We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family wedding - 50 of us!! Shobna and Limbachia family”
Review of Quinta do Scoto

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Quinta do Scoto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 26, 2012

The best holiday I have ever had!! We stayed for 5 nights at this beautiful hotel. The rooms were spacious - the pool was lovely and the location was perfect. Tony and Penny were brilliant and made our stay very personal and comfortable. The train station is close by so can hop on to visit Lisbon. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: ask for the upstairs rooms!! lovely breeze and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shobnaCrawley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (541)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

279 - 285 of 541 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2012

Wow. What can I say. The location of the Qunita is in a small village located about 20 minutes drive(also very easy connections by rail) from Lisbon/Sintra. The rooms are huge, everything is rustic in design but very modern, very comfortable beds, great bathroom and very quiet. The pool is salt water and great for that end of the day dip. Breakfast was always fresh with lots of choice .. see if Penny is making any banana cake ... delicious !!! Tony and Penny were always on hand with advise and help and were very knowledgeable on what to do and where to go if you wanted the input. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED !!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

We stayed in Sintra the night before, whilst we really enjoyed the town and its fantastic attractions we found it could be a little touristy and crowded to stay overnight in comparison to the quiet and tranquility of Quinta do Scoto.

The location is first class, you feel like you are in the country side but there is a branch line onto the main route into Lisbon a five minute walk from the Quinta so you can be in the city in 15-20 minutes. The trains are very frequent and ridiculously cheap (and air-conditioned). Sintra is only 20 mins away in the other direction.

The Quinta is truly a slice of the real Portugal, the restaurants in the locality provide excellent traditional Portuguese food at a very reasonable price.

The Quinta is worth a visit itself, the traditional Portuguese tiled decorations date back 400 years, there is plenty to do at the from swimming, horse riding or just taking in the extensive grounds.

The rooms are luxurious and decorated with antique furniture that adds to the quality feel of the place. The free WiFi and complementary bottle of wine in our room added to our enjoyment. Tony and Penny are excellent hosts and are a mine of information if you wish to pick their brains for things to do or a place to eat.

We will defiantly be returning again for a longer stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nigel Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

We stayed 3 days at Tony and Penny's property and we enjoyed it very much. The place is extremely nice and relaxing. The rooms are very spacious, always at a cool temperature (without the need of an air conditioning system which I particularly appreciated) with high ceiling. The beds were great. The bathroom is just excellent. Everything is very clean. The pool (with salty water) is super nice and refreshing. Last but not least, Tony and Penny are extremely nice and accommodating, they were also of great advise to make us pick the right place to see or visit. The breakfast is wonderful with freshly squeezed orange juice every morning and their hot chocolate is delicious. If the place is not located in a particularly touristy area, it did not really matter as it takes you 10min by car to be in Sintra, 10 more to be in Caiscais. You need a car in my opinion if you want to enjoy the surroundings touristy places.
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: All rooms are equally good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thibauld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Much has been said already about Tony and Penny's admirable qualities as hosts. We can only echo this. Like another commentator, we found the walk to the local restaurants via crossing the (rarely used) railway line a bit strange but the thing is, you don't have to walk that way. And If you don't like to walk, they are only a short drive. Tony and Penny tell you about this unorthodox route because they want you to sample more than just what is in the holiday brochures. People we met on this walk proved friendly and pleased to talk (in English, in many cases). On the return from the restaurant, we actually saw a fire-fly dancing in the air, something I have never seen before and may never see again.

The surroundings to the house and accomodation are great after living in a city. The two horses, clutch of chickens and Dobby, the little Podenco dog, added great charm as far as we were concerned. When we were there, the fields that lie around the grounds of the quinta were full of wild flowers and it was like a breath of fresh air.

It is true that the last part of the drive to the quinta is disconcerting. In our case the sat nav took us along an unmade road beside the railway line, although there is a more attractive route it chose not to use. Once you are in the quinta though, you are in another place.

No one goes to Portugal to visit Melecas, anyway, and the sights of Sintra, Lisbon and Estoril are only a short drive away, so it is a great base from which to explore the area.

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor, nearest the house and it was probably the biggest room we have stayed i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Morrowind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

It is the second time we are staying at the quinta mainly because the wish of my wife. This time we stayed there with a couple of friends and they did not enjoy the place. I am a little bit uncomfortable with this review. There is at time a tendency of the "herd symptom" with the Tripadvisor reviews which has led me to some bad choices in the past. Let's face it - the quinta gets its favorable reviews because Tony and Penny's hospitality. Take them out of the equation - and I believe nobody would come there. The location is out of the way - you can do nothing there in the evening - no place to go. In order to go to one of the nearby local restaurants (which are very nice) in the village you must climb through an opening in a stone fence, cross a railway track and walk along an unlit road close to the walls to avoid being run over by passing cars. The quinta has a big garden - it was unkept four years ago and remained the same now. Actually, nothing changed from our last visit neither in the quinta nor in its surroundings which are plain boring (except for the rate that went up). The rooms have no TV. The wireless in the rooms did not work - Tony graciously invited us to use the one in their place. By the way, it was the same four years ago. And, they have the longest and most complicated access password I have seen anywhere - it's a nightmare to type it in - though again, Tony offered Charlotte's pen drive to copy paste from. No double bed - two big singles - big enough to enable us sleep together. The breakfast is satisfactory except for the bland coffee. Otherwise, everything as described by the other reviewers. Like I said, I feel uncomfortable with the review because it's kind of a stab in the back for Tony and Penny (I confess I never had such feelings for any other hotel I reviewed) but I feel the place should get an objective review. I hope this will help them improve on some of the things I mentioned.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nuernest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyPennyCharlotte, Owner at Quinta do Scoto, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2012

We are saddened and sorry when we receive a review which shows that a guest didn’t enjoy their time at the Quinta. We are here for our guests and work hard to do all that we can to make their experience enjoyable. We realise that everyone has different tastes but the feedback that we have received over the last five years tells us overwhelmingly that guests love many things about the Quinta (the suites, the pool area, the location and ambience, the complimentary wine, minibar, fruit and biscuits to name a few) so to say that nobody would stay at the Quinta if we were not there does not seem to be supported by other guests’ opinions. The Quinta is centrally located in the middle of the Lisbon Peninsular and close to many places of interest and to the surrounding shoreline. We provide a map of the locality showing the many restaurants and cafes in the locality (and menu translations) which has the routes marked for both walking and driving. The restaurant visited by this guest has two walking routes, one of which is quieter than the other but most of our guests happily choose to go the route commented upon (both routes have street lighting all of the way).
The Quinta has 7 acres of walled land and the Manor House has an 18th Century formal boxwood garden and landscaped areas, as captured by many guest photos on the review site. The’ unkept’ area being referred to we believe is the paddock which has been sown with meadow grass and wild flowers to provide a natural habitat for birds and animals.
During this guest’s stay, we had a problem with the Wifi service to the suites but other guests were able to access the service just outside their suite around the pool and in the Manor House. A faulty switch block was replaced to resume the service later that week - we are sorry when technology lets us down but a service was available all the time.
We intentionally do not have televisions in the suites (and say this on various websites) we do this to maintain the ambiance of the Quinta and for families to be together without this distraction. Since we have been open, we have had 6 comments about not having them and a lot of positive feedback about the resulting peace and tranquillity. Instead, guests can relax by the pool, read books from the library, play our games, visit the restaurants or use the BBQ and guest kitchen, walk up into the hills to catch the sunset over the ocean or visit the sports centre less than a 1km away. We also have a DVD player and guests can borrow a laptop to take to their suite. We have never ever before received a comment about there being nothing to do.
Our coffee is normally praised but this does illustrate that everyone is different and we do try very hard to please most. If someone asks for their coffee to be stronger then we are more than happy to oblige.
We are perplexed by the single bed comment: as can be seen from the photographs on the review website, the beds are double beds (1.40m wide or more) and families of 4 have slept quite happily in the same beds used by the reviewer.
We have many guests who return to stay with us and, normally, this is because they like the Quinta and what we offer here. Clearly, this was not the case with this guest who last stayed in 2008 and we are perplexed as to why they would choose to visit for a 2nd time with such a view but we appreciate the feedback and will try even harder to improve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2012

We are a family of 4 with 2 young children (aged 4 & 6) and we based ourselves at Quinta do Scoto for a week at the end of May. The accommodation and setting is beautiful and Tony & Penny are wonderful hosts. Local restaurants are very good and much cheaper than in more touristy areas. Some of the restaurants are too far to drive but Tony was happy to run us down there. The kids loved the pool & all the animals. It is a great place to base yourself & explore. We enjoyed a good mix of relaxation by the pool and days out in Lisbon and beach destinations. Would definitely recommend.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
Thank kara stu s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Algueirao - Mem Martins
Sintra Boutique Hotel
#1 of 15 in Sintra
777 reviews
Pestana Sintra Golf
#7 of 15 in Sintra
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
The Late Birds Lisbon
The Late Birds Lisbon
#6 of 262 in Lisbon
288 reviews
Chiado & Carmo
Casa Balthazar
Casa Balthazar
#3 of 262 in Lisbon
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta do Scoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta do Scoto

Address: Rua Dr Teixeira Bastos 18, | Melcas, Algueirao - Mem Martins 2635-314, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Sintra Municipality > Algueirao - Mem Martins
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Algueirao - Mem Martins
Price Range: $89 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Quinta do Scoto 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quinta do Scoto is a very different concept in Bed & Breakfast located close to both Sintra and Lisbon with 8 spacious luxury suites most sleeping up to 6, with en suite bathrooms. Some with separate sitting rooms/2nd bedrooms; furnished with antiques; set around a pool and sun terrace or in the traditional 1746 Manor House. Good access to local typical Portuguese restaurants and public transport; local railway station is a 10 minute walk away with access to Lisbon, Sintra, Obidos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Quinta do Scoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing