Dr Teixeira Bastos 18, | Melcas, Algueirao - Mem Martins 2635-314, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Sintra Municipality > Algueirao - Mem Martins
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Algueirao - Mem Martins
Price Range: $104 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Quinta do Scoto 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quinta do Scoto is a very different concept in Bed & Breakfast located close to both Sintra and Lisbon with 8 spacious luxury suites most sleeping up to 6, with en suite bathrooms. Some with separate sitting rooms/2nd bedrooms; furnished with antiques; set around a pool and sun terrace or in the traditional 1746 Manor House. Good access to local typical Portuguese restaurants and public transport; local railway station is a 10 minute walk away with access to Lisbon, Sintra, Obidos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Quinta do Scoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing