We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Calmness, interesting sightseeing, city life all possible at Quinta so Scoto” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quinta do Scoto

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Quinta do Scoto
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
“Calmness, interesting sightseeing, city life all possible at Quinta so Scoto”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

We just got back from Quinta do Scoto where we spent two weeks. The location was perfect for us. We enjoyed a calm morning by the pool reading and in the afternoon visited the different castles located around Sintra and other ones in the vicinity, very interesting. Also spent days at the beach with great wild waves, days in the different neighborhoods in Lisbon. Great combination of history and culture as well as relaxing in the sun. Qunta de Scoto is different from other places not just because of the location or the comfortable and beautifully renovated state but Penny, Tony and Charlotte's hospitality was first class. This includes practical information as well as friendly contact and an excellent breakfast. A perfect vacation!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dora Luz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    465
    29
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
218
204
9
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

We stayed at the Quinta for 3 nights on the first leg of a touring holiday. It was fantastic. A great welcome from our Hosts, really helpful advice on restaurants, sights to see, traffic, etc. The Quinta is a beautifully characterful property and has a lovely pool. Would definitely come back.

Room Tip: Suggest you phone and discuss the Rooms with the Owners to get what suits you best
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

Quinta do Scoto is not a traditional hotel, but an estate rebuilt and run by an English couple, immersed in the tranquility of the Portuguese countryside.
The property is rural but elegant, If you like the bustle and the nightlife, this is not the right place, but if you enjoy the countryside and animals, is the ideal place to relax, swim in the pool, to enjoy peace and tranquility and sleep in perfect silence.
Tony and Penny are extremely kind and considerate, ready to give any turistic indication, and providing a familiar atmosphere.
The breakfast takes place in a large room with an antique flavor of the countryside, the room where we stayed in was large and fully equipped.
The district is typically rural-village, and for those who can, the car is recommended, expecially if there are kids with you; but a 10 minute walk there is the local train station “Sintra-Melecas”, where you can go wherever you want, and in particular to Sintra and Lisbon in 15 minutes and 40 minutes respectively.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FrankOxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

The best holiday I have ever had!! We stayed for 5 nights at this beautiful hotel. The rooms were spacious - the pool was lovely and the location was perfect. Tony and Penny were brilliant and made our stay very personal and comfortable. The train station is close by so can hop on to visit Lisbon. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: ask for the upstairs rooms!! lovely breeze and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shobnaCrawley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

Wow. What can I say. The location of the Qunita is in a small village located about 20 minutes drive(also very easy connections by rail) from Lisbon/Sintra. The rooms are huge, everything is rustic in design but very modern, very comfortable beds, great bathroom and very quiet. The pool is salt water and great for that end of the day dip. Breakfast was always fresh with lots of choice .. see if Penny is making any banana cake ... delicious !!! Tony and Penny were always on hand with advise and help and were very knowledgeable on what to do and where to go if you wanted the input. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED !!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Manchester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

We stayed in Sintra the night before, whilst we really enjoyed the town and its fantastic attractions we found it could be a little touristy and crowded to stay overnight in comparison to the quiet and tranquility of Quinta do Scoto.

The location is first class, you feel like you are in the country side but there is a branch line onto the main route into Lisbon a five minute walk from the Quinta so you can be in the city in 15-20 minutes. The trains are very frequent and ridiculously cheap (and air-conditioned). Sintra is only 20 mins away in the other direction.

The Quinta is truly a slice of the real Portugal, the restaurants in the locality provide excellent traditional Portuguese food at a very reasonable price.

The Quinta is worth a visit itself, the traditional Portuguese tiled decorations date back 400 years, there is plenty to do at the from swimming, horse riding or just taking in the extensive grounds.

The rooms are luxurious and decorated with antique furniture that adds to the quality feel of the place. The free WiFi and complementary bottle of wine in our room added to our enjoyment. Tony and Penny are excellent hosts and are a mine of information if you wish to pick their brains for things to do or a place to eat.

We will defiantly be returning again for a longer stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nigel Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulogne-Billancourt, Ile-de-France, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

We stayed 3 days at Tony and Penny's property and we enjoyed it very much. The place is extremely nice and relaxing. The rooms are very spacious, always at a cool temperature (without the need of an air conditioning system which I particularly appreciated) with high ceiling. The beds were great. The bathroom is just excellent. Everything is very clean. The pool (with salty water) is super nice and refreshing. Last but not least, Tony and Penny are extremely nice and accommodating, they were also of great advise to make us pick the right place to see or visit. The breakfast is wonderful with freshly squeezed orange juice every morning and their hot chocolate is delicious. If the place is not located in a particularly touristy area, it did not really matter as it takes you 10min by car to be in Sintra, 10 more to be in Caiscais. You need a car in my opinion if you want to enjoy the surroundings touristy places.
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: All rooms are equally good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thibauld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Algueirao - Mem Martins
9.8 mi away
Martinhal Cascais
Martinhal Cascais
#1 of 38 in Cascais
5.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
10.6 mi away
Valverde Hotel
Valverde Hotel
#1 of 247 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
4.6 mi away
Tivoli Palacio de Seteais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Chalet Saudade - Vintage Guest House
10.0 mi away
Casa Amora Guesthouse
Casa Amora Guesthouse
#2 of 230 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 741 reviews
4.0 mi away
Sintra Boutique Hotel
Sintra Boutique Hotel
#1 of 15 in Sintra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta do Scoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta do Scoto

Property: Quinta do Scoto
Address: Rua Dr Teixeira Bastos 18, | Melcas, Algueirao - Mem Martins 2635-314, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Sintra Municipality > Algueirao - Mem Martins
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Algueirao - Mem Martins
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Quinta do Scoto 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quinta do Scoto is a very different concept in Bed & Breakfast located close to both Sintra and Lisbon with 8 spacious luxury suites most sleeping up to 6, with en suite bathrooms. Some with separate sitting rooms/2nd bedrooms; furnished with antiques; set around a pool and sun terrace or in the traditional 1746 Manor House. Good access to local typical Portuguese restaurants and public transport; local railway station is a 10 minute walk away with access to Lisbon, Sintra, Obidos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Quinta do Scoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing